We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Giorgio Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tremezzina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Giorgio Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Busan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

I'll never forget our stay at the San Giorgio. It was all so unexpected. We tried next door and were told they were full, and maybe we should check the neighbors! Well, the neighbors didn't have the pool that we were hoping for, but they were able to offer us so much more that you couldn't put a price on ... a timeless grace and style, both in the interior furnishings and the view of the lake beyond the gently sloping lawn from the large old windows of the hotel. We only stayed a night, but wished we could have stayed a week or more. The boats pull in just at the end of the lawn, to take you over to Bellagio or anywhere else you might care to go to. The whole area is off the main road, so there's a peace and quiet here that is sometimes hard to find around the lake, especially in high season. In a word, magical!!

Room Tip: Obviously it's worth paying the extra for a room overlooking the lake, especially with the beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyinBusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
22
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We spent a wonderful 3 nights here. Wondeful old world charm, clean and tidy rooms, good food and good service. It is away from the tourist crowds and is a relaxing haven. Great value. An afternoon on the lawn sipping wine is unbeatable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onthemove2012255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We spent 4 wonderful days at this hotel. It is a gem - very old world in terms of architecture and setting. We had a beautiful room, overlooking the grassy area between the hotel and the lake, with a vast panorama of the lake and Alps beyond. This site is one of the best on the lake and it is one of the only hotels with direct access (i.e. no road in front) to the lake.

The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was very nice. The best feature was the belle epoch balcony with double doors that looked out over the lake.

Breakfast was delicious. Best croissant we had in Italy and the cappuccino was excellent. That's all I had, but there is a buffet with more for an added fee. It was extremely pleasant to sit out on the verandah and have our morning coffee and read the Tribune. We had dinner one night and it was good, but there were some minor issues with the bill that were immediately clarified in our favor as I recall. We should have taken this as a head's up to be very cautious about the billing procedures.

Upon check out, I found that the hotel had billed us twice for the travel agent's fee. The travel agent billed our credit card in advance of our trip 'to secure the room'. Upon check out, the hotel claimed that they had never receive the money from the travel agent and insisted that we owed them the full amount for the room and that they would work it out with the travel agent and, if appropriate, refund any excess about to my credit card. I didn't believe that for a nano second. I made the assumption that the travel agent had pocketed his money in advance and that I was left to pay the balance thereby assuring that everyone received their fair share (Agent approx. 10%, hotel 90%). I pointed out that they SHOULD have deducted the payment amount that was made to the travel agent from the balance of our bill, regardless of whether it had come directly from me or from me, through the hotel. I had a confirmation letter that I had paid the money to the travel agency which I allowed them to copy. They should have worked it out with the travel agent. BTW, the travel agent's percentage was about 10%, maybe less, so I think that seemed reasonable. We ended up settling with the hotel and clarifying it, but the other two families are still quarreling with the hotel and the hotel is threatening. I don't know who is at fault, the hotel or the travel agent. I don't work with this travel agent, but the other families have had years of experience with him, so go figure. Anyway, note to reader -- proceed with caution, but by all means don't cross this place off your list. It is a gem.

The guests were European, not too many Americans except for the dozen in our group comprised of families with teenage kids. The hotel staff is courteous, but doesn't 'put itself out to be super friendly or helpful' though no real complaints. They did their job.

The access to the ferry system is perfect. It's just a short walk from the hotel (2 minutes) and it is the best way to get around Como. The roads are busy with traffic and extremely narrow - with the added adrenaline-inducing rushes courtesy of Italian drivers -- and this is how they behave on vacation?!?!? The one night we went into Como for a fancy dinner celebration, the hotel, at our behest, helped us book a mini bus to bring us home. We got back by the skin of our teeth, but I tried not to look out the front window. Our friends had driven over from France and just left their cars in the hotel lot. We had trained up from Milan and found that we could take a public bus from the train station directly to the driveway of the hotel (less than 1 hour). We could also have come by ferry from Como.

From the hotel, you can dine at several very nice little trattorias and restaurants in the little village. Great gelato place right near the ferry building.

Room Tip: Lake view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D82mouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked the San Giorgio after finding it in a book entitled 'Good Italian Small Hotels'. It did not disappoint. The staff are charming but discreet, the hotel is quintessentially as it was in the 'grand tour' days, when guests arrived by steamer at the adjacent ferry terminal from Como. You feel you are staying as guests in the owner/manager's private mansion. It is one of the few hotels that borders directly on Lake Como with superb gardens. The dining experience was excellent too, and breakfast on the terrace in the mornings.... we stayed for ten days.......on the top floor, with a lakeside view......we intend to go back.......and swim in the lake direct from the gardens...

Room Tip: go for the upper floors with a lakeside view. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew499482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

It is difficult to spoil a holiday at lake Come due to its fantastic view. However at San Giorgio is the right place to be left unsatisfied: 1) lack of parking lots 2) rooms with carton walls where every step is heard 3) cleaning ladies entering the rooms without knocking 4) poor breakfast and dinner, the waitress makes you a courtesy bringning a cup of coffee 5) quite rude stuff.
Please going to Tremezzo think about your choice of stay twice!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lidia_matveyeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We got used to spend a 3-day's trip in the lake of Como every year and each time we want to try a new place and consequently a new hotel. This was chosen upon the feedback of some guests and it came with a big surprise the bad experience we had in this hotel.
The doors are so thin that it seems to share the same room with your next-door neighbor. There was a lot of rust on the sink and the bath tub. The people at the reception and also those on service during breakfast were very rude and made our staying very uncomfortable. This was the 10th hotel that we stayed in the lake of Como and definitely it is the worst we have been since now. If I can recommend something - don't go there if you want to have a peaceful and romantic time on the beautiful lake. Dave

Room Tip: Try to book another hotel - closer to Cernobbio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_Germany069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

The beauty of the place is completely spoiled by the poor quality of service and the rudeness of the owners (they litterally ripped me off).

Food is merely edible and far below lake of Como's standards... breakfast was pitiful!

Despite the price rooms have no tv and there is no internet connection.

Keep away!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michele7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.1 mi away
Albergo Lenno
Albergo Lenno
#1 of 1 in Lenno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Edy
Hotel Villa Edy
#8 of 8 in Tremezzina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio Hotel

Property: San Giorgio Hotel
Address: Via Regina 81 | Lenno, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing