We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveler rating
328
482
250
100
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
482
250
100
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa carlotta travel department riviera travel lake view antipasti fifth floor soup or pasta floor restaurant swimming pool anti pasti busy road grand staircase each evening large hotel reception area dining room is breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
637 - 642 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

As with a lot of other reviewers we stayed here as our base with Riviera. Our room 333 on the third floor faced the back gardens and was very quiet. The room was perfectly fine, 2 single beds made into a double and very comfortable, bedside tables, a double wardrobe with safe, and a dressing table with a mini bar.
The bathroom was fairly large with a shower (great water pressure) toilet, bidet and sink. Towels were large and were changed every day. Hairdrier in the bathroom no good - bring your own.
The food in the dining room was very good with plenty of choice both for breakfast and dinner.
The only fault I could find is the bar area which is too formal and not a relaxing place to unwind after a day's sightseeing. Perhaps the hotel should think about relocating it to the ground floor where there is a huge sitting area.
Right on the main busy road but only a short walk either way to friendly bars/cafes and an excellent location for boat trips on the beautiful lake.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lovetoholiday2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a fairly typical Italian hotel in as much as the rooms aren't always 4 star looking, however, if you want a clean comfy bed, hot shower and a peaceful night sleep you will be happy here. The dining room is run with military precision, the food is outstanding, even for a veggie and the views from the massive picture windows overlooking the lake and mountains are beyond words. The hotel bar is expensive though the pouring is very generous! Loads of outside space to sit and relax whilst looking at those stunning views and a clean and pretty pool area. I went with riviera travel company, who were fabulous and I would recommend them as the daily trips taken showed off this area to great effect.

Room tip: Although a lake front room would be a tempting idea you will be overlooking a busy road or maybe the terrace bar. I had a garden view room and it was most peaceful.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heatherj318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We travelled with friends with Riviera Travel for a weeks holiday at this hotel. It is a large hotel and we chose rooms at the back which both had garden views and were extremely quiet. We had a large bathroom, though with a handheld shower only, something you have to get used to. The meals were very good and the service very good in the restaurants and at reception. The hotel is directly on a main road so traffic noise is a problem if you choose a lake view room. The local little cafes and bars are very nice and friendly. We felt the holiday was very good value when you consider that all the trips are included and were very informative. We would recommend this hotel. Any questions, please feel free to ask.

Room tip: If you want quiet rooms, choose a room at the back, much cheaper too.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TessEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel was lovely..Housekeeping was immaculate....Food delicious...Highly recommend !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The restaurant staff extremely accommadating....Location on lake superb....Did not use spa or fitness center so unable to comment on these 2 issues.....

Room tip: ask for balcony
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, right on the side of Lake Como, a great location with good local amenities; the staff are wonderful but beware not all the rooms are up to 4 star standard!

When we booked the holiday, through Riviera Travel, no room upgrades were available but I was confident that a 4 star hotel would provide a good standard, unfortunately this is not the case in terms of the bedroom. Many of the other guests told us of large comfortable beds with great views from their windows, we had a twin room with narrow single beds which were far from comfortable. There was a en-suite bath but no shower (there was a hand held version), no pictures on the walls, no mirror for a dressing table. The view from our windows was of a fire escape and a gravel path! (not as promised in their presentation) More 2.5 star than 4 star for this room (149).

Having said that the food in the restaurant was of a good standard with multiple choices on all courses; the staff were particularly friendly and helpful as they are in the bar both of which provide wonderful views of the lake and both have excellent terraces.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickp2201_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews