We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place and great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agriturismo Sant'Agata
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful place and great hospitality”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The warm hospitality of Bernadetta and Filippo is sincere and matches the relaxing and friendly countryside where this agriturismo is situated. The place is nice and clean, rooms well kept. Service of the staff comes natural. Excellent cooking by Filippo himself!
This place is very well situated on the map, to visit Palermo, Agrigento and other places on this beautiful island.
We recommend this place if you look for a week of tranquility in the Sicilian atmosphere and will certainly come back to Bernadetta and Filippo if we return to Sicily.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are attached and not so well isolated (noise). Most other rooms are larger and better situ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansVeenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    40
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
68
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay of five days with our children. Sant'Agata is 45min driving from Palermo and offers welcome rest and a cooler climate compared to the splendid but noisy, hot and smelly Palermo.
Sant'Agata was our first 'agritourism' experience, so we had to adapt to some particularities compared to hotels (other sanitary standards, an colder swimming pool), but we were happily surprised by the excellent food (fixed menu, but very tasty and with plenty of variation).
A GPS is more than useful to get there, but this probably applies for the the whole Sicilian inland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We arrived with no reservation in early May. There was only one other couple staying there during the 3 days we were there and they were in a different building. We were given a small room in what we called the "stable" as we think that may have been the original purpose of the building. The room was small (that was OK) but is was very dark as we had to keep the wood shutters on the bathroom window closed for privacy, had to close the big shutters on the doors for privacy as the curtain was very thin. The back window would have provided light, but we could not access the latch for the wood shutter as the pool area was closed and the latch was on that wall and the shutter would not stay open very far. Bottom line...it was dark and claustrophobic. Good news was that the bathroom and the shower were big! The highlight however, was the DINNER. Absolutely fabulous food and the portions were the right size. We were sated but not stuffed. The breakfast was also more than we usually eat...yogurt, juice, breads and jams; we had told them no meat and cheese for us. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The view from Sant'Agata is spectacular and breathtaking. The location was perfect for easy day trips to some very interesting little villages: Cefalá Diana, Marineo, and Mezzojuso.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matitx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for five days and had a really excellent vacation. Upon arrival you immediately sense that personal service is very important for the owners of this place (small sized, only 11 rooms I believe, and family-run). Rooms are rather basic (we personally have the habit to go to 4 star hotels, so agriturismo was new to us), but everything was very clean and the bed was comfortable.
The swimming pool offers a stunning view over the surrouding hills, and the number of chairs around the pool is excessive, compared with the hotel capacity, which is great.
Apart from the very friendly service, the distinguishing characteristic of this place is the food you get : real traditional tasteful Sicilian cuisine. We stayed for two weeks in Sicily, and this was absolutely the best food we found during our stay. Do not come here to taste superior wines however...
Beware that the staff's knowledge of languages is rather limited : fortunately my wife speaks Italian ; if you do not speak (or at least understand a little) italian at all it gets very difficult to communicate.
What was also special for us (being rather used to hotels than agriturismo) was that you never see any price list (you order a drink or some wine, but you have no clue how much it will cost). At the end of the trip, in line with our expectations, the prices appeared to be very acceptable however. So no worries about that...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffel, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

First of all I wanna say : don’t believe the negative reviews !!!
This farmhouse is really a hidden gem. We stayed here four nights and
we can’t praise it enough. Just “fantastic”. Filippo and Bernadetta are the perfect hosts, here you can really feel the Sicilian hospitality. Nothing is too much for them.
We had a lovely and very clean room at the poolside, without airco but it’s not necessary because the room was cool enough.
The location is superb and the views are breathtaking. The swimming pool is very well maintained and clean with a lot of chairs and sunbeds.
The food is amazing. Breakfast was very good with fresh products but every day we were looking forward to the dinner. What the chef Filippo every evening prepares is high level gastronomy ! We loved the typical Sicialian dinners with a lot of delicious food.
The house is on a central place to visit Palermo, Monreale and even Cefalú.
If you’re looking for an outstanding place at a moderate price don’t hesitate, book now !!!
Mille grazie Filippo and Bernadetta for the lovely time we spend at Sant’agata.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janenjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Beautifully situated location where you completely unwind. Without the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The owners and staff were very friendly. The view is beautiful and we had a delicious meal. The rooms are well maintained and very clean. Staying in this mansion is a great experience. Keep in mind that you not easily go out in the evening because of the location.

Room Tip: We had room 8 and that was nice and tidy. There is no airco but you don't miss it at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkVermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed there end of April when the season was just about to start, so not all facilities were open yet. Even then we were served with loads of enthusiasm and passion, and there was no discount on the quality and/or quantity of food. Breakfast was typical italian, with coffee and cookies, so we brought our own yoghurt and fruit, but, based on other travellers reviews of last year, breakfast type might be different during the high season.

Rooms are fair size, and equipped with basics. You are not meant to spend your whole day in your room. The windows are very small, making the rooms dark, and stone walls, heavenly during hot summer days, can be bit cold during off season rain. It can be noisy as the doors are very thin. Even then, the place offers very good value for money.

During rainfree days there is plenty to do in the neighbourhood if you enjoy from the nature. If not, one can stay in own room or to enjoy from the communal relaxation area. Lonely Planet gives a good overview of places to visit for those who are restless.

On the challenging side there is the lack of english language knowledge by staff, at the same time this can lead to loads of fun and Faulty Towers type of situations. For instance, your comment about icy milk in cappucino can result into you being brought a spoon :) And, if it rains, there is little to do.

Nevertheless, we admire owner Bernadetta' s passion and determinness to welcome tourists to her birthplace and home of her ancestors for >500 years. We travellers pass by, enjoying from magnificent dramatic mountain views and strolls, heavenly beds and plentiful experience for our tastebuds, the nature and surviving must be tough during the off season (October until end of April). Hopefully she can keep her energy and push Sant' Agata even to higher level.
We absolutely recommend this accommodation, its food and amazing staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasutaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piana degli Albanesi
8.5 mi away
Agriturismo Casale del Principe
7.1 mi away
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
#1 of 2 in San Giuseppe Jato
280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Masseria Rossella
Masseria Rossella
#2 of 5 in Piana degli Albanesi
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.0 mi away
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Polizzi Generosa
151 reviews
4.7 mi away
Agriturismo Busambra
Agriturismo Busambra
#1 of 2 in Ficuzza
76 reviews
46.3 mi away
Agriturismo Crapalicca
Agriturismo Crapalicca
#1 of 1 in Ventimiglia di Sicilia
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Sant'Agata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Sant'Agata

Property: Agriturismo Sant'Agata
Address: C. Da Sant'agata | Piana Degli Albanesi, Piana degli Albanesi, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Piana degli Albanesi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Piana degli Albanesi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Agriturismo Sant'Agata 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a historic stone farmhouse in the middle of the Sicilian countryside, 10 minutes drive from Piana degli Albanesi, Agriturismo Sant'Agata features an outdoor pool and a restaurant serving regional cuisine. Equipped with features stone walls or ceilings with exposed beams, the rooms have a private bathroom and a patio overlooking the pool or courtyard. The restaurant at the Sant'Agata will serve meals accompanied by traditional Sicilian wines, while in the morning you can enjoy a varied continental breakfast of homemade cakes, freshly baked croissants and fresh coffee. The farm is a 30-minute drive from Palermo and 6 km from Lake Piana degli Albanesi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Sant'Agata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Sant'Agata Piana Degli Albanesi, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing