We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view I've ever had at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alberghetto La Marianna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Any reservations I might have had about this B&B were obliterated by the best breakfast I've ever had in Italy in the most beautiful setting I've ever experienced in the world. Freshly cooked eggs to order, fresh bread, homemade jams - wonderful! And thoughtful and attentive service.

My first impression of La Marianna hadn't been so good - the small car park opposite the hotel was full which meant we had to pay to park slightly further away; only five minutes walk but not fun with suitcases and 35 degree heat. The outside of the hotel looks a little tired and the interior was a bit antique-y and cluttered for my taste although I'm sure others would love it. Our room had impressive air conditioning, fast free wifi and a bright and spotlessly clean shower room. I found the bed a little hard but I do tend to like a soft mattress. The pillows were a bit worn and uncomfortable but the bed linen was crisp and fresh. Paola was fairly friendly and helpful - we didn't get to know her well as we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateorams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 174 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Warm people, cmfortable room, decorated with care and personality I love it when the library shows a bit of the owner's taste.
The restaurant is worth another story. The menu is called "non democratico'. Just one 4-course meal to "chose" from but very, very good. And eating outside, on the lake, with full view of the lake and surrounding mountains is a big plus. The terrace has a roof of trees and plants. And if you want to seduce your love: a very romantic place.
One minus: the hotel lies at the road next to the lake and early morning one has to shut the windows to avoid the noise. The breakfast was one of the best ever had - and that for Italy with its overall sweat breakfast: Served on that same terrace on the lake with cheese (!), fresh coocked omelette, good bread, home made marmelade, yughurt, cereals, milk, juice. Wunderfull. And again the the view over the lake.

I'll be back!!!

Room Tip: I think that all rooms have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

what a place, what a welcome, what a location, what a chef! Paola is a brilliant host and husband Ty produces brilliant local food, dont be on a diet!! We stayed 3 nights and had a great time, I think I might be 10 pounds heavier now!. Parking was a little strange at first but Paola knows the system and made it really easy for us

Room Tip: pick a lake room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freightmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank DitteLundI15
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Unprepossessing as you approach - other than the dramatic lakeside location – but don’t ignore this little gem, run by a delightful couple; she runs the hotel, he the restaurant. Parking is available in the small public parking area by the water’s edge; Marianna has free parking permits, so you have no excuse! The building is very ordinary and the rooms quite old-fashioned; yet they are comfortable, overlooking Lake Como, with cheerful good-sized bathrooms, wi-fi, air-con and satellite TV (so we didn’t miss the Olympics). The restaurant sits on a small vine-clad terrace on the waterside, very simply furnished and devoid of adornment. And it is wonderful. It offers a 4-course set menu (only one choice for each course), which changes daily; for a small establishment - Marianna has just 12 rooms - the quality and creativity are astonishing. The proseccos to start, reasonably-priced wines, plus our host’s avuncular style and sharp wit, make for a memorable evening. We tried fresh pike, rabbit ravioli and local lamb, all beautifully and creatively prepared; they are also very flexible, so customers can miss any courses or share courses, and he will prepare off-menu items - if he likes you! The 25% discount for Marianna residents does no harm either. Unhesitatingly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed with Paola and Ty for 3 nights at the end of July with our family from Mexico. We were 8 people and looking for an affordable hotel on the lake. Some of the rooms are small but the beds are good and the rooms are clean. There are rooms with lake views - if you are a light sleeper you might prefer a room out the back because of traffic noise (which can be a little loud).

The highlight of the hotel is the tree-covered terrace onto the lake where breakfast and dinner is service (weather permitting). Paola is a very charming and friendly host and made all of us feel at home. Ty is an excellent cook and his evening menu based on local dishes with his own intepretation is something you shouldn't miss. Our meal included a fish lasagne and guinea-fowl breast with pesto - both were outstanding dishes served with a great wine.

We highly recommend La Marianna and look forward to returning

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKerny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Dear all,

I would recommend staying in this unique and lovely hotel. It is really pretty and well looked after.
Paola is an extremely nice person and is very helpful. Her husband is the most amazing cook and creates very unusual and tasty dishes that represent local area.
The rooms are very clean and well equipped with air conditioning, flat screen TV’s and everything you might require to be comfortable.
Great attention to details went into decorating the place and creating an atmosphere of warmth and comfort.
I have really enjoyed staying at Alberghetto La Marianna and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrinaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa La Mirabella
Villa La Mirabella
#1 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alberghetto La Marianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alberghetto La Marianna

Address: Via Regina 57, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range: $112 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alberghetto La Marianna 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alberghetto La Marianna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alberghetto La Marianna Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Alberghetto La Marianna Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing