We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old fashioned excellence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Cadenabbia to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
West Yorks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old fashioned excellence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Grand Hotel where we enjoyed a family christening. The hotel itself reminds me of one of the old fashioned but elegant hotels you might find in Brighton except with the stunning Italian lakes as a back drop . The rooms were very nice with ours on two levels with a bathroom up stairs and bedroom down an a largish balcony commanding an amazing view over the lake and mountains in the distance . The hotel has a nice but smallish pool. The terrace is amazing with another mouth opening awesome view. The restaurant was also good with a lot of choices for breakfast and some delicious different Italian foods for the christening buffet which seemed never ending .Somewhere I would love to go back to.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank acefaceWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    337
    185
    75
    41
See reviews for
126
466
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is way overated at FOUR star,the entrance looks very grand but sadly has never seen a hoover or duster in a very VERY long time ,cobwebs everwhere,although our room was clean but alas the air conditioning didn,t work and being on the end at the side very noisy too,but we did have a lake view (room 358). The dining room looked as if it was set for a wedding,very impersonal and the food was very repetitive and boring and very small portions unless of course you loaded up on the buffet antipasti and dessert which were the same every night,hence we stopped eating there. The swimming pool was difficult to get to fourth floor then across sundecking,down a spiral staircase onto a steep path through woodland and through a garden on the ground floor,not sure how often this was cleaned either,no changing facilities/showers or toilets. This hotel caters for very many coach tours and just did not justify the four star rating for cleanliness or food and is in need of a lot of TLC to bring it upto standard.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brisca49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cadenabbia di Griante hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

stayed 3 nights at this hotel in july ,read some negative reviews but we had a very pleasant stay,loved the view from the top floor resteraunt .quiet rooms comfy bed will return.great location for the ferry boat across to bellagio which is a must visit town lots of nice little shops and resteraunts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginocard169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Hotel room was exactly as described and shown in the picture.

Lovely location. Easy access to the ferries. Wonderful view of Lake Como from the rooms. Major downside, no internet access in the rooms!

Room Tip: I recommend staying in any of the suites. The executive rooms are a bit small and choked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

On arrival one cannot but be impressed by the very large lobby area with fine furnishings and some nice art work. Location on Lake Como is superb. It was hughly disappointing when we arrived at our rooms to find that they were small and poorly furnished. A/C was very ineffective.
The dining room is excellent with great views of the lake and the alps and Bellagio across the way. Breakfast was more than adequate and the evening meal was very good. There was a very small swimming pool and no gym. The price of both wine and water were on the very high side.
Staff were very helpful and anxious to please. It is hard to sum up this hotel as it is a tale of contrasts. A friend was staying in a single room which was totally inadequate and claustrophobic.
To charge a single room supplement for such a room is totally unjust and tour operators should guard against this type of ripoff. Still overall a good experience.

Room Tip: It is hard to give advice because ther is a big variety of rooms but be on the lookout for the shoeb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lStephano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Yes, this hotel has lots of maintenance issues that could make it spectacular (see Hotel Tremezzo two doors down...same exact hotel, nicer finish >$1k/night). Instead we had a reasonable price with deck and view of the lake for much less than half the price. So the floor needed a new coat of varnish! oh well. The staff was great, the complementary Breakfast was super (and the dining room was perfectly decorated and maintained). One disappointment was the pool....but really, the lake is what you're there for. And the Dinner prices were extravagant...we didn't eat there.

Room Tip: We had the one on the second floor. Had Balcony and view of lake (room 206?).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choseonelesstraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I'm not sure that I recognise this hotel from some of the earlier reports as the same one that I stayed in from August3rd-10th. I found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and the all of the staff helpful and polite. The reception area was pleasant and well used. As someone who paid to go to the concert there I am amazed that people found it unreasonable that they were unable to sit there without paying! We did not want to sit in the bar area on karioke night but just went elsewhere as other people clearly enjoyed it. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the garden/pool area. It was a pleasant room, a good size and very quiet with a nice view. The bathroom was fine and a good size. The views from the dining room and terrace area were fantastic. I missed having more places to go after dinner in the evening but it was easy to go over to Bellagio on the regular ferry or up to Mennagio. The local buses down to Como are very good value, air-condotioned and punctual and Como was a lovely little city. The villas and gardens around the lake are stunning and would also urge you to visit Varrenna. I had a great time in Cadenabbia and would recommend the hotel. Much of the earlier reviews are misleading in my opinion.

Room Tip: Unless you really want a lake view, book a back room. Room335 was lovely with three French windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janv321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#5 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 stars 2,427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Property: Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Address: Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing