We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in September 2012. The location is absolutely fabulous for views of the lake, and the large outside breakfast terrace a beautiful and peaceful place to sit. The hotel is a few minutes drive up from the lakeside which means it's quiet (the lakeside road is busy!) and has panoramic views. The staff have great ideas for places you can park all day down at Tremezzo (where it's easy to catch ferries across the lake), some without charge, so this is a very good place to stay if you have a car. And the staff were without exception friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. This isn't a luxury hotel, but it's comfortable, clean, well looked after and had everything we need for a really fabulous three days of visiting the many beautiful villages both on the tremezzo side and the bellagio side of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    105
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
159
548
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had two very comfortable rooms at La Perla with another couple and really enjoyed our stay. The sisters and their husbands were so much fun to talk to, and the advice and hospitality were wonderful! Breakfast on the balcony and our room both had beautiful views! The breakfast had a good variety and the cappuccino machine was great! We ate dinner on the balcony at the hotel one night and watched a beautiful sunset. The roads are narrow and curvy getting up to the hotel, but it is worth it for the views, and the price is reasonable for Lake Como. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Perla for two nights and we wish we could have stayed longer. Luka, Sergio and their wives made us feel like nothing was too much trouble - always keen to help with any requests with a smile. The hotel itself is not at the lake, but has a magnificent view from the rooms and dining areas. We were grateful to not be right on the lake, though, since the road was busy and noisy. In short, awesome stay in a beautiful place. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked this hotel after reading the positive reviews and it really was a positive experience. The people who own and run this hotel are unbelievably nice and accommodating.

The hotel is located in Tremezzo in the middle area of the lake. It is up the hill but there are shuttles to/from town so it not an issue. You are dropped off at the ferry stop in the morning where you can travel to Bellagio and some other towns (all about 10 mins apart on the ferry).

The room is reasonably sized and the bathroom is spacious. I would definitely recommend a room with a lake view/ terrace because it really is worth it.

Breakfast is also varied so you can fill up before a day out.

Considering the prices at some of the other hotels in Como - this place is a great find.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a lake view
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LilyfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We visited "La Perla" at the end of August and stayed there with our 2 years old son for a week. The hotel is just perfect, the room was large beautiful and spacious. we had the regular room and not family suite but it was absolutely terrific, and the kid had enough space to play in.
The service of the two beautiful sisters and their husbands was magnificent, never had such a friendly front desk in any small or large hotel. They always had useful information about anything we asked, including parking advice :-) and always with a lot of patience and with big smiles. Everything we asked for was done right away and with no hesitation, such a pleasure!!!!
The hotel is a great base for exploring the area, many beautiful towns and beaches nearby. Facts you should take into account are that a car is needed and most convenient, especially for families with children, since the way to Tremezzo is long, and that in the pool area there is no infants pool so it isn't very useful for small children (1.4 m depth of water). Our child was the only child there in the few times we tried it so we felt not very convenient with the other guests (although no one ever made us feel that way!) it just was so peaceful and quiet in the pool area that we felt we are coming with all the noise and fuss and were afraid the other guests didn't enjoy it....
We really hope to come back and stay at La perla, When we will stay again in the area we'll surely do it again and again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank great_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent three nights here. The hotel is set up on the hill outside tremezzo so a little distance from the restaurants and ferries however it really isn't a problem. You can take the free shuttle or if you have a car the staff can tell you where to park for free. The pool and terrace are lovely with amazing lake views. I can't speak highly enough of the staff, they were lovely and extremely helpful organising trips and restaurants. The only negative is the hotel decor, while clean and very well kept is a little chintzy but this really doesn't matter. A great place to stay on lake como.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiera Beach, Fl.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Perla, following a review of all the reviews and am thrilled we chose this hotel. We just returned after three nights. I could not have been more pleased with our selection. All the comments about the amazing hospitality of the owners were correct; words cannot express how accommodating, nice, helpful, and pleasant the owners are.

The hotel itself, as well as the rooms was impeccable and clean. Truthfully, I’m unsure that I have ever stayed in a hotel as clean as this (including high end resorts and hotels). Literally, spotless. The hotel is about a 4 minute drive, or 20 minute (steep) walk from the main road and up the hillside.

My husband and I mentioned on several occasions how much we preferred this quiet, hillside selection. It was SO quiet and relaxing- and just what we needed.

We rented a car and there are two parking options- underground garage (which takes a lot of skill to get into a space, very narrow) and a small outside parking lot. We never had a problem locating a spot- though again, takes a skilled driver! There is an elevator in the garage which takes you directly to each floor- very nice when you have a lot of heavy luggage. The garage entrance is a bit before the main entrance- easy to miss if not looking for it.

Our room (I think most) had a small and private balcony overlooking the beautiful lake and mountains. It had a café table with two chairs (perfect for me, a smoker!). The rooms were a good size (especially for Europe), as were the bathrooms.

The bathroom had decent counter space and a space for larger items under the sink. It had a very modern and updated feel to it.
I will say, the standing shower itself was fairly small. I am short and petite and had a bit of trouble- my husband is a body builder, he had a ton of trouble! The water pressure was great, and it ran hot without a problem.

The bed was very comfortable- and the room overall very well appointed if not basic. (I liked this). It had a small flat screen TV where you can get American channels (though my husband thoroughly enjoyed South Park in Italian!).

Breakfast was typical for European style- yogurt, fruit, and pastries. They have an amazing coffee/espresso machine. The breakfast room was very comfortable and large and nicely done. The hotel had outside tables on the balconies (large area) which were also set for a drink, breakfast, etc.

They also have a snack bar (we did not eat there so cannot comment on the food) but they had a full bar there as well.

The owners literally could not have been more helpful in terms of providing directions; items needed, suggestions, etc. You could tell they really wanted their guests to enjoy the area.
Housekeeping was amazing.

The hotel and everything about it was terrific and if in the area again would not hesitate to stay there and could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryninfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
808 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.7 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
414 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Via Romolo Quaglino 7, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Perla" is located in charming "Tremezzina", away from noisy streets but with a wonderful view over Lake Como. It is an oasis of peace and tranquillity where you will always be hospitably received by our friendly staff. The hotel is beautifully framed in olive beams, a great place to spend your holidays. All our rooms are tastefully and elegantly furnished and offer a fantastic panorama view over Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Tremezzo
Hotel La Perla Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing