We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”
Review of Hotel La Darsena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Darsena
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We only had an overnight stay in La Darsena but it was a very pleasant experience and the staff could not be more helpful. Literally situated on the edge of the lake I have no doubt that during better weather (for our stay it was sadly raining) it would be a magical place. We had a lovely dinner and breakfast, again made special by the friendly staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    113
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
92
584
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I am happy to be writing this review of our experience as it will give me a chance to relive it in my mind as it has now become one of my "most favored" places. I can say is, my husband certainly knows how to pick them! We spent the whole month of June 2013 overseas. We were constantly on the move as we wanted to explore as many countries and cities as we could possibly manage. We stayed in many wonderful hotels along our journey but Hotel La Darsena is one that is ingrained in my memory and always will be. This hotel is charming and it was such a delightful experience. We had many things we wanted to see and do in the Tremezzo area which we managed to acompolish and after full days of sight seeing it was wonderful coming "Home to La Darsena" every evening for 3 nights to relax and prepare for the next day. Each morning started with a truly delicious breakfast in the hotel on the balcony with fresh air and a wonderful lake breeze to greet the new day. The accommodations, the view, the sights, the sounds, the management and staff were all 5 STAR in my opinion.
I would and have highly recommended this delightful hotel to any weary travelers in need of recharging. You can tell them that Jack and Cindy sent you ; )

Room Tip: My husband chose their top floor room with a lake view. It was not a balcony room but a double wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 wonderful nights last June at hotel La Darsena as part of our honeymoon in Italy.
It was my wife second visit, but my first.
This hotel is a family business and it shows. From the initial greeting to the personal attentions throughout our stay, they made sure to make us feel right at home. It is a small hotel with few rooms, all with an amazing lake view. The restaurant, with a terrace overlooking Como lake, Bellagio across the lake and the alps, is outstanding. The food is delicious and service unrivalled.
It is a must for anyone visiting the region, and definitely for us when we return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodeNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at La Darsena. Since it was during the off-season, the hotel was very quiet, we were one of 2 occupied rooms! The views from the room are amazing, directly across the lake is Bellagio. Breakfast was included and was very tasty, with a gorgeous view from the restaurant. Dinners in the restaurant were also delicious. The restaurant is also open to the public. A ferry stop is conveniently within sight of the hotel, although it wasn't operational at that stop because of the low season. A quick car ride up the lake to Menaggio is the car ferry to other destinations along the lake. Villa Carlotta is also within a (long) walk from the hotel, but was sadly closed for the season while we were there. Parking is free and conveniently next to the hotel, a small lot also used for the restaurant.
-The only drawback (which isn't really a drawback) is that the restaurant opens at 7:30 for dinners. During the winter, the sun goes down quite early and us jet lagged Americans were ready for dinner earlier!! But, the food is definitely worth the wait!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAK314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Superb. We have stayed at Como a number of times this year, at the better rated hotels and this one is by far our favourite. The location is brilliant for restaurants and, with the road and ferry nearby, the connection to other sights. I am a very light sleeper so we choose the rooms facing the water and sleep like lambs. They take their food seriously, so do spoil yourself by having a meal or two in the restaurant. I am still dreaming of Tempura Vegetables and the Marinated Duck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

La Darsena was a great home base for visiting the Lake Como area. The room we had overlooked the road, but it was still nice. I wasn't in the room very much. I was only there 2 nights. I wish there were more restaurants in walking distance to the hotel. Otherwise I was happy with the location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MEK9992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel location, friendliness of staff and
The excellent food in the restaurant will bring us back again. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay on Lake Como. Tremezzo is in a great location for touring the Lake and the proximity from the hotel to the boat is a short walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,045 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
760 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Darsena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Darsena

Property: Hotel La Darsena
Address: Via Regina, 3, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Darsena 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Darsena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Darsena Hotel
La Darsena Tremezzo
Hotel La Darsena Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing