We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view, but poor hotel facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was so looking forward to this hotel, thou, I do know about the big groups of tour coming to the hotel, that doesn't bother me. As we come to the entrance, I was impressed, but after that no more.

The room was facing the lake, so beautiful, but the room is like it's falling apart. The floor is creaking all the time, first time that happen to us. So annoying!!! The bathroom is awful, the room is so small, plus we were given a room on a separate building that has to go thru, with our luggage pass the restaurant, when people are eating...not quite right.

I will not stay here again, if next time in the area, I will look in Bellagio area, lovely, thou, maybe issue with parking. By the way, not much food to eat here either. Don't

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can't stand dirty room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BelgiumSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,322 - 1,328 of 3,180 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Britannia Excelsior on quite a few occasions in the past few years; however, my wife and I have just returned from a three week holiday and have to report that our stay has been absolutely perfect. It is pleasing to note management read, and all the staff are made aware of reviews and in house critiques. More importantly they act on them. From arrival you are made most welcome, staff are obliging and polite.
It is noticeable that a comprehensive training package is in place which ensures all staff are fully trained and respect customers needs, irrespective of their creed or nationality.
The new pool will augment what is the perfect holiday location which certainly meets all our needs and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boris005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed there in June, Hotel was ideally situated - maybe a bit isolated but free Hotel Boat to neighbouring resort was excellent, also good bus service and Little Train to nearby villages - Hotel was clean and appeared to be well run - there was a good variety of food at Breakfast Lunch and Dinner and the (over worked staff) where very friendly and attentive, food may be a bit boring if staying for 2 weeks, our room was small but well maintained and clean throughout our stay also the beds were very comfortable, my only 'gripe' was that the Red Wine was usually cold!! but overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CityVisitor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned home after a lovely weekend break at Lake Como staying at The Britannia Excelsior. Our room was beautifully decorated and overlooked part of the lake which was stunning. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and happy to help whenever we needed assistance.

The food was great, espcially at their bar/restaurant accross the road where we enjoyed many lovely cocktails whilst taking in the wonderful views! It was only a short visit so we didn't manage to do/see as much as we would have liked, however we are planning to return to The Britannia before the end of the Summer. Looking forward to another lovely holiday!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the hotel from 19th to 26th June 2013, All Inclusive board. The room we had booked was very nice, twin with balcony and lake view. Very clean and nicely decorated. We had to ask for more towels after a few days as no clean ones were provided and only one bath towel each and one very thin (like a napkin) towel each. The downside was the food and drink. The food was OK for lunch but not really something to look forward to in the evening and we ate out for four of the seven nights. This hotel really seems to appeal to the over 65's and I have to say, had the atmosphere of an retirement home. The staff were mixed in their attitude to customers, although many of the female staff were very miserable and slow. The bar area downstairs was, as previous customer described it, "just like a working men's club". Not appealing at all to sit in and judging by the amount of people who were taking drinks upstairs to their rooms, we weren't the only one who thought the same. Shame, probably a fantastic hotel in its heyday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lilliecattravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to this hotel in June. Our room was beautiful with a marvellous view across the lake to Bellagio. Our sister had also tried to book in at the hotel but it was full so she had to go elsewhere. The Grand Britannia staff were wonderful. They arranged that she could eat with us and that she could use them for any problems she might have. We found the food very good and served by very efficient waiters and waitresses. The hotel reception was excellent. We were booked in very easily and very swiftly. Nothing was too much trouble. The reps with the holiday companies were great. Our Shearings reps helped everyone regardless of which tour they were on. This was our fourth visit to this hotel and we cannot wait to go on our fifth!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view. Amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CaraLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.5 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range: $99 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britannia Excelsior is set on the shores of Lake Como and is a former 19th-century inn. The beautiful guest rooms are tastefully decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture. The hotel boasts four bars four restaurants and two swimming pools open seasonally.RnrnJust 50 metres from the Cadenabbia landing dock, the Britannia Excelsior offers free parking and beautiful views of Bellagio. RnrnThe centre of Griante is a 10 minutes' walk away. Free public parking is available near the swimming pool. All rooms at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel are equipped with satellite TV and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Some rooms overlook the lake and some even have a balcony. RnrnFree Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and breakfast is a continental-style buffet available daily in the main restaurant. Both the buffet-style restaurant and the a la carte, lakeside restaurant specialise in classic Italian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing