We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting up on a hill”
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
western new england
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely setting up on a hill”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I can see why this hotel is so highly rated. Lovely place, great staff, great breakfast. Nice pool. Rooms are only OK. Ours was a little on the small side and the bed was mediocre at best, but terrace is quite nice. Staff went out of their way to tell us best places to park, eat, etc. View from rooftop was quite nice as well. Thought the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetreker1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    105
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
159
544
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mortsel, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and visited the region by motorbike. We were really charmed by the gentleness of the adorable (4 language speaking !) twin sisters who own this hotel. Their respective husbands were also very very kind. We liked the lake view from the room balcony, and the view from the panoramic terrace on the roof was splendid. The shuttle bus from the hotel was a nice extra service. A very romantic place to recommend to everyone !

Room Tip: The extra cost for the lake view was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thérèse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuuk, Greenland
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spend some time at the La Perla, it was much better than expected, you will always have an amazing view over Lake Como, as well from the pool, the small size of the place makes it very comfortable and cozy, the staff is truly serviceminded and committed to this beautiful place - for good reasons!

Room Tip: Get the balcony:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jespermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything in this hotel felt clean, new and smart. We had a superb bedroom/bathroom (lovely tiled floor) with lake view balcony. Views from our balcony, terrace and veranda where breakfast and evening meals were served were all stunning and completely panoramic. I thought that the pool / pool area was smaller than I had expected from the photos and when laying/sitting on the lounger it wasn't possible to see the lake. Also the pool area was in shade from late afternoon onwards. The hotel reception staff/owners were really friendly and helpful and provided us with useful information that enabled us to go on the Bernina Express train in Switzerland for a day. Evening meal in this hotel was reasonably priced and very delicious. Overall I would definitely stay at this hotel again and certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EandPhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four night here and loved every minute of it. Family run, friendly, spotless good value can't fault it. The views from the terrace are stunning, sitting there on an evening is like your own little bit of paradise. Nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are all lovely. The snacks on an evening as they call them are great value and lovely if you don't want to go out again. We ate there nearly every night it was so peaceful and relaxing. Good parking facilities if you want to leave your car and go down to town on the shuttle bus. Drops you off right where you get the boat. Fantastic place and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family and I spent 4 nights at Hotel La Perla. The owners are wonderfully accommodating. Our children loved the pool; and the rooms were lovely. The breakfast is fabulous and the afternoon and evening bar and appetizer menu and service works perfectly. The views are some of the best on Lake Como; and the hotel is so quiet and private. We have stayed at many hotels on Lake Como and this is the one to which we will return. It is well worth the trip up the mountain. We are seasoned travelers to Italy and Lake Como and we have not stopped sharing our La Perla experience with our friends and family. La Perla would also work well for a couples/romantic destination.

Room Tip: Rooms on the same floor as the pool are very convenient and have nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I spent three nights in Tremezzo with my family but La Darsena was only available for two, so the third night was spent in La Perla and for us it was the perfect combination. La Darsena (see separate review) has much to recommend it - chiefly its restaurant and its convenient location for getting around the lake by ferry.

La Perla on the other hand, high up the hillside in a quiet residential area, has a pool. It was unbearably hot while we were there, so having visited some sights we were delighted to spend the day there cooling off. The pool I should warn you is smaller than it appears in the photos, and has limited shade, but is perfectly adequate for a quick dip on a hot day.

Most rooms appeared to have their own balcony/ terrace with far reaching views. They also seemed to be close to the pool, which I suppose could be noisy with children splashing etc.

Where La Darsena is traditional in decor, La Perla has a slightly more 'spa' feel to it, airier and more modern. There are large communal terraces and the outdoor space is landscaped and plentiful. The room prices for the two rooms for us were the same in both hotels.

It occurred to us that the extremely charming, helpful and hardworking owners could probably make a profit on a restaurant for guests not wishing to go out to eat (there's plenty of room). They have a bar which seems to be open all day, serves only ham and cheese sandwiches for lunch and apparently sells a few dishes in the evening. We saw lasagne on the menu for example, but instead opted for the unprepossessing looking trattoria a little further down the road, which appeared to be in a private home. This by the way was very good and reasonably priced, and does not appear on Tripadvisor. It's called Rana and has a few tables outdoors overlooking the lake. It was very quiet when we were there and we were served by someone with very little Engish but we understood that everything, including the pasta, was home made. We ate simple pasta dishes with bread and salad, as well as the day's special of vitello tonnato, and all were delicious.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank alsozhivago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,048 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
801 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.7 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
399 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Via Romolo Quaglino 7, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Perla" is located in charming "Tremezzina", away from noisy streets but with a wonderful view over Lake Como. It is an oasis of peace and tranquillity where you will always be hospitably received by our friendly staff. The hotel is beautifully framed in olive beams, a great place to spend your holidays. All our rooms are tastefully and elegantly furnished and offer a fantastic panorama view over Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Tremezzo
Hotel La Perla Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing