We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fine for a one week stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely fine for a one week stay.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 20-27 July 2013 and booked through Inghams Lakes and Mountains. Inghams were great and their Reps were very helpful and thoroughly knowledgeable of the area. Full marks to them.
Hotel - Large reception with lots of comfortable chairs and sofas and lots of paintings to admire. Because the bar and restaurant were on the 5th and 6th floors there was no reason to hang around the reception area except to gain access to Wi-Fi which wouldn't work anywhere else. Surely something could be done about this.
Room - Our room was fairly large and with hindsight we should have paid the extra for a balcony. Having said that we didn't come to Lake Como to sit on the balcony, so no real problem. Bed was large and comfortable with extra pillows, so all fine there. Tv was small with only BBC World News and CNN News in English. Good job there was no important news that week so we didn't miss much. The bathroom was disappointing - large enough, but no separate shower. More shower in the bath than shower over the bath. Hand held shower not good enough these days. Plenty of hangers and drawer space with small fridge and safe.
Dining Room and Meals - nice dining room with fantastic views with those "wedding-type" chair covers with big bows at the back. Nice but un-necessary. Breakfast was very good, self-service with all the usual fruit, yoghurts, cereals and the standard toast machine which is always hard to control. I avoided the bacon which I was told was very salty (would need twice as much water to drink during the day) and not advisable in the very hot weather we enjoyed all week. Dinner was OK with the "main" course the weakest link. Antipasti,starters and sweet were great but the main courses were at best OK. Wine list excellent but cheapest bottle was 21 Euros with water 4 Euros. That made it an expensive week - well you have to have wine with dinner! We kept a stash in our room (bought in the local mini- mart) for extra drinks later. Beer in the bar was the standard for the whole area - 5 Euros for a BirraMedia (0.4L). Fantastic views from both the dining room and bar with terraces overlooking the lake.
Staff - generally great, always helpful and plenty of them.
Facilities - small pool fine for late PM swim to cool off. Usual problem every morning with some selfish people going down early every morning and leaving towels on sun beds. Turns out they were English people but that doesn't surprise me. Karaoke one night in bar and pianist who looked a bit like Rene (without Renata) another night. He managed to whip up a mean sing-song(!!?) until the wee small hours (11.00pm I believe, not sure, didn't stay). Apart from that early nights were the usual.
Location- centrally located for ferries to many other places in the central Como area. Veranna was particularly interesting with narrow streets and lakeside bars and restaurants. Bellagio excellent too but Menaggio a disappointment. Villa Carlotta next door has magnificent gardens and shouldn't be missed. I also recommend the trip to St. Moritz on the Bernina Railway. Stunning views from the train but St. Moritz is just a flashy resort full of designer shops (very boring). Definitely a case of the journey's the thing with the destination unimportant. Best combined coach and train trip ever. Brian (yes he is Italian) was a fantastic knowledgable and witty guide.
Summary - we went to a 3 star hotel in Lake Garda a few years ago and this hotel is streets ahead of it, so by Italian standards deserves its 4 stars. People will always find reasons to complain, usually to do with the standard of meals provided. My view is if you want British style meals then have your holiday in Britain. All in all I would recommend The Grand Hotel Cadenabbia as a very good holiday hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    383
    209
    82
    45
See reviews for
146
544
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great Hotel very helpful staff. had booked room looking over Lake but got room at side looking onto glass recycle bin.. problem was lots of noise and they moved me to a fabulous room with balcony bonus! and looking over lake as was booked. Food and staff were wonderful. ~Reception were very helpful and very good English as was the staff in restaurant. Food was Italian and plentiful fresh and lovely. Would recommend this as place for a few nights to explore the Lake como area Bellagio is right across the lake and boat stops right on door step with bus stops right outside too.

Room Tip: look for balcony overlooking lake...avoid side rooms or rooms at back as they are noisy and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cdunne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This lovely grande dame now mainly seems to host groups , but there are private guests too. Within walking distance of the ferry to Bellagio every half an hour, the hotel sits right on the lake( with the road between!). Parking could be an issue, but we found space near the hotel on their property. The public areas are large, attractive and traditional, with a very large top floor restaurant with an excellent included buffet breakfast. All staff were VERY friendly and helpful! Our room, suite 109, had a large terrace off the room, with chairs, table and wonderful views of the lake and Bellagio. The unusual layout of the room and furniture were interesting, and I felt as if Napoleon might have slept in my bed! ( That is NOT meant to be a criticism of comfort,rather an atmospherical and aesthetic flight of fancy!). Our bathroom had a big tub, separate shower and everything one could wish. The room had 2 large sets of lass french doors opening onto the terrace. Only road noise at night required keeping the windows shut. We had a good dinner in the restaurant, where a large antipasto buffet was followed by a handful of a la carte choices. Reasonable prices, and our table was right by the windows, affording a great dining view of the lake. Other then the 2 legendary 5 star hotels in nearby Bellagio and Cernobbio, this has to be the best on the lake of Como, and at a fraction of the price. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for the Lake Como area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unclepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for one week from 20 -27 July, at face value the hotel seemed very nice, beautiful location etc. Room was nice and big with huge bathroom which seemed to contradict the size of the shower which was extremely small with very little room to manoeuvre. The air conditioning in the room was extremely noisy and impossible to sleep with even though it was madly hot at night.

The food left a lot to be desired, breakfast (best meal of the day) always the same flaccid bacon and half hearted scrambled egg with various cold cheeses and hams etc (none of it covered so open to all sorts of creepy crawlies! Tea and coffee were self service (never seen this before in Italy). unfortunately dinner was dreadful, tasteless main courses with no vegetarian option, I once requested a vegetarian meal and was given a couple of grilled courgettes (yuck). The anti pasta dishes were probably the most acceptable but still not Italian cuisine by any stretch!! I adore Italy and have holidayed there many times having been delighted by each hotel I have stayed in, this one however, has broken me and made me question my devotion. The staff were at best disinterested, at worst negligent. We were stuck in a lift for 15 minutes with no air (the call centre not on the premises and only speak Italian). Absolutely nothing to do in the area, Bellagio is gorgeous across the water and must be more in tune with what is required from a holiday maker?

Having said all this - the lake is gorgeous, weather magnificent , just wished we were in a tent instead of this dreadful hotel!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cadenabbia di Griante hotels

Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our holiday covered the first week in July at this hotel.
We had joined some friends who are Rivera Holiday patrons and were not disappointed.
A big thanks to Matt, our guide who looked after us very well and kept us busy enjoying ourselves.
I read some of the reviews before going and had a few reservations, which I soon discarded.
The hotel is in a stunning setting.Our room (240) on the second floor was very good, clean and had eveything we needed ( you do not get coffee/tea making facilities in Italy !).
The dining room on the 5th floor had spectacular views of the lake and it was possible to eat outside on the terrace at breakfast and dinner.The dinning room staff were excellent and tried to accommodate peoples wishes to eat outside when it was busy.
I read the comments of people re - food and servings, etc.
We found the arrangements very suitable, ie you could have as much (or little) of any course, or miss if you wished. ( I believe some peoples comments meant they did not understand Italian meal times and needed chips to fill up on !).
The choice of ordered courses was adequate considering the selection (& quantity) available on the buffet. I enjoy fish, and was able to have a fish course with all dinners - 6 chips were more than sufficient when supported by the excellent anti pasta !

All in all a very enjoyable holiday at a very good hotel with good food.

Room Tip: Be careful if choosing a balcony room on the front (for a lake view) which will be over the fairly b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramses65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

first of all I, would like to congratulate PP.HELLEN , her review is very
accurate,in my opinion,
The food was very poor,I, have seen food better presented by the Army
catering corp, at Aldershot ie two pieces of ryvita, sorry should be veal
along side a tablespoon of over cooked spinach with six oily potato chips
later during the week the chicken breast arrived thiner than a kraft cheese slice, I, would like to know why I had to pay 100 euros supplement for a single room dark and musty , with a clump of trees
right outside the window,if you have a early excursion dont expect
the breakfast buffet to be 100% available,and theres no side plates
for your bread rolls or butter, hotel requires recarpeting, a manager
in the restaurant and a chef, people stick (GRAND) in front of a hotels
name and it automaticlly gets 4or 5 stars, I, would give this hotel
3 stars for location only.I, booked this holiday via a sunday newspaper
this paper has just a reader after 55yrs.

Room Tip: this hotel was built in 1820, and over the years has been added to and added to, rooms at this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reg954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley, Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked this hotel through Riviera travel escorted tours, our room was on the 4th floor handy for the bar area and swimming pool, it was very hot so did not use the lounge but sat outside lovely views all round bar terrace, lots of seeting area. I think there could have been more signs to the pool and bar etc we couldn't find how to get to the pool for a while which was down some side steps, i think there could have been more sun shades. The food was excellent with plenty of choice.I couldn't get WiFi in the hotel so had to go to a bar down the road.
Our room was fairly small but quite a large bathroom and small shower, there was no balcony but we were out all day so not a problem

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luluhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,019 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
753 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Property: Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Address: Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing