We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Villa Carlotta
from $227.70
More Info
from $67.80
More Info
Reviews (2,975)
Filter reviews
1,544 results
Traveler rating
954
500
78
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
954
500
78
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake como bamboo garden top floor extensive gardens botanical gardens ferry stop worth a visit full bloom plants and trees the main attraction couple of hours gardens are lovely on display walk around entrance fee stunning views two hours
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,544 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

we were told about this villa and it's gardens while on holiday so thought we would pay it a visit before we left. the walk around the gardens took us a couple of hours and though it wasn't as colourful as we would have liked ( wrong time of year ) we still found it very enjoyable and the visit inside the villa was fantastic with some super portraits and lots of history to look at.
really enjoyable few hours for 10 euros each

Thank eamonn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With a copy of my passport I got the OAP entrance rate of €8. First I looked at the house, lots to see, but not much furniture - sculptures and pictures mainly, together with great views over the lake.
The gardens are very well laid out with a number of different trails, or wander as the mood takes you. I went up to the olive groves where they recommended stout shoes, but did not have a problem without them. Areas with bamboo, flowers in some, wrong season for the azaleas and rhododendrons, which would have been magnificent. There was a smelling and feeling garden, waterfalls and statues, little seats here and there, glimpses of the lake below.
Plenty to keep you busy all afternoon. There is a café there which I did not visit, nor the shop.
It is very well kept and staff were raking the gravel as I was leaving.

Thank Margo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a dank day, little sign of the sun, so we decided to visit Villa Carlotta, right next to our hotel and we were there as soon as it opened. That gave us an almost private viewing of both the villa and the garden.
Its history and development are themselves quite interesting with Napoleonic and Prussian connotations - its gift to the Saxen-Meiningen daughter Charlotte being the source of its name. She sadly died young in childbirth and it has found itself in private trust ownership maintaining the villa, the collection and the Sommariva botanical gardens.
There are some outstanding artworks to be seen inside, including works by Canova but the gardens are themselves a work of art; and a spectacular view over the lake from the balcony. Sadly for us it was the wrong time of year to see the vast stretches of azalea and rhododendron in bloom. Nevertheless, there was still some colour and the magnificent views over the lake.
€10 with a discounted €8 for older visitors was worthwhile for the extensive museum displays and the full extent, nearly an hour, of the garden walk throughout the Italianate lower terraced garden and pergolas and the upper slopes with some exotic and bamboo sections.
Definitely one to see.

Thank stanmansurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pay to visit this villa and if you areply elderly ask for the cheaper concession ticket. Lovely building shows how the rich and famous used to live. Even Napoleon stayed here. Some of the rooms are exquisitely decorated and furnished. It's a photographers dream. The gardens are lovely to relax in to enjoy the sun

Thank TravellerDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The gardens are spectacular along with the views over the lake. A pleasant 45 minute walk (90 if you want to see everything) followed by an interesting time in the Villa itself which has an excellent collection of art. Make sure you look up when inside as some of the ceilings are spectacular as well

Thank Steve-wgip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a few hours here one sunny afternoon, wandering around the beautiful gardens – we chose the long, red, route – enjoying the vantage points from which to view the Lago as well as Bellagio in the distance. A simple lunch in the cafe, followed by a tour of the Villa itself. The architecture is gorgeous, sumptuous, loved the ceilings and terrazzo in particular, as well as rooms with sculpture and examples of furniture.
Well worth a visit to anyone that enjoys gardens, peace and quiet, history and architecture.

Thank pierdvido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have visited this property in june and all the garden was amazing. We taken the 1,5 hour tour and we visited also the villa with the rooms where was lived the princess Carlotta.

Thank cristian_mihalache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Villa Carlotta. The entrance fee was reasonable. The signage was clear. We walked the red route through the pretty gardens.
The villa itself was very interesting.

Hopefully the audio tour will be ready soon.

We would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

Thank Wandering-J-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This villa has a big garden with a lot of flowers, and shows the interior of the villa. Easy to do in an hour.

Thank Shihe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The villa is interesting, mostly because of the art and sculpture inside. But the real worth of the villa visit are the gardens here. They have a variety of walking options depending on the amount of time you have. I think we took the longest outside walk which was about an hour.

Gardens are beautiful and must take a ton of care.

Parking was a challenge. The only real place to park in walking distance was right along the lake - and backing out into traffic after the tour was a challenge!

Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews