We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Summer Sunshine”
Review of Hotel Corallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Corallo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Isola Rossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I have just returned from a week at the Corallo. What a lovely hotel in a very pretty location with a view directly onto the small port of Isola Rossa. THe hotel is spotlessly clean with spacious rooms with large balconies overlooking the pool and the port. There are some rooms which face the Aragonese Tower and so do not have as good an outlook. The staff are very friendly and Giovanna, the owner is extremely helpful. The restaurant provided good food, particularly the special Sardinian Menu. The only negative was the fact that the hotel stopped serving both lunch and dinner after 26th September. Dinner is not an issue but it would have been nice if some small snacks had been available at lunch time, not too hard a task based on the small number of rooms and people who were staying by the pool each day. The pool is lovely and well maintained.

Room Tip: Junior Suites on first floor overlooking the pool and port. Very large terraces and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

just got back from hotel corallo and had a fabulous holiday again...the hotel is beautiful,spotless clean,,rooms have everything you need,the staff are fantstic,and will look after you first class.giavanna the owner is an angel and realy made our holiday.a beautiful hotel in beautiful surroudings and would recommend this hotel every time....thats why we went back.thanks giavanna soooooooo much and see you next year

Room Tip: front rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank linzimcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hotel Corallo is in a superb location with fantastic views over the marina out to sea. The staff are all very pleasant, polite and attentive without being at all overbearing as can be the case elsewhere. Like one of the other reviewers we really enjoyed the extensive range of snacks provided free of charge with late afternoon drinks.

We did struggle to find a good location to eat dinner away from the hotel but the three excellent evening meals at Hotel Corallo made up for that.

I had seen the range of reviews prior to making our trip and would urge other travellers not to be put off by the bad ones but to go and see for yourselves. We did enjoy a sunny week and therefore had no problem whatsoever getting a hot shower every evening. Breakfast is advertised as a cold buffet and therefore that is what you get, there is sufficient choice to allow you to have a good breakfast. I do not particularly like a 'full english' when staying in a hot country, however we had scrambled eggs and toast one morning and were not charged extra for these.

Overall, the hotel is very clean, most welcoming and a lovely relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Superior Room 202 is a lovely corner room with a better balcony views than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizG10959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Hotel Corallo markets itself as luxury exlusive getaway. Whilst it could achieve this, its way far from there:

pros: Front rooms have nice views of the marina, big balcony as well. Clean rooms. Helpful reception

cons: Insanely overpriced for the quality of the services. Short in hot water. Very poor breakfast.

Alltogether for half the price of the room the hotel would have been awarded full points, but unfortunately when you market yourself as exclusive, and price yourself the same you have to deliver the proper services. The location helps, the amenities could help but work is needed

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ugiox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

On arrival we were warmly welcomed and surprised about the huge balcony of our room with a nice view over the harbour. We have been staying for 1 week in which we enjoyed several times the excellent kitchen and the bar. All the staff have been very friendly, but Giuseppe, the bartender, was the best. We would recommend this hotel for people who would like to relax in a still authentic Sardinian village with nice beaches around, a very decent hotel with a friendly family touch atmosphere. Thanks to all the members of the staff and also to the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I have stayed in over 100 hotels in the past 2 years, most good, some indifferent, but I have never felt the need to write a review. The Corallo changed all that. I favour small hotels over corporate chains and don't mind paying a little extra for the personal touch. This hotel certainly charged a little extra, but didn't offer much in the way of the personal touch.

Having viewed the website several times before booking I was expecting a lot more. The website uses some clever photography to give the impression that this is a high quality hotel. It is at best average and certainly way over priced.

Life's too short to waste time listing all the failings of the hotel, in summary it was a very costly disappointment and certainly not worth a stay. The only reason I would suggest visiting would be to experience the quite unbelievable managerial qualities of Patrick the owner. He is clearly a 1st Class graduate of the Basil Fawlty School of Hotel Management. So if you have few hundred euros to waste, book into the Corallo, make a few honest comments about the rubbish breakfast, overpriced rooms or iffy location, and you will find yourself bang in the middle of a TV sitcom on the English Rivera, being insulted by a Basil alike.

When you are done laughing check into the Torreruja just a round the corner; great views, excellent pool, lovely gardens, nice rooms, bath robes, gifts of wine and saffron on arrival, fantastic food, excellent breakfast (and not even English Patrick!), and best of all even cheaper that the Corallo.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dad-of-Murgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

First impressions matter. Peeling signs, wobbly welcome mats and laminated rules stretching as far as the eye can see did not bode well and were surprising as the reviews and website for this hotel promised so much.
This hotel is down on it's luck and is no way near a four star experience. Think Fawlty Towers however this owner had even less charm than Basil.
Our stay was short and sweet because, after a heated exchange instigated by the owner who did not agree with our judgement on the lack of quality and service, we were asked to leave!
We moved to the Hotel Torreuja, just up the hill and for about the same price experienced what we were expecting at The Corolla and more: free pool towels, courteous staff, a maginificent pool ( open every day, all day ), breath taking views, a lovely wild track to La Marinedda Beach, and half board quality catering if you want it.
I would adivse any visitors to Isola Rossa to do as we did, or I would advise the owners of Hotel Corolla to rethink their attitude to and treatment of their paying guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fridanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isola Rossa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marinedda Thalasso & SPA
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabbiano
Hotel Gabbiano
#4 of 4 in Isola Rossa
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
126.6 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#2 of 33 in Cagliari
308 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Nantis
Hotel Nantis
#6 of 16 in Castelsardo
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corallo

Address: Via Lungomare 36, 07038 Isola Rossa, Trinita d'Agultu e Vignola, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Trinita d'Agultu e Vignola > Isola Rossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Isola Rossa
Price Range: $104 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corallo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Corallo is a romantic four star seaside hotel. Located just a few metres opposite the beaches and entirely renovated in 2007, it enjoys the best panoramic position. 35 bedrooms and suites: Deluxe with large terrace and Superior rooms have panoramic sea view; Comfort rooms at the rear, face the Spanish watchtower. The hotel has a bar, a fresh water swimming-pool, a gastronomic restaurant with a large outdoor terrace for dinner or an evening drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Corallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corallo Hotel Isola Rossa
Corallo Isola Rossa
Hotel Corallo Isola Rossa, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing