We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms, awful new years eve.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms, awful new years eve.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were a party of 4 staying 5 nights over new year. First of all our door to our room wouldn't stay shut, then we couldn't get in as the card stopped working. Then the safe broke and we couldn't get in to it. The shower cubical filled up with water when you turned it on and the cubical door came off and hit my wife! The rooms wasn't very clean when we checked in with dirty old tissue under the bed and a old bottle of water by the curtain, which remained there the whole trip. The room was never cleaned while we were there. The cleaner just made the bed and that was it!

The staff in the restaurant were lovely, friendly and helpful, the best part of the hotel was them.

New years eve was terrible. We had 9 courses which meant we were sat at a table from 7.30 until 11.45. Not what I was expecting. Then the "entertainment" was an old man playing the keyboard and singing songs from the 50's! I'm in my 20's!!! The only good thing about new years eve were the spectacular firework display over the lake.

The hotel was mainly full of the older generation and it would of been nice to be told this in the Shearing's holiday book. We were the youngest by about 40 years. Felt very out of place.

We were all inclusive yet they wanted you to buy water and snacks out of the vending machine! As the hotel was shutting down for a month the day we were leaving some of the food and drink wasn't available for the last few days!

The public seating area was absolutely freezing! My wife had to sit there with a woolly hat on and myself with 2 thick jumpers on!

We paid for two rooms exactly the same yet we had a big room with 2 beds and my in-laws had a tiny room that you couldn't move in. When we queried with reception why my in-laws room was different they said its because we were 2 ladies sharing and they always give 2 ladies a big room! I found this very patronising! They could see from our booking that we were a married couple as it said Mrs & Mrs! So we shouldn't of been treated any different to my in-laws!

The trips were brilliant and the freshly made pizza was great. The setting of Lake Como was amazing. Shame it shuts down for the winter as it looks like it would be great.

We would go back to Lake Como but maybe not in the winter due to it all being shut but in the spring/summer. We did enjoy our self in Como but the hotel let it down.
In my eyes its not a 3 star maybe a 2 at best. We won't be going back to the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyM2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    901
    669
    368
    398
See reviews for
431
1,652
127
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (953)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went to this hotel as a party of 6 with Shearings. On arrival we were shown our allocated rooms and immediately decided to upgrade to lake view rooms on the 5th floor, it proved a very good choice until one of the lifts broke down during the busiest times and sometimes it took as long as 20 minutes to actually get downstairs, not possible to use the stairs as some of our party had mobility issues.
The food was disappointing especially on New Year's Eve. The entertainment on this night was also lacking, being the same musician that had played in the bar on previous nights, so we had the same music over again. With no specific dance area, people were dancing in the aisles between the tables in the end. The firework display on the lake was amazing though and much appreciated.
During the whole stay the food was never very good and always lukewarm.
The staff at the hotel were all very helpful in spite of being extremely busy at all times.
There only ever seemed to be one person serving at the bar which caused queues at times and there was a stupid rule that guests were not allowed to use a tray to carry drinks.
Although the lake is beautiful and I would like to visit again when it is warmer, I do not think this hotel will get my custom.

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We travelled overnight with Shearings Coaches arriving at the hotel at 10am on 23rd December to spend Xmas and New Year here. We were allowed into our room straight away and were disappointed with the view as we looked out onto a fire escape and car park. Overall the hotel was ok but the room was never cleaned properly if at all! Food was fine and Xmas dinner was great but disappointed with New Year however the firework display on the lake after the meal was fantastic,

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndylouKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were there for 2 nights (all inclusive). The room was nice, a bit dated. It felt like walking into the 60's. Whenever we go to the restaurant for our meals, we felt a bit out of place. Everyone around us was at least 45 and above. The food was not great so we ended up going out for dinner every night. Wifi was poor in the end I've decided to not use it. Even though the room was old fashioned we got the room facing the lake. It was beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarakhanafiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel over the Christmas period. I was a little concerned as to what to expect after reading the comments for the hotel. My own views are: The hotel situation, decor, bedrooms and overall ambiance are excellent. We were in room 600 on the top floor with views over the lake, (Tower crane) and the surrounding hills. Those booking through Shearings should upgrade at the hotel as Shearings upgrade chargers are higher although in the 2014 brochure they are more inline with the hotels charges. Our biggest gripe was the quality and seclection of the food, very limited in both cases, Do not be influenced by other comments saying it was good that it definitely was not. Limited choice and poorly cooked, Although most of our time at the resort was spent under low lying cloud even so the area has a beauty all its own.
We went on a number of bus trips with Shearings while there visiting Bergamo, Lugano Milan and Como all well worth it. Unfortunately our trip on the Bernina Express was cancelled due to bad weather. Would we go to this hotel again NO, mainly because of the food

Room Tip: Upgrade on site. Higher rooms give better views. Room numbers 400 to 411, 500 to 511, 600 to 611.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

we have been to this hotel on at least 5 other occasions but we had only ever visited in the summer

this was our first xmas away from home ever and itr was wonderful

on arrival from the airport we checked in but immediately upgraded our room . we had a lovley room on 5th floor over looking the lake we paid 50 euro
it was a wonderful room spacious and the bathroom was of a good size
we had brittish tv chanels and although we didnt watch much tv i did however enjoy xmas carols programmme whilst my husband was getting showered n changed

it also allowed us to keep in touch with uk weather situation

our room was lovley and warm and the room although looking out over a biusy road the noise wasnt intrusive in fact i didnt notice it at all and my hearing is good

the food was great a real good choice and we found it plentiful
the only negative comment io would make was that at breakfast the porrige was not very hot

yes they did serve porrige and i did eat it even though it wasnt very warm
there was plenty of seating in the dining area we never had a problem
we arrived on sunday 22nd and left fri 27th

the weather was wet xmas eve and xmas day but i had my wellies so it didnt really matter
we didnt expect sunshine


we went to milan on xmas eve and enjoyed the visit there was a brilliant leanardo da vinchi exhibition on near the cathedral which was fabulous it had life size reconstructed models of some of his inventions with info and interactive modern tecnology where you could touch a screen and see the model layout in 3 D and rebuilt it from components usung easy touch screen the exhibition was as you go into the shopping centre where they have the bull on the floor where you are supposed to spin your heals on its whatits

the exhibition is as you pass through this shopping area and you are just about to exit by the big statue opposite the scala opera house
it was up on the first floor there was a lift and a sign with a gentleman directing you to the lift

it cost 12 euro and was worth it very good if you have children they will love it
if you are thinking of going to milan then look online to book a time slot to visit the last supper in the little church in milan you cannot just turn up and i believe time slots are sold out well in advance

we didnt not go to see this as the tour company we booked our holiday with did not tell us which day they would be doing the milan trip and please note the church its housed in is not open on a monday .
the xmas lunch was wonderful it was many courses over 4 hours and i enjoyed the atmosphere of the guests and the staff
there were 495 i think all seated for xmas dinner and the staff worked hard
the hotel gave each person a gift which was was lovley surprise
there was a wonderful menu for the meal
if you are going out to this hotel and have from your holiday company a trip for st moritz please be aware it may get either cancelled or re sheduled

we missed out as boxing day there had been an avalanche and as we were to fly home on the following day we didnt get a chance to go later


i was dissapointed but we understood it was an act of god and not the companies fault
at this time of year a lot of the shops closed as out of season so not a lot open
we didnt expect there to be much open as the season was long since finished
we werent able to get over to belllagio as the ferries had finished from nearby the hotel but as we were only away for a few days we found other things to do like walk up to capella allpini and san martino church
we did these both on the one dry day we had

we had packed lunch and had a lovley picnic on this occasion

i wont go on much more as you can see my previous in depth reviews of this hotel from previous visits
it was a lovley xmas and i enjoyed meeting poeple and talking to poeple
its an ideal holiday if you are alone at xmas as folk are friendly and will readily engage in conversation

Room Tip: upgrade on arrival or at least be incontact with this hotel online prior to holiday to ask or mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank radleyoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated at the water's edge half-way up the west side of Lake Como. No matter what time of the year - the views are simply stunning. We arrived by taxi directly from Bergamo airport as trains pass only through the city hub of Como in the south. A bus service runs along the lake, but running times are somewhat erratic in winter. The best option is to hire a car - it's easy to drive in the whereabouts as there is only a single lane road joining all the villages along the lake. The hotel is one of the largest in the area - honestly we wondered how they cope in the winter season as it was practically deserted in December (the whole region goes in hibernation during winter - in summer it's a different story altogether). The lobby is welcoming and has a grandeur setting, with ornate furniture all around. The staff at the reception was cordial but would do with a bit more professionality. We were given a room for 4 on the fourth floor with a balcony overlooking the lake. We passed through a myriad of corridors until we eventually managed to locate it (and got lost each time we tried). The room was quite huge by today's standards but in need of an upgrade. No fitted carpets, but uneven parquet flooring with some loose boards. Old furniture didn't help the cause either. No coffee-making facilities in the room - just an empty fridge. In contrast, the bathrooms seem to have been recently refurbished. And no wi-fi service anywhere except for a free hotspot (with a good signal) near the lifts down by the lobby. The breakfast room is simply enormous - can literally accomodate hundreds. Pity that on our first morning we were seemingly the only patrons in an otherwise empty hotel. The breakfast display dishes were bare except for the odd cereals and ham/ cheese stuff. We asked the only waiter in sight if we could have bacon and sausages (as promised at the time of booking) and he duly obliged by ordering some from the kitchen. In all fairness, the following mornings were a different mettle as a full-blown English buffet breakfast was served - but the hotel was then bustling with activity as a large delegation had arrived for a stay. All in all, it was a pleasant stay. The hotel's location must be the envy of others, but it needs an upgrade. You don't usually get much better for a 3-star place. It is such a big place that the maintenance costs are surely prohibitive (they could possibly close during winter to recuperate some of the losses, maybe). Surely in summer it is more vibrant, but we enjoyed the quiet break just the same.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MaltaBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,049 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
11.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Property: Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britannia Excelsior is set on the shores of Lake Como and is a former 19th-century inn. The beautiful guest rooms are tastefully decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture. The hotel boasts four bars four restaurants and two swimming pools open seasonally.RnrnJust 50 metres from the Cadenabbia landing dock, the Britannia Excelsior offers free parking and beautiful views of Bellagio. RnrnThe centre of Griante is a 10 minutes' walk away. Free public parking is available near the swimming pool. All rooms at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel are equipped with satellite TV and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Some rooms overlook the lake and some even have a balcony. RnrnFree Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and breakfast is a continental-style buffet available daily in the main restaurant. Both the buffet-style restaurant and the a la carte, lakeside restaurant specialise in classic Italian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing