We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfied with shearing holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“satisfied with shearing holidays”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

just got back from a 9 days holiday with shearing. On arrival to the hotel we were told we only had a standard room, therefore my husband said we will see the room first and check if we are satisfied with it. The room that we were given was small and located at the side of the hotel overlooking some ongoing constructions, if you look through at the side of the balcony you will be able to see the lake. It was raining and the room looks so dark, gloomy and depressing. The bed were unmade as it was just vacated by the previous occupants. We went straight back to the reception and asked for a room upgrade which thankfully enough at a price of 40 euro were were upgraded into a lake view room on the 6th floor with a balcony. Again, the beds were unmade. We put our suitcases in and mentioned to the cleaning lady that the room needs cleaning. We head straight down to the restaurant for our lunch. The food were nice and appetizing. Waiters were all over the place refilling water and serving wine. On our last day one waiter in particular got me irritated. He was standing in front of us putting some cutlerries and speaking to himself in italian, my husband managed to grasp what he was saying and he told me that the waiter was saying something about me. He is the waiter with the black vest. So anyone, be wary of him. i hate to remember his face. The hotel has no heater and it's quite cold sitting on the foyer, perhaps it's okey during summer time but not in winter and spring. Over all, the experience was lovely and the views are beautiful and breathtaking. Don't miss the excursions, they are the highlights of this trip. And there is BBC and ITV channel too.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms on higher floor looks newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    918
    678
    376
    408
See reviews for
452
1,679
128
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I , along with 2 friends, booked this holiday with Shearings Holidays.Based upon reports read and having spoken to someone who had travelled abroad with Shearings we decided to book the 9 day holiday with an overnight stay in Reims on both the outward and return journeys, what a great decision we made.I would strongly recommend this option and it certainly is worth the additional cost compared with the 'express' overnight coach journey. The hotel itself is attractive , clean and of a good standard. The bedroom was adequate , comfortable , warm and had a fair view even though we were positioned at the rear.We holiday was an all inclusive affair and good value. We had a coach driver named 'David' who was very knowlegeable , entertaining and , above all, an excellent driver who gave a feeling of safety & comfort ( even though I am a poor passenger in vehicles ). His depth of knowledge and his running commentries added substancially to the holiday.
Small criticisms now.....firstly the food at the hotel though a good variety , was never hot and the coffee was only warm & from machines. Secondly ,the bar in the evening had a local entertainer ( organist & vocals) who was excellent however the bar had limited space and I would imagine that if the hotel were full there would be problems in finding seats for the evening.
All round this was a marvellous holiday and one I would certainly take again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarringtonMallyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

After reading several reviews my husband and I wondered what we had let ourselves in for. We had booked with Holidaysbooked.com and were really pleased with our short break. We did upgrade to a room with a french balcony and a side view of the lake for 30 euros. Our original room was a bit small and overlooked the mountains at the back but there was nothing wrong with it. Our new room was larger and had a beautiful shower room which was obviously quite new, or looked it. No complaints about the room.
The hotel itself looked quite grand inside. The food was much better than we have had at other three star hotels. The staff worked really hard especially the restaurant staff and the two men in the bar who would have put British barmen to shame. They must have been exhausted by the time they got home each night.
The location was good, just opposite Bellagio and near the ferry port. A wonderful setting.
Of course you can't please all the people all of the time but some people aren't pleased most of the time! It is only a three star hotel after all. If people want better they should book a four star.

Room Tip: Higher floor, side view. No noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnEpsom_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I went on an all inclusive Shearings holiday to this hotel and I checked some reviews before we left and did not get a good impression. How wrong they were, the hotel was clean, the food was fantastic and although busy the staff were always helpful. We were offered an upgrade to a front of hotel room with a balcony (for 30 euros) but as there was building work going on at the lido on the other side of the road with a crane spoiling the view we accepted the first room at the rear of the hotel. This proved to be quiet and we both slept well in the comfortable beds. Overall I would recommend it and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: The work on the Lido is supposed to finish in May 2013 so a front room view would be better after th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccleston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked two rooms at this hotel through Holidaysbooked.com and when we arrived we were told the two rooms were not available and we had to take a family room or move to another hotel. Unable to speak to a manger because was told every day that there was not one on site (unbelievable!) Complained to the booking company and they were not interested. Doubly annoyed because before we went we saw so many bad reviews of this hotel and read of so many similar experiences that we asked the holiday company to ring and check our booked. They claimed to have done this one week before the holiday and said that everything was OK with the two rooms we booked. There were numerous other people at the hotel that we saw having the same problem - the hotel clearly has a policy of over-booking and has no regard for its customers. My advice is to go nowhere near this hotel and certainly to have nothing to do with Holidaysbooked.com (or Hotelsbooked.com which is the other name they use). We are currently involved in a legal dispute with the company.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cadenabbia di Griante hotels

Burry Port
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

On arrival we were given our room key. When we saw the room it was so small,poky and with a view of a car park we were so disappointed so asked for an upgrade. The people on reception really didn't want t bother.Okay , they were busy but we were told to come back tomorrow morning when a lot of guests would be leaving. Eventually we paid 40 Euros in cash and ended up with a lovely lake view room with a balcony.
This is a huge all inclusive hotel with a massive dining room and bar.There are many public rooms which are worth exploring. The pool (not that we needed it as it was cold and rainy ) is 100 yards away across a busy main road on the lake side.
Food was mediocre except for the freshly cooked meats which were good. Breakfasts were not very good at all ,stale bread , lumpy porridge and a miserable selection of cooked food. We did enjoy the included drinks which were of course local ,being Italy they had Prosecco,Amarreto ,Campari etc. Great.
Packed lunches were stale ham or cheese rolls and mass produced croissant with chocolate in them. Oh and bottled water.
I have to say that we travelled with Edwards Coaches based in Wales and the drivers were very good.The actual tour was really lovely. Wish the hotel could have been a bit better.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook Lake Como in all it's glory.What a lovely place to be.R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely short break in Lake Como , booked with Shearings. Location is fab for a touring trip & very close to Mennagio,which we loved.After we decided to upgrade we were appointed a room with a crane for our view.We explained that this was not our idea of a paid upgrade & at 3rd attempt got a lovely room with a fabulous view.Room was clean & bathroom modernised,however the tiny shower lets it down.Food is buffet style & whilst not Michelin cuisine , usually something to suit all tastes.The food is plentiful but fresh fruit would be much better.The included tours were exceptional & the optional ones also.The holiday was made extra special by our lovely driver Steve (Scotland) who is a wonderful ambassador for Shearings.His knowledge of the area & consideration to all passengers,could not be surpassed & everyone on the bus admired his gentle manner.
Overall the holiday represents great value for money ,particularly if you opt to stay over en-route.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilliandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,065 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
835 reviews
11.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Property: Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Address: Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cadenabbia di Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cadenabbia di Griante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britannia Excelsior is set on the shores of Lake Como and is a former 19th-century inn. The beautiful guest rooms are tastefully decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture. The hotel boasts four bars four restaurants and two swimming pools open seasonally.RnrnJust 50 metres from the Cadenabbia landing dock, the Britannia Excelsior offers free parking and beautiful views of Bellagio. RnrnThe centre of Griante is a 10 minutes' walk away. Free public parking is available near the swimming pool. All rooms at the Britannia Excelsior Hotel are equipped with satellite TV and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Some rooms overlook the lake and some even have a balcony. RnrnFree Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and breakfast is a continental-style buffet available daily in the main restaurant. Both the buffet-style restaurant and the a la carte, lakeside restaurant specialise in classic Italian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Excelsior Hotel
Hotel Britannia Excelsior Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior Lake Como/Cadenabbia Di Griante, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing