We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View- OK Accommodations”
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our long weekend at Hotel La Perla. Most of the hotels in/around Lake Como are 3* (with the exception of a famous resort south of Tremezzo), and this hotel is no different. It is basic. Do not come expecting luxury bedding or amazing furniture. Rather, come expecting a convenient location from which to see other parts of the lake.

The staff (family) were very nice and obviously work hard at this property. They put out breakfast in the morning, run a shuttle down the hill so guests can easily catch the ferry and work late into the night. They help arrange dinners and can help suggest sights worth seeing during the day. I do think the level of cleanliness could be increased (I am not a fan of hair in my shower when I have not yet used it), but the operation seems to have a skeleton staff to handle just about everything.

The views from the hotel are spectacular. Some of our nicest pictures were snapped quickly by one of the sisters before our departure. Again, come for the convenient location and wonderful views and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NoraNJtoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 851 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We ended our 2 week trip to Italy here at La Perla for 4 days and could not have been happier. Run by family, we experienced a modern and clean setting overlooking great views of Lake Como surrounded by the Italian and Swiss Alps. The 2 sisters and their husbands that run the hotel were very friendly, helpful and interested in our daily schedule. We were always greeted with smiling faces and when you're on vacation, isn't it the small things that are most important? That's the way we felt. Rooms were always clean and bright, breakfast more than ample with fresh breads, cakes, fruit, meats, yogurt, cheeses etc and a terrific coffee machine. Would definitely stay here again. One note; the hotel is about 1 mile up a steep incline so having a car is helpful, although I understand a shuttle is available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deray8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

True to the name, this was a pearl of a find. Overlooking stunning views of Lake Como the rooms were bright and airy with private balconies giving a view of the terra cotta roofs below. Elegant in styling and modern fixtures made the rooms rich in comfort and luxurious. Underground secure parking was a bonus. Delicious breakfast each morning in clear sunny conditions fueled us up for the sightseeing around the villages dotted on the foreshores. A ferry travelled around the lake so we could visit Tremezzo, Belaggio and our favourite Varenna. Sipping coffee, chatting and watching the world go by made us feel like one of the locals. Cobblestone roads which sound romantic but definitely require good walking shoes, led to dozens of unique and majestic villas on the water. La Perla is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If travelling by car do not go the short way as advised by GPS. It is windy with sharp bends up from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainie438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The staff could not have been more friendly or accomodating. Breathtaking views of Lake Como from the deck and our room. There is a restaurant with a good but limited menu and full bar. Free parking was nice and there is a shuttle bus into town. However, it is not difficult to drive down into the town and they were nice enough to clue us in as to where to park for free. Would highly recommend staying here and would be happy to return. We were not disappointed.

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catlover202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is awesome, but what makes it the number one place to stay in Tremezzo is the staff. It is owned and operated by a family who truly make you feel at home. It is a bit tricky to find, tucked away on the hill, but that is what delivers what is arguable the best view in Tremezzo. They offer a shuttle into town a few times a day and go above and beyond to help make your stay magical. I was recently married in Temezzo and everyone stayed at Hotel La Perla and every guest had something nice to stay about the accommodations and staff. For anyone looking for an affordable place to stay, look no more!

Room Tip: Get a rom with a view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were going to stay in Bellagio for 3 nights until I read the positive reviews about La Perla on Trip advisor. In view of the great reviews we changed our plans and decided to book at La Perla. It was the best decision we made!!!

This hotel is sensational. Set high above the lake, the views are truly magnificent. The air is fresh and the sound of the local birdlife that greets you on arrival instantly makes you feel alive. What makes this hotel a cut above the rest is the service. The hotel is run by two twin sisters and their husbands and they go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Nothing is too much trouble. We enjoyed our stay so much that we changed our travel plans and stayed an extra 2 nights!

If you want a peaceful hotel, one that puts you in the heart of nature, one that has an ever changing view, one where you will feel welcomed and well looked after then this is the one for you.

Some tips: you will need a car if you stay at La Perla and make sure you have a GPS to help you find the hotel as it is off the main road.
Ensure you have breakfast on the Terrace -it will fill your heart with joy.
Get a room facing the lake if you can. If you can't don't despair - just spend more time on the terrace.
Whilst the rooms are small and they may not have all the glamour and extras that the larger hotels offer the view, peace, cleanliness and service will more than amply make up for the shortfalls.

We can't wait to return to La Perla. It gets a score of 10 out of 10 from us!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A bit tricky to find tucked away at the top off the hill over looking lake Como but eventually found it after a couple of wrong turns. Plenty of room to park the car. First thing that strikes you is the view back down toward the lake which was spectacular. The hotel is gorgeous and one of the best maintained hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff is super friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was on the same level as the pool and the room opened out to our own private courtyard with great views of the lake and mountains. We had an included breakfast that you could enjoy from the outside balcony area and as the weather was awesome it was the only option. Though we had a car we used the hotel shuttle bus to get down to the ferry wharf rather than drive the typical very narrow roads here. No parking dramas either. With a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance we didnt use the car at all. Absolutely a top experience staying here

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trilogy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.7 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
455 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Address: Via Romolo Quaglino 7, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range: $128 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Perla" is located in charming "Tremezzina", away from noisy streets but with a wonderful view over Lake Como. It is an oasis of peace and tranquillity where you will always be hospitably received by our friendly staff. The hotel is beautifully framed in olive beams, a great place to spend your holidays. All our rooms are tastefully and elegantly furnished and offer a fantastic panorama view over Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Tremezzo
Hotel La Perla Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing