We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here last month and had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing holiday.
The Good:
- Beautiful vista across to Bellagio
- Relaxing and spacious grounds to enjoy a drink and soak up the sun
- Super buffet for antipasti and deserts at dinner
- Friendly and efficient staff, in particular the waiting staff.
- Rooms very clean and comfortable. We had two rooms in our party and mine was definitely the nicer. The other one could have done with a bit of a refurb. We spied into many of the rooms, especially on the front and they all looked lovely.
- Great location in terms of convenience for boats and Villa Carlotta

The not so good
- Main course at dinner was a bit on the bland side
- Very dull area at night – there’s really nothing to do. We had intended to get a ferry across to Bellagio or bus to Menaggio one night but didn’t manage it (both resorts might be a bit more lively than Cadenabbia)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DancingDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel with excellent food although we were part of a group. The views from the dining room and terraces are superb. Sunsets are amazing over the mountains. The only problem was initially we were allocated Room 12 which is on Floor A. It has very basic furniture, wardrobe only suited for one. The tv is out of the ark and hung from ceiling which is tiled. The bathroom had no towel rails and no curtains at window. We were, after complaints allocated the next day a far superior room with plenty of storage capacity and an excellent bathroom. Initially we were assured that room 12 was a standard room. We understand it is normally for tour guides!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 12. Rooms overlooking the lake at the front could be noisy as there is a busy road. We...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irenecob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The views from the front of the hotel, which includes the bar and dining room, overlook the lake and mountains and are without doubt magnificent. The food was superb and I had fabulous service throughout my stay from very friendly waiting staff, on my last night I was given complimentary drinks to take out on the terrace as I was disappointed when unable to eat on the terrace that night.
Pool was OK but a walk over rough, uneven ground to get there.
My room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet, some people found their front of hotel rooms noisy, but they had the views and balconies, you take your choice on that. Although booked as a single it was in fact a double room so lots of space.

Room Tip: Back rooms quieter, front rooms magnificent views
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MayWYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great holiday from the 12 September for a week. The hotel is in a great location. We arrived at 10.30 pm and the check in was so fast it was great. The hotel it self is big .the room was a great size. And the shower was a power shower. Breakfast was busy but plenty of choices to be had. Dinner was also busy good choice but don'texpect a big meal but if your in Italy you eat and do things as Italians do. The bar in the hotel is a bit quite and lacks atmosphere. But if you go out of the hotel to the bar on the left its good also the bar at the end which is by the tobacco shop is also good. If you can walk up the back of the hotel it's about 120 steps but there is a lovely pub up there with great views. Make sure to take a trip to Verenna it's only across the lake.All in all we had a great time so much to do and see. Use the ferry system back and forth to the villages it's easy to use and plenty of them. Ask the reception for any help you need they are so friendly and helpfully. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 349 very big great shower.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinamorrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here to attend a friends wedding, along with about 20 friends and colleagues. We don't normally stay in large hotels like this, preferring the smaller, boutique hotel. The decor, whilst grand and imposing, is looking slightly shabby. It was perfectly acceptable for our 2 day stay however, and offers unparalleled views of beautiful Lake Como. The staff were also generally pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rox P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed a week. Well done to Chef Carlo Pesenti - The food was excellent and plenty of it. We had no problems with queues and the staff were friendly, yet kept very busy with over 320 people staying! We had a balcony and lake view on the third floor and would highly recommend the large balcony, especially if you like a bit of 'me' time. Worked out a little expensive for the upgrade, though well worth it. A little restoration work is needed in the entrance hall floor. Our room had the bathroom up ten stairs, with a frosted glass door on the toilet, so would recommend you check out your room before arriving and if you have any problems climbing, best to mention beforehand. Some guests could not change rooms and this disappointed them. We were very lucky with ours. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: EAR-PLUGS are a life-saver! We were near the lift, so they were a great help!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy_Luv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I spent a week at this hotel with Riveria Travel. The hotel is stunning & situated in a great location. The staff were wonderfully helpful. The food was fab, huge choices, eating on the 5th floor terrace with stunning views of the lake & mountains. As a single traveller I was disapointed with the size of my room, which being at the back of the hotel was dark but it was spotless & bathroom very modern. My favourite place was across the lake at Bellagio, alleyways of wonderful shops. Get an all day boat ticket, you can then go on any of the boats up & down the lake, visit Mennaggio & Varenna. Villa Carlotta, next to the hotel well worth a visit, also Vella del Balbianello & the Bernina Express train.

Room Tip: if you get a room at the front it is worth it, the road isnt that noisy
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hilary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
817 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
625 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cadenabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cadenabbia

Address: Via Regina 1, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range: $129 - $1,150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Cadenabbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Di Griante
Grand Cadenabbia Hotel
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing