We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”
Review of Hotel La Darsena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Darsena
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Attalens, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A fabulous place to stay for a romantic break.. Rooms have been recently refurbished very stylishly; they are spacious and airy. We booked our first evening meal from the booking site, which was really very convenient, it was also by far the best meal we had while there- exceptional food, presentation and wonderful, friendly, personal service. I cannot recommend this highly enough- for the location, the rooms, the service, the food....

Room Tip: Book through the hotel website and you can select your room, meaning you can select a lake view one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferRainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    113
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
92
577
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

It began when I was exchanging emails as part of the booking process. I got the feeling that we were getting a little more attention than usual when you are communicating in a different time zone from the other side of the world.
Upon arrival it was confirmed.
We had booked two rooms facing the Lake and knew that one was not available on the first of 3 nights.
Being a little weary we decided to "eat in" which was an excellent decision as the service is exemplary and the food outstanding.
Upon returning the following the day all of our luggage had been relocated and roses in our room for my wife!!
The team of Ezio, Tiziano and Maria are not in the Hotel business but the hospitality business, nothing is a problem and their attitude is all about the guest. Rare indeed!!
An idyllic location, with rooms with balconies literally over the Lake and a chef who produces stunning food. And EXTREMELY good value.
Our best time yet at Lake Como!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this small hotel and had no complaints whatsoever.
Being primarily a restaurant, the food as expected was excellent. Breakfast buffet had choices for any taste and the lunches and dinners were exceptional.
During our stay the restaurant was filled to overflowing with local parties on 2 occasions yet the hotel guests had reserved tables on the deck and were taken care of quickly.
Although the rooms are not large, they are airy and bright. The bathrooms are modern and bright. We had a room on the side and overlooked the lake and the park.
The location is perfect in that it is a 5 min walk to the ferry dock where a ticket can be purchased for an on/off ferry tour of the local villages.
I would urge visitors to spend some time in Varenna, it is not as crowded as Bellagio and a lot more pretty in my opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms directly facing the lake may be quieter than those siding on the road. The traffic is very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarpered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Sometimes if you go back to a place you really enjoyed it doesn't live up to expectations but not so in this case! This is still a jewel of a hotel in a wonderful setting with the highest standards of hospitality, if anything it is even better than we remembered. The friendliness and the kindness of the management and staff combined with the marvellous food set it in a class of its own. For us it was as near to perfect as we could imagine. Our thanks to everyone at La Darsena.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, 107 fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Motorist626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have stayed at La Darsena over the years at least 4 times now . During those times the staff and service have continued, if not improved their excellence in all areas. They continue to raise the bar which is very difficult considering they are already at the top of there game! Reading all these reviews you would think they are from the same person. The reason is they make you feel like your the only guest in their family Hotel. It's true they do have the best breakfast anywhere in Italy.
The best heartwarming staff you will find in a hotel. Extremely clean spotless rooms!! Variety of amenities not every hotel offers. Great location. Each team member works so well with one and other. This of course starts from the top. Special thanks to Tiziano, Ezio, especially Maria and all the other team members.
Alla Prosima
Roberto

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirabel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We only got to spend one night here. The food was amazing, particularly breakfast (the best in our 16 day 7 city trip in Italy). The town is amazing, calm and beautiful. As a family of 3, it worked for all of us.

Room Tip: We chose the room with two balconies and it was fantastic... you could smell the pastries backing in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cmcrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This little hotel is located right on Lake Como in the cute town of Tremezzo. It was centrally located and we were able to take boats to other locations on the lake. The restaurant was first class, breakfasts were outstanding, and we were treated like family. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. We had the best room in the house (Cadenabbia) which had two balconies.

Room Tip: Choose the Cadenabbia room which has two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IrisTattoo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,021 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
757 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.5 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Darsena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Darsena

Property: Hotel La Darsena
Address: Via Regina, 3, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Darsena 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Darsena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Darsena Hotel
La Darsena Tremezzo
Hotel La Darsena Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing