We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lakeside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice lakeside hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a lovely and well located hotel. It overlooks the lake, and the breakfast/restaurant terrace has amazing views - there is an outdoor dining area when the weather is fine so try and sit outside if you can. The staff at breakfast were always great and clear the tables quickly. A few people have posted to say problems re lack of food/running out at certain times, but there was always plenty when we were there. This hotel does have an older clientele - I'd say 90% of the guests are in their 50/60s and we are in our 30s - so not a party atmosphere but very quiet at night so good for relaxing. We also got the impression most of the older guests were with coach parties, and by the time we made it down to breakfast each day at 9-9.30am, they'd already finished breakfast and were heading out for the day.

We booked a double room with lake view and balcony. The room itself was big although there wasnt any aircon and the "double bed' was the usual continental effort of pushing two singles together and putting a double sheet over them. The view was spectacular and it is definitely worth upgrading for a lake view. However, be warned that if you book a balcony, it isn't a private balcony (or it certainly wasn't on floor one). Our balcony had a table and two chairs, but the walls separating us from each neighbour were only a foot high, so as soon as you walked out you were effectively sharing the terrace with them. Some people might like the sociable nature of this, but on a romantic break we didn't really want to be chatting with the man next door who was always sat out there!

The hotel is quite grand, but a tiny bit shabby around the edges in places. Not that this detracts, but it explains in part why I haven't given it five stars. I was surprised that the gardens were quite unkept in terms of paths, given the number of elderly guests - It was quite slippy walking down to the pool (grass sloppy path, not paved). The pool itself was small and monopolised by two families with younger children, but we much preferred swimming in the Lake itself anyway. Ask at reception for the closest places to swim - basically it seemed you can pretty much swim anywhere that isn't a boat docking area, but there is a blue flagged "beach" (pebbles not sand but beautiful clear water) with toilets and a snack bar between Cadenabbia and Mennagio (the next village north around the lake).

Cadenabbia itself isn't huge but has everything you need. There are a handful of restaurants within five mins walk of turning left or right out of the hotel, plus a few gift shops and a post office. Also very close to the ferry points. The ferry is very easy to navigate, just make sure you pick up a timetable so you know the return times. As for other places around the Lake to visit, we'd recommend Menaggio (lovely old town, fantastic ice cream shop on main square and lots of nice restaurants) and Bellagio across the water. We went over to Bellagio for dinner on two evenings on the ferry, it's about 8 or 9 euros return for the evening. You can hire boats (no licence required) or kayaks from a variety of places along the Lake, I'd advise avoiding AC Boat in Menaggio though as we had a bad experience with them.

Lastly if you are travelling here on your own rather than as part of a tour, by far the easiest way to get here is to fly to Milan and hire a car. We looked in to getting a cab or if we could arrange a transfer, but there is no direct public transport and cabs were super expensive (200 euros). It's about an hour drive, maybe less, and very easy to find - as soon as you hit the Lake, there is just one road around it. The hotel has loads of free parking. If you are hiring a car from Milan Malpensa, make sure you check whether your hire company has an office/cars in the terminal where your flight arrives - there are two terminals and we got caught out by this. If you do need to swap terminals, there is a shuttle bus between the two.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LinzofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    383
    209
    83
    45
See reviews for
146
544
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here last month and had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing holiday.
The Good:
- Beautiful vista across to Bellagio
- Relaxing and spacious grounds to enjoy a drink and soak up the sun
- Super buffet for antipasti and deserts at dinner
- Friendly and efficient staff, in particular the waiting staff.
- Rooms very clean and comfortable. We had two rooms in our party and mine was definitely the nicer. The other one could have done with a bit of a refurb. We spied into many of the rooms, especially on the front and they all looked lovely.
- Great location in terms of convenience for boats and Villa Carlotta

The not so good
- Main course at dinner was a bit on the bland side
- Very dull area at night – there’s really nothing to do. We had intended to get a ferry across to Bellagio or bus to Menaggio one night but didn’t manage it (both resorts might be a bit more lively than Cadenabbia)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DancingDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel with excellent food although we were part of a group. The views from the dining room and terraces are superb. Sunsets are amazing over the mountains. The only problem was initially we were allocated Room 12 which is on Floor A. It has very basic furniture, wardrobe only suited for one. The tv is out of the ark and hung from ceiling which is tiled. The bathroom had no towel rails and no curtains at window. We were, after complaints allocated the next day a far superior room with plenty of storage capacity and an excellent bathroom. Initially we were assured that room 12 was a standard room. We understand it is normally for tour guides!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 12. Rooms overlooking the lake at the front could be noisy as there is a busy road. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenecob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The views from the front of the hotel, which includes the bar and dining room, overlook the lake and mountains and are without doubt magnificent. The food was superb and I had fabulous service throughout my stay from very friendly waiting staff, on my last night I was given complimentary drinks to take out on the terrace as I was disappointed when unable to eat on the terrace that night.
Pool was OK but a walk over rough, uneven ground to get there.
My room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet, some people found their front of hotel rooms noisy, but they had the views and balconies, you take your choice on that. Although booked as a single it was in fact a double room so lots of space.

Room Tip: Back rooms quieter, front rooms magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayWYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinamorrin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great holiday from the 12 September for a week. The hotel is in a great location. We arrived at 10.30 pm and the check in was so fast it was great. The hotel it self is big .the room was a great size. And the shower was a power shower. Breakfast was busy but plenty of choices to be had. Dinner was also busy good choice but don'texpect a big meal but if your in Italy you eat and do things as Italians do. The bar in the hotel is a bit quite and lacks atmosphere. But if you go out of the hotel to the bar on the left its good also the bar at the end which is by the tobacco shop is also good. If you can walk up the back of the hotel it's about 120 steps but there is a lovely pub up there with great views. Make sure to take a trip to Verenna it's only across the lake.All in all we had a great time so much to do and see. Use the ferry system back and forth to the villages it's easy to use and plenty of them. Ask the reception for any help you need they are so friendly and helpfully. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 349 very big great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinamorrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here to attend a friends wedding, along with about 20 friends and colleagues. We don't normally stay in large hotels like this, preferring the smaller, boutique hotel. The decor, whilst grand and imposing, is looking slightly shabby. It was perfectly acceptable for our 2 day stay however, and offers unparalleled views of beautiful Lake Como. The staff were also generally pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rox P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
667 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed a week. Well done to Chef Carlo Pesenti - The food was excellent and plenty of it. We had no problems with queues and the staff were friendly, yet kept very busy with over 320 people staying! We had a balcony and lake view on the third floor and would highly recommend the large balcony, especially if you like a bit of 'me' time. Worked out a little expensive for the upgrade, though well worth it. A little restoration work is needed in the entrance hall floor. Our room had the bathroom up ten stairs, with a frosted glass door on the toilet, so would recommend you check out your room before arriving and if you have any problems climbing, best to mention beforehand. Some guests could not change rooms and this disappointed them. We were very lucky with ours. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: EAR-PLUGS are a life-saver! We were near the lift, so they were a great help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy_Luv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,021 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
754 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Property: Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Address: Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing