We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved La Perla - an example of true hospitality”
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed her mid august for 4 nights with 2 small children and booked a family room/suite. The room was very nice, clean and spacious, and the outdoor patio of the room was amazing: incredibly large, and beautifull view on the lake. As mentioned in other reviews, the power of this hotel is really the hospitality of the owners. Always willing to help, always smiling, always friendly. It is really a boost into the vacation mindset, being treated as such. The breakfast was nice, all that you can expect. We also enjoyed the pool, which can please both the people that want peace and quiet as families. The location is a bit further away from the center of tremezzo, a walk is possible, but you have to be in good shape (uphill walk for about 10-15 minutes), which my small children couldn't do each day. They do offer a free shuttle, which takes away the location disadvantage for teh most part for day trips. In the neighborhood, you can have dinner at teh hotel (limited choice) or go out to eat to a local trattoria or pizzeria (highly recommended, excellent authentic food there) closeby.
Given that we needed a family room, the price was a bit higher then our usual budget, but the memories and service of the hotel made it all well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dRobke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 849 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Perla in late August for three nights and couldn't have been happier. The owners (two sisters and their husbands) are simply the nicest people imaginable. They were so accommodating and so very gracious. One particularly nice perk is that they offer small plates to dine on (in the early evening) and have a little bar on premise, as well. If you happen to be arriving late, it's very convenient to have this available. As others have written, La Perla is well up a hillside so be prepared to walk quite a bit (which we thoroughly enjoy) or take the complimentary shuttle into town that is offered in the morning and early evening at the hotel. As avid hikers, my husband and I absolutely loved the location - we could simply walk out our door and hike any number of beautiful mountain trails. And the views from the hotel are spectacular! If you are considering staying at this property, do yourself a favor and make that reservation - you'll be happy you did :). (Our favorite restaurant in the immediate vicinity is Pizzeria Balognett - a short walk away and some of the best pizza we have EVER eaten. All garden fresh ingredients in a lovely, backyard setting surrounded by flowers, herbs and fruit trees. Unique, cozy setting and excellent food!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Selected this hotel based on TripAdvisor inputs, and was not disappointed. Up on a hill away from the crowd, splendid views over the lake from everywhere - rooms, pool, breakfast... Very attentive staff, everything clean and working, cannot ask for more. The village and boats are maybe 15 min walk, this may be a problem for some, but not for me; I'd rather be quietly up on the hill than in a big hotel on the water at a much higher price.

Room Tip: There are a few 'back' rooms without balconies, avoid if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a really nice week at La Perla. Our lake view room gave us stunning views of the area and was very comfortable/ clean. Breakfast was enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the lake. The staff were charming and completed a very enjoyable stay. We highly recommend this lovely little hotel.

Our best meal out was at Trattoria del Prato which is up a samll alleyway in Tremezzo. This is not a lavish restaurant but the veal with mushrooms was absolutely delicious.

Room Tip: A room with lake view - definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at La Perla at the start of Sept 2012 for wedding anniversary. Booked based on previous reviews. Agree that the views and the the staff where excellent, but a little disappoiunted by the room as no bath and on the small side. Breakfast was continental and had a good variety of food. Despite the owners saying the pool would be open, it remained closed for the 4 days that we stayed there but we spent most of the time sight seeing. Owners very helpful and accomadating, offer a free glass of Prosecco as was our wedding anniversary which was a nice touch.

Recommend the Pizzeria Balognett which is a 15 min walk from the hotel (note good exercise on the way back as uphill). Wouldn't recommend the Ristorante Belle Isole as very limited choice.

Recommend seeing Villa Carlotta and then getting boat over to Bellagio and also Villa Balbianello (as per James Bond Movie Casino Royale).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agentmulder86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights after visiting Varenna first, it was so quiet and peacefull with stunning
views of Lake Como. The staff and owners were pleased to help you in any way possible and
spoke English very well.The rooms were clean and modern and I would recomend the hotel
to any one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I can see why this hotel is so highly rated. Lovely place, great staff, great breakfast. Nice pool. Rooms are only OK. Ours was a little on the small side and the bed was mediocre at best, but terrace is quite nice. Staff went out of their way to tell us best places to park, eat, etc. View from rooftop was quite nice as well. Thought the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetreker1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
820 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,116 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.7 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
451 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Address: Via Romolo Quaglino 7, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range: $128 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Perla" is located in charming "Tremezzina", away from noisy streets but with a wonderful view over Lake Como. It is an oasis of peace and tranquillity where you will always be hospitably received by our friendly staff. The hotel is beautifully framed in olive beams, a great place to spend your holidays. All our rooms are tastefully and elegantly furnished and offer a fantastic panorama view over Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Tremezzo
Hotel La Perla Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing