We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect chill-out location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Isola Rossa
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect chill-out location”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

my wife and i stayed at the torreruja in july and had a wonderful time.The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent, lots of choice for both breakfast and dinner.
the rooftop resturant is a must, great food with fantastic views over the bay.The hotel is in a great location overlooking the rocks and sea and has beautiful natural grounds of shrubs and flowers.By the rocks are fantastic wooded platforms with beds and umbrellas,the hotel gives you rubber shoes and snorkels if you want them.A 10 minute walk down a well marked path takes you to the beach.The pool is a very good size with lots of sunbeds but could do with a few more umbrellas.There is a lovely pool bar with varied live music most evenings.Not much to do outside of the hotel but if you want a week of complete chill-out in a beautiful location then would highly recommend.

Room Tip: pay a little more for a superior room,not a great size but have a lovely big balcony overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 127bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    167
    50
    14
    7
See reviews for
82
381
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mansfield england
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

It's fabulous. A mature couple, after months at work, needed a total break and chill out. We found it here.

I could end the review here but I'll continue with a little more. "disappointed" thought it was a staff training ground. Rest assured, we stayed from 20 July to August 3rd. All the staff are on the ball and will bend over backwards to help you, they must have been trained up quickly.

There could be more parasols around the pool area and it would be nice if a hotel would ensure a towel, reserving the sun lounger around the pool, was not allowed but alas no. We witnessed couples enjoying the sun loungers, retiring to the pool bar for lunch then returning to the same sun loungers again, due to a towel.

We had a standard room, there was a wardrobe and safe. It was perfectly adequate, comfortable with an ensuite bathroom How long do you want to spend in a room with sun and 34 degrees! No tea making facilities? I can't remember the last time I stayed in the Mediterranean when this was available, if ever.

Food wise the choice was amazing. Self service buffet style for breakfast and the evening meal was immense, the selection was mind boggling. With the evening meal the vegetables under the heat lamps could have been hotter but one wonders if health and safety comes into play with "I burnt my mouth..." There were other vegetables but, as there was no heat lamp over those, cold peas and brussel sprouts and others don't appeal to my English palette..

Car hire is expensive and as our holiday representative wearing a neck collar due to an accident it did nothing to encourage us to rent a car so we relied on the tours provided by the holiday company. As from a previous reviewer one that we had booked didn't take place due to "Insufficient numbers" which was disappointing.

The rooftop restaurant (available Monday, Wednesday and Friday) was a la carte. Table service, your meal being selected at breakfast and stupendous views at 10 euro pp charge. The first visit catch of the day (filleted at the table) and swordfish superb. The second visit sirloin steaks, one requested well done, the second medium rare - both medium.

So the overall view. I needed a break as did my wife. We got it. We read a lot of books and basically chilled to the max, it is possible at this hotel. If you can be hungry the lunchtime pool bar snacks are really good. There are a lot of reviews of this hotel, I'll answer any specific questions if I am able

Room Tip: Ours, 292, was fine. Patio shaded after 2pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday at this hotel. We were at first a little disappointed with our superior room, we expected more from a room of this category. The reception staff did offer us an alternative room with a sea view so far away as to be insignificant and it was 280 euros more, so we opted to stay put. We did get to like it, it was on the first floor and we looked out over the lovely gardens. The gardens were very well maintained and quite beautiful. All the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The restaurant and food were absolutely superb, with a huge choice both at breakfast and dinner, you couldn't fault it. We did eat on the roof terrace on one of the special evenings which was a good experience. The wine and drinks were a bit on the expensive side, but then I guess they were probably on a par with most hotels. The pool was amazing, the biggest we have ever seen and great for swimming. There could have been some more umbrellas around the pool, however we used to go to one of the quiet enclosures which suited us fine. We also went to the Marinedda beach attached to the hotel, you had to walk across the field to get to it, there were allocated loungers and umbrellas belonging to the hotel which you had to pay 15 euros for. We hired a car from the airport for the duration of our holiday, which we liked because it meant we could travel to different locations. Castelsardo a fortified town was good, and Porto Rafael which was delightful, very very quiet, we had lunch there. Palau which is where the ferry goes to the Maddalena islands. Alghero which is the airport we flew into, also worth a visit on its own. Badesi beach was very long and had quiet stretches. Tempio was a lovely town with a nice square for coffee and some good shops. Also the local beach was fine and not far away. We did a lot of sightseeing which in no small part was due to the excellent information given by Marcella the Thomson rep, she was fantastic, a mine of information and so welcoming, the best rep we have ever had. We did lots more due to her recommendations and information sheet which she gave us, as we were motoring. All in all a lovely holiday and yes we would go there again, if we stayed in this part of the island, we would stay at this hotel again, an after thought the spa was expensive, but it is such a large island, maybe we would go down south next time. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the first floor with nice large balcony overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonnedate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Visited this hotel for 2 weeks earlier this month and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a quiet relaxing holiday. We booked a superior room which really didn`t come up to my expectations but was adequate and kept very clean although the pillows and bed were a little hard for my taste. The view was a little disappointing as it faced over the paths leading to the rest of the room but the balcony was very pleasant with a table and two chairs.The food was absolutely amazing. Buffet style breakfast and evening meal but the selection of meats, cheese, fish, pasta, breads, fresh fruit, shell-fish, vegetables of every kind, both English and continental and especially the little anti-pasta dishes (4 different choices) were to die for. I have stayed in many 4 star hotels and have not had the quantity, quality and variety that was offered in this hotel.The service and friendliness of the restaurant staff was also first class. If I had to have a little moan about this hotel it would be the lack of parasols and shade round the pool. On our first week we counted 11 parasols, by week two another 3 had been erected but still not enough for a hotel with 200 plus rooms. Although the hotel was excellent and I would stay there again but only if it was set in a different place. I was very disappointed with the so called "fishing village". A 20 minute walk and you had covered the harbour and the promenade front. It was certainly lacking in bars or restaurants and we were thankful that entertainment was provided every night in the piano bar at the hotel which on the whole was excellent. I would recommend if you book into this hotel, renting a car would be necessary (unless you want to lay by the pool for a week or two). We rented a car for 4 days and saw quite a lot of this beautiful little island. Finding lots of interesting places and picturesque villages.
,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stitches1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from a week in this hotel and would recommend it highly. The kitchen and waiting staff were attentive to dietary needs. It was a real pleasure to dine worry free, enjoying pasta, prosciutto and all things Italian without the dreaded gluten. 5 stars for food!
The accommodation is adequate not luxurious but with stunning scenery nearby, and plenty to see in the north of the island it is a must for those with specific dietary requirements who wish to experience the jewel in Italy's crown, Sardinia.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground or first floor, try to get one some distance from the restaurant as the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5StarPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We'd visited the sister hotel Marineda four years prior and it was classed as a 5*plus. The Torreruja was classed as a 4* but I would suggest barely scraped a 3*. With respect to most staff, we felt that the hotel was training ground. Many of those waiting tables were inexperienced and it showed. On a positive note, the room was spotless but when a room is described as 'superior' you expect it to be just so - it was small and basic - no tea/coffee making facilities and the bed old and uncomfortable. The food was the most disappointing - cold vegetables, look warm pasta, stale bread, poor table service. We attended an 'a la carte' evening where we sat down for 8p.m. and didn't get the last course until 10.30p.m. My husband was quite sick that evening and we could only put it down to a sea food dish he was served. Although the entertainment far surpassed that of the Marinada, we couldn't sit out to experience it some nights due to poor weather, (cold and windy) and to add insult to injury, they wouldn't open the interior bar. Be warned, there's nowhere to cash travellers cheques in Isola Rossa so the good deal I was able to secure prior to our holiday didn't get used and I had no other option to draw cash from the machine at a much lower rate! Many trips were cancelled as the rep stated "We don't have enough people to go." Quite a disappointing time.

Room Tip: Get more information from your tour operator about the rooms because it's not always stated what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and it's a big 'thumbs up' from us! The hotel is located aound 5 minutes walk from the tranquil harbour of Isola Rossa and all buildings being no higher that 2 storeys, it just blends in with the landscape. The swimming pool is fantastic; deep and big enough for a proper swim, not overlooked and with sweeping views of the sea. Although we had a standard room, it was perfectly acceptable; very clean with modern fittings and its own patio area. The buffet menu was very varied and interesting - I don't disagree with the recent reviewer who said that some dishes could have been kept hotter but we enjoyed our meals and the airy dining room illuminated by spectacular sunsets compensated for this. All the staff were very pleasant and looked as though they enjoyed working there. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rg6sys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isola Rossa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marinedda Thalasso & SPA
141.0 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
789 reviews
30.4 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#3 of 5 in Isola Rossa
233 reviews
129.0 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
33.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa

Property: Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa
Address: Via Tanca della Torre, 07038 Isola Rossa, Trinita d'Agultu e Vignola, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Trinita d'Agultu e Vignola > Isola Rossa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Isola Rossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso Isola Rossa
Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso And Spa
Hotel Torreruja
Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa Isola Rossa, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing