We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, beautiful views, wonderful hosts.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alberghetto La Marianna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alberghetto La Marianna
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful views, wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have friends who have stayed here many times and we wanted to give La Marianna a try. La Marianna is a favorite of theirs and now it has became a favorite of ours too. The place is simple and clean and the views of Lake Como from the rooms are spectacular. The views from terrace across the street where breakfast and dinner are served are absolutely stunning.
Hosts Ty and Paola ran the hostel in Menaggio for over 20 years and have been at La Marianna years now. Paola is a wonderful host and Ty is the chef for the most delicious gourmet meals.
This was the great surprise of our trip and the best value of all the places we stayed. We will definitely be back. The only downside is that it is right on the mail road and for some may be a little bit noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for one of he rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairoaksjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    36
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
91
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Having read the reviews we booked at this Hotel and travelled the long and winding road from Como.Our first impression was Adams family.Up flights of stairs to a dingy little room.
The description offered by other patrons did not appear realistic.
The Hotel was dark dowdy and the greeting by the manager was not one of warmth.
Without fuss we moved on to the Grand Hotel Menaggio.
We were charged one nights accommodation for our cancellation.
Beware!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank All type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed here in Sept 12. First impressions were excellent, a quirky restaurant with rooms in front of the lake. The family that run it were great, and their English was outstanding. We had a room at the front which was clean and comfortable. We stayed for dinner which was lovely and the breakfast was equally good. Would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claretta_leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you want a convenient and relaxing stay on Lake Como, Alberghetto La Marianna is THE place to select. Paola and Ty, the owners, are like friends who are sincerely concerned about your time spent at their comfortable hotel. Breakfast on the scenic Lake Como patio is a delicious way to start your day, and you can choose dinner with Ty’s four course gourmet delights of fresh and seasonal ingredients. We planned three nights at La Marianna but changed our travel plans and spent fifteen nights because we fell in love with Lake Como and the hospitality of Paola and Ty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Do not be fooled by first impressions as this is a really nice family run hotel with superb food and wine at exceptionally good value for money prices.
Just remember the hotel is on a busy main road which the waiter has to cross to serve food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

A beautiful hotel on the lake side looking out towards Bellagio. A small, friendly, family business within a wonderful setting. Homely rooms with very comfy beds and immaculately clean. (Not a venue if you want flashy, modern, rooms with big TVs; which we definitely didn't!). It is a place to relax and absorb the surroundings. 5mins walk away from the Tremezzo ferry point, and 10mins walk to Villa Charlotta, makes seeing the sights of the lake stress free and the attached restaurant, and it's "non-democratic" menu, serves the most divine local food, perfectly prepared, cooked and beautifully served with regional wine; all at a very reasonable price. I adored this place and would love to return one day soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have an unbeatable lake view; however the road is quite noisy. Rooms at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am so glad I found this place, the hours of research paid off and was so nice to stay somewhere with such character rather than a more anonymous large hotel. The family run hotel is delightful with the sons especially being very helpful. We stayed for 2 nights and couldn't have asked for better - a nice clean room, wonderful breakfast and fantastic service. We also ate in one night which was excellent. If you are a light sleeper then this wouldn't suit you as the road is very noisy - I slept with ear plugs and that was fine for me. All in all, a most pleasant stay and the boat is a lovely way to travel to have a break from driving everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckieL1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alberghetto La Marianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alberghetto La Marianna

Property: Alberghetto La Marianna
Address: Via Regina 57, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alberghetto La Marianna 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Alberghetto La Marianna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alberghetto La Marianna Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Alberghetto La Marianna Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing