We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia(Cadenabbia di Griante)
$255
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riviera(Cadenabbia di Griante)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$938
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rusall(Tremezzina)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel La Darsena(Tremezzina)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Marie(Tremezzina)(Great Value!)
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Perla(Tremezzina)(Great Value!)
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alberghetto La Marianna(Cadenabbia di Griante)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa La Mirabella(Cadenabbia di Griante)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,241)
Filter reviews
3,240 results
Traveler rating
681
984
730
408
437
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
984
730
408
437
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslido restaurantpastafloating poolst moritzdownstairs barcoach holidaygreat holidaybernina expressall inclusive dealbuffet stylecooked breakfastthree starlarge hotelall inclusive hotelnoddy trainvilla carlottaroof terrace
Filter
Updating list...
1,169 - 1,174 of 3,240 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

booked via shearings coach trips very good value all inclusive --- travelled overnight from shearings base at Stretton warrington changed to tour coach before getting ferry to the hotel on lake como - very slick operation very impressed - resonably comfortable trip but we are larger couple so bit cramped, but no issues plenty of stops on way - coach crew paul & bob pleasant & informative stayed with group for the week and did some excursions whilst there some included some optional extras

Hotel very big approx 200 rooms lot of people but never seemed overcrowded-- rooms big en suit - comfortable clean- upgrade 40 euros for balcony and lake view - worth it if you sit on balcony with glass of wine in evening and people watch but there are balconies on either side right next to you so no privacy--- and to be honest why should you with lake and pool just across road -

food - good quality plenty of it hot and cold & very varied not just pizza and pasta - something for every one at breakfast lunch or dinner - all inclusive package-- coffee and tea served at beakfast with meal - lunch and dinner -wine and beer and water served at table.
then after meals up to midnight most drinks from the bar - funny though biggest queue at the several coffee machines about the place
- should you be a snacker and need nibbles with your drinks little shop round corner sells crisps and nuts
staff at hotel polite helpfull at all times realy nice
facilities lido pool and bar across the road by lake with plenty of sun beds - by the time you read this the new infinity pool and bar will be open as well so plenty of room outside to relax

between hotel and lake is quite a busy road during the day -- but did not seem to intrude into holiday in any way noise wise just caution in crossing - and it was not busy in evening

in summary
excellent holiday all taken care of by shearings & hotel staff no language problems
this type of tour seems to attract more mature people but absolutly no reason why younger people should not go - you are not tied to trips and can do what you want when there

Room Tip: 40 euros get upgrade to balcony room with lake view - worth it ??? - if your not in room and want to get out to the pool or sit by the lake -- do not bother
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked a package holiday at a very reasonable price and because of this we do not expect perfection. We also upgraded our room, which is essential in a large, busy hotel like this. On arrival, the room was lovely but the party wall with 329 was a little thin and there was also a connecting door to our room - so we could hear conversation occasionally. That said, we slept well and had a lovely view of the lake.

The hotel is VERY busy, and it is buffet service. Good variety and quality of food, so simply stay calm. There is enough for all. Drink is free, but don't get too excited. The wine is quite weak, the brandy is fine and the gin has a bit of a kick. As always on this sort of holiday, there are those who go to drink themselves silly, but just stay away from the bar area. It gets very hot anyway.

Breakfast is of very good quality, but hot food is only served after lunch. Lunch is good, but the packed lunch is dull and you'd be better off eating in a small cafe. Lovely pool area over the road from the hotel, but this is only open in the Summer season.

Staff are friendly and lounge facilities good, but there is a sewage smell coming from somewhere in the area around the main lifts. That said, you can't beat the value of this refurbished hotel and the English owner deserves praise for cornering the coach trade market. It won't be to everyone's taste, but we had a wonderful 6 nights there.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room and try to get one with two solid walls between you and your neighbours.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel march 2014 and within one hour of arrival I was shocked at the rudeness of one waiter in the dining room towards me many other diners overheard this arrogant idiot and were all totally shocked at his rudeness I complained to the hotel in writing but they could not be bothered to reply they are obviously used to lots of complaints. Food was very poor with desserts quite honestly inedible. booking in on arrival took was around one hour not enough staff. Room was very pleasant with lake view, Do not book upgrade in advance you will get ripped off wait until you arrive they will offer upgrade at a fraction of price rooms at rear of hotel dark /dingy like a cell some with lovely view of fire escape ! Will I return? never ever

Room Tip: avoid rooms at rear they are horrible
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bbbarbara2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is the worse hotel I have ever stayed at anywhere in the world. I shared a room with my sister and needed a second room card for which they charged me 5€ , why ?
The food was just terrible for 6 days I lived on pasta and oranges, the meat was unrecognisable and the waiting staff were seen to wipe tables and with the same hand pick up cutlery by the fork end!!
Fruit was apples or oranges and you had to pick through the ones that had gone off !
When we arrived the twin room we requested was made up in a double and the man on reception was very stroppy when we are it to be changed. The room was large and generally clean except for a table covered in ring marks and stains and the wardrobe door which was hanging off !
One night the fire alarm went off but we didn't hear it in our room so could have been burnt in our beds.
The holiday was with Shearings and everything they did was 1st class except for putting us in this dreadful hotel.
I marvel at the reviews that say the food was good, they must like overlooked meat and frozen vegetables , on a good note the ice cream was excellent

Room Tip: Deluxe with lake view is the only one to choose but I recommend you just don't go there
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrspink3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Coming back after such a lengthy absence we were pleasantly surprised that the only thing that had changed was the extension to the dining room which was much needed.The views over the lake when dining were perfect.On arrival with Shearings Holidays our luggage was portered to our room.We decided the room was clean but a little small so we enquired about changing it and the receptionist Jeanette offered us a front balcony room for a small surcharge.This was kept clean and tidy for us by our maid.The food was buffet style and there were dishes to suit all palates.As the break was all inclusive we were served an acceptable house wine with our meals.Tea,coffee and other drinks were available in the downstairs bar all day but if you go before the summer and have to stay in the hotel in the evening the bar can get very noisy due to volume of people and the promised entertainment is lacking enjoyment.The staff in this hotel work hard and are very friendly.This hotel was the venue for our first holiday together and we returned to celebrate a special birthday for me.We were not disappointed and enjoyed the company of the many people we met throughout our journey with Shearings.Just to say also,now the management have finished the Hotel lido opposite the hotel,those of you taking a summer break here should really enjoy the warm evenings by the lake.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper opt for a high floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews