We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Long & Winding Road”
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Helensvale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Long & Winding Road”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It takes a bit of effort to navigate the road up to this hotel but it's worth the effort!

I have traveled a lot in my time but I have to say the people at reception (2 lovely girls and a very gentle man) gave us the best welcome we have ever had.

You just know as soon as you walk in that this is something special.

The views are spectacular, the swimming pool just right and the service second to none.

The rooms are clean (They close for a couple of months each year & redecorate) and are basic but comfortable, apart from that this place is a pearl. (Scuse the pun).

Just do it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    106
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
159
552
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Perla for a long weekend (Fri - Mon). It is a beautiful hotel, with amazing lake views. I would definitely stay here again! The view at breakfast is breathtaking and the pool area is very clean and overlooks the hills and lake. It was never really busy at the pool and there were always sun loungers available. The hotel definitely exceeded our expectations and pool area is so relaxing and beautiful the pictures do not do it justice! The family that run this hotel, make it what it is. They are so wonderfully friendly and helpful at all times. Even before we arrived, we contacted the hotel to make restaurant reservations for us, they were great and booked and recommended great places and changed times of any reservations once we arrived. They were always on hand to help with anything we needed and booked a great boat trip for us which was one of the highlights of the trip. Nothing was too much. We had a late flight and they were more than happy to give us a late checkout and let us use the pool until the evening. We had a standard room, which was perfect. It was clean, spacious and had real character. The bathroom was very clean. It had a lovely patio and a Great Lake view (and this was a standard room!).

The hotel is situated high up in the hills which is why it so peaceful and relaxing. Surrounded by local villas it adds to the authentic Italian feel. We had a car, which was the best decision for us as we could drive around to the local towns and some great family run restaurants in the hills. The hotel has great free secure parking. They also run a shuttle service but we did not need this. The ferry stop is only about 10 mins drive away with easy parking- from here you can go to other towns. You could walk down but the walk up would require quite a good level of fitness. Bellagio is just a quick ferry ride away. After visiting Bellagio, we appreciated the quietness and less touristy nature of Tremezzo and were so glad we choose not to stay there. If your looking for a relaxing break - I would recommend La Perla, especially if you have a car. We were initially hesitant to stay in Tremezzo after reading it was too quiet but anywhere else would have made the holiday completely different.

The hotel has a good continental breakfast - teas/coffees/pastries/fruit/cereal/yogurt etc. They serve drinks in the bar until 11pm and serve some light dinner snacks. I recommend staying here, relaxing, using the great pool and heading out for lunch/dinner to some lovely restaurants in the town or towns close by.

La Perla made our holiday what is was! Great hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Such a refreshing break from the big cities, absolutely lovely hosts, great to have secure parking - and a lift from the carpark - we needed to have some documents printed, and they were so helpful. Excellent breakfast, and the evening "snack" menu was more like a light meal, and delicious. Great air conditioning. Very helpful with advice on parking at the local school when we went down to Tremezzo. These lovely people deserve all the accolades - this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Como, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great place to pass a vacation beautiful hotel with wonderful views on the lake the service given by the family that owns it is friendly,discrete and professional. The high scores are well deserved I strongly suggest a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11111x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I booked La Perla having read all the fantastic comments on Tripadvisor and trust me it is all true. Had the most fantastic 5 days here in early August. The view over Como is stunning and the hotel is absolutely spotlessly clean. The hosts (twin sisters and their husbands) are so helpful and will do anything to make your stay memorable. They speak impeccable English.. And French .. And German. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. It is an absolute gem.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in . You could not fault the service from Clelia, Mara and their respective partners . The hotel was clean beyond belief . Breakfast excellent . If your looking for a small (20 rooms) family hotel run by people who really care about what they are doing then look no further, and of course there is an unbelievable view for free ! Go and find out for yourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 7 nights in august 2013.
We both found the hotel a true standout from others we stayed in during our time in lake como.
The hotel has been finished to a high standard and it is obvious that the owners, (two sisters and their husbands) truely care about this hotel and they should be very proud of it.
The rooms are lovely, we had a terrace with a sunbed and table and chairs on that looked over the lake, as does all the rooms whether you have a terrace or a balcony.
The pool is really nice and we enjoyed many days sunbathing there.
The hotel is situated up a steep hill, however the owners offer a free shuttle service daily.
The walk down hill is a very nice walk through cobble pathways and i enjoyed this very much, while taking advantage of the shuttle bus back up the hill.
The hotel does not have a restaurant but they do have a snack bar which many people do avail of for evening meals as we did some nights which i found quite nice. If this hotel was to have a restuarant, it really would stand head and shoulders above the rest in lake como.
There is a tratoria close by, (5 mins walk) I did not particularly like this restaurant, however 10 mins down the hill was pizzeria balognett which serves the best pizzas in lake como is a must.
I would love to stay here again soon and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone as it is a top quality hotel which is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkle170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
808 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.7 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
414 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Via Romolo Quaglino 7, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Perla" is located in charming "Tremezzina", away from noisy streets but with a wonderful view over Lake Como. It is an oasis of peace and tranquillity where you will always be hospitably received by our friendly staff. The hotel is beautifully framed in olive beams, a great place to spend your holidays. All our rooms are tastefully and elegantly furnished and offer a fantastic panorama view over Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Tremezzo
Hotel La Perla Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing