We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lake in all its meanings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alberghetto La Marianna
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The lake in all its meanings”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've been at "La Marianna" to celebrate a special occasion and it was a really perfect fit. The hotel is comfortable and extremely clean, the owners most welcoming. The atmosphere is just the lake in all its beauty, not only from a view prospective. The terrace where dinner and breakfasts were served a pure pleasure. The dinner was good and for breakfast we had home made bread and jams. I would most definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrEleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    36
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
93
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had found this via Alistair Sawday and it is lovely! Fell out after a long journey straight on to the terrace with lake and mountain views everywhere - the lake was just below us, with a tiny beach for swimming. Tiziano wasn't quite prepared for a fish meal but did a reasonable veggie choice for OH - fish had been asked for in advance and had been agreed but there you go - it was a Saturday night. Wonderful to eat outside overlooking the great views. Good English spoken by "children" who run the restaurant. This is definitely a place to spend a few days with a car, although there are plenty of buses.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a small balcony and are cheaper and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suechefUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived at Alberghetto Marianna from Milan after about 15 hours flying from Singapore via Dubai.
We fell off the plane in Milan, hired a car and drove straight to Cadenabbia-Griante to meet the brother and sister-in-law who had already enjoyed a few days at Alberghetto Marianna. Our travel weariness / driving in Italy stress was quickly washed away by a wonderfully warm welcome to this charming, simple but comfortable hotel.

Our room was basic, but spotless and the view to die for. We had arrived on Chef's day off, so we missed the famous dining experience that first night. However, it is just a short walk to Cadenabbia and the variety of excellent dining choices as well as the ferry services to Bellagio and the rest of the lake.

Breakfast the next 3 mornings was delightful in the lakeside outdoor room. The beautiful weather helped, but our hosts are really the key - they are warm and welcoming and it felt we were visiting with family. We lingered over breakfast just drinking in the view before setting off to explore Bellagio and the other busy tourist spots.

Don't miss the excellent dinner, weather permitting served in the lakeside outdoor room. We enjoyed two wonderful meals and indulged in the full course option - Bellissimo!

We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this wonderful little hotel to anyone - it is simple, but is very well done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were drawn to La Marianna by the combination of scenic location and reports of wonderful food. On neither score were we disappointed.Tiziano, the owner/chef, served up a multi-course meal of fresh locally caught fish, which we enjoyed on the lakeside terrace. I loved not having a choice (except for the wine). “Dinner here is not democratic,” he told us, although his set menu changes daily. Tiziano seems to delight in circulating among his guests telling stories and regional history. As for the hotel, we found the room basic but comfortable. For us, having a front room with a view was a mistake, since we prefer to sleep with an open window rather than with air conditioning. The road below was active for much of the night, with motorcycles and scooters buzzing by at odd hours. Nonetheless, we would go back but, alas, it’s likely Tiziano and Paola will retire before we get another chance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadiyaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A homely rustic spot, away from the madding crowds on the Lake, but still within walking distance to the ferry and the main sights. You are very much treated like a friend staying in the B&B - we missed out on the supposedly excellent dinner - but breakfast on the lakeside looking across the lake to Bellagio is magnificent! The rooms on the front have a great view, but a little noisy due to the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWArby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 4 nights at La Marianna in May. It was our second visit and this time we invited 2 other lots of friends to join us. We were greeted by Paola like long lost friends and immediately felt right at home. She is a wonderful host and along with her husband Ty, who runs the restaurant downstairs, has a lot of experience in hospitality. (We ate in twice – yum!) She speaks several languages, including excellent English. We all had delightful lake view rooms with well appointed bathrooms – it was such a treat to sit on our little balcony after a big day and have a coffee looking up to the snow covered Alps and over the lake to Bellagio. The hotel sits right on the busy main road that winds up the western shore of the lake, but we don’t find this a problem. The courtyard trattoria juts out over the lake right across the road and when the weather is good, you can have breakfast and dinner there. Sometimes we chose just to have a drink over there in the afternoon and the views are breathtaking. The small area of Cadenabbia itself is quiet but the many ferries that constantly crisscross the lake (over to Bellagio, Varenna, Menaggio, Lenno) are a short walk from the front door. (We are glad not to stay in the very touristy and more expensive Bellagio.) We didn’t bother to take a car this time, just caught the local bus from Como to get there and the train from Varenna to Florence when leaving. Paola gives great tips on what to see and how to get there. Ask her about the very worthwhile walk to St Martino church which sits perched up on the mountain behind the hotel – spectacular views. We love coming to this alberghetto, made especially memorable by Paola and her many kindnesses. We certainly hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandj_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

this is our third stay and each time we have been here for one week. It is amazing how lovely the views are on the dining patio directly on Lake Como. It is excellent how good the service has always been from Paola, and the gourmet culinary delights that Ty prepares each night for dinner never ceases to wow us. It's helpful that exercise by hiking is all around the area. .. that way enjoying the food is guiltless.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alberghetto La Marianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alberghetto La Marianna

Property: Alberghetto La Marianna
Address: Via Regina 57, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alberghetto La Marianna 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Alberghetto La Marianna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alberghetto La Marianna Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Alberghetto La Marianna Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing