We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We cannot wait to return.”
Review of Hotel Villa Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Marie
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We cannot wait to return.”
Reviewed July 21, 2010

A lovely hotel, full of character and very well run by a delightful young Italian couple. A varied breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking Lake Como and the mountains beyond. No evening meal but not a problem as there are several restaurants a few minutes' walk away. The bar is open all day and it is possible to order a snack such as a toasted sandwich. It is also just a short walk away from the ferry station. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the owners are always around should guests need them - nothing is too much trouble. Some guests we met had stayed there on several previous occasions.

Our room, with balcony and overlooking the lake, was in the annexe which is a modern building and had air conditioning, safe and fridge, and was very comfortable. Some guests preferred to stay in the original Villa as the rooms had more character. The swimming pool is not large but perfect for a swim and to cool off - again very well maintained by the owners. There is also an underground car park so very convenient if driving to the area. There is a road between the hotel and the lake, but this is quite usual in that area and we didn't find it a problem.

We stayed for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed every minute in this very charming, comfortable, well run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    97
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
46
216
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; the hospitality and attention afforded us was genuine and sincere.

Every aspect of the hotel was first class, clearly the propriaters leave nothing to chance in ensuring their guests enjoy a relaxing and memorable stay.

Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

I couldn't disagree more with the below review.

We stayed for two nights for our first wedding anniversary and after seeing the other hotels locally which we considered before booking with Villa Marie, we are sure we made the right choice in staying here. The hotel is reasonably priced compared with its neighbours and I'd say it was one of the nicest in the town.

We paid to stay in one of the new rooms, with a lake and pool view, which was lovely, spacious and comfortable.

The pool is small, admittedly, however most hotels in the area have no sunbathing space, or a pool at all and so the fact that there was somewhere to take a dip to cool off was a bonus.

Breakfast was typically European, and as others have said consisted of bread rolls, croissants, cold meats, cheese, cereals, yoghurt etc. Not the best breakfast ever but by no means the worst.

The hotel is well situated, it is about 10 mins walk from the ferry stop and the main bit of the town. It is on the main road through, but then pretty much every hotel around the lake is on along the road and so you'd struggle to avoid it. It's busy yes, but not an A road...

The family were friendly and helpful. They brought us a drink to celebrate our anniversary, chatted about places to go in Milan, helped out another guest who'd lost their bag and generally were pleasant.

Tremezzo itself is scenic and well situated to discover Lake Como (without the use of a car). There's probably a handful of restaurants and shops at best, so not the place for those wanting a big resort, but is a lovely place to stay.

As for the church bells - yes they do ring every hour but then that's part of being in Italy...there's a church on every street corner.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The hotel has a very busy road in front of it which has a lot of fast moving, noisey traffic. There is also a Church next door that rings its bell every half hour and at 7.30am every morning it rings its bell about 40 times which is very loud! The beds are very hard - I needed a back massage when I got home! The breakfast is very basic - bread rolls that are hollow, processed cheese, and yoghurt every morning!
The swimming pool is very small and is very cold. There is a list of dont do rules for guests to obey.
The owners seem to work long hours but they dont seem very happy people. The hotel has olde-worlde Italiam feel to it however in my opinion this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MegLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed in Tremezzo at the Villa Marie with another couple in May and were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms had a marvelous lake view and were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, and the owners of the villa were friendly and professional. We had stayed in Bellagio on two previous visits, but much prefer the peace and quiet of Tremezzo and the Villa Marie. Access is just a few steps away to the lake boats, and about 10 minutes to Villa Carlotta with it's stunning gardens.

Andrea and Elisabetta manage the villa beautifully...they always took the time out from their busy schedules to help us with questions and trip details. Andrea even shared a "digestivo" with us one evening when he had some time...he's was friendly and entertaining and we enjoyed amusing him with our limited Italian...it was great fun.

We would definitely stay again ...we felt it was quite a bargain in an area known for higher priced hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homegirlchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Great hotel with exploring the Lake Como area. We had a room in the annexe part of the hotel and I was a little disappointed at first not be staying in the main part of the hotel...but when I saw our room, I soon changed my mind... the views were beautiful.
From our room we could see the Villa Balbianello and the lake looked stunning. Swimming pool was not used as the weather was not warm enough but it looked great.

Nice restaurants only a 10 minute walk away... Plenty of choice.

Go for a drink and dinner in the Grand Hotel Tremezzo - it is so beautiful and the views over to Bellagio at night are amazing (we got engaged here so I suppose it makes it extra special to me!).

Make sure you take the boat to other parts of the lake including the very pretty Bellagio and Lenno (to eat on the waterside and to go to the villa by speedboat - this man has the best job in the world!!!). Como is also worth a visit - we loved the small squares, the bars, great shops and taking the funciular up to the village.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stumbled upon this hotel by accident whilst reading trip advisor reviews for other hotels. They recommended Hotel Villa Marie, and so based on the reviews, and the very very reasonable price, we booked it.
We had previously stayed at Hotel Lenno in Lenno in August 2009, and it was more expensive than Hotel Villa Marie for a much much smaller room size, and not the best service.
Having read some of the negative reviews about Hotel Villa Marie - I think these people must have been staying at a different hotel or something, because everything was the complete opposite of what had been said! One review complained that the hotel took a none refundable deposit. Do they not understand that the reason hotels take your card details when you book is so that if you don't turn up, they can charge you for one nights stay or similar?? They have to protect their business, and so I think it's only fair that they take a none refundable deposit! Personally, if you wanted to check the cancellation policy, I wouldn't have booked the hotel until I had seen the cancellation policy. And as for abusive comments by email - there isn't any example of this, and I was very surprised to read this about such lovely people.
Another review complained of poor service from Andrea & Elisabetta, saying that they were unhelpful and rude. Honestly, I have never ever met two nicer people. Andrea especially was the highlight of our holiday. The booking requests that if you are arriving later than 6.00pm, then to contact them & let them know. Our journey from Nice to Tremezzo took 3 hours longer than expected, and instead of arriving at the hotel by 7pm, we eventually arrived at 10pm. They had absolutely no problem with this. Upon our arrival, we asked if there was anywhere to eat as we were starving after a long journey, and Andrea promptly telephoned an italian restaurant in the village to ensure they were still serving. They were, and upon our arrival, we found a table had been reserved for us. He waited for us to return from the restaurant, and then carried our bags to our rooms for us, and showed us around the rooms we had been allocated.
The rooms were lovely and spacious, the only tiny moan being the two single beds pushed together, but obviously this allows the flexibility of being able to offer a twin room instead.
Breakfast was a basic continental breakfast, but with a good choice of meats, yoghurts, pastries.Hot drinks were freshly made to order and were great quality, as were boiled eggs. We all agreed that these were the nicest boiled eggs we had ever had.
Andrea offered us a polite and friendly greeting every day and every evening, asking where we were off to, suggesting places to visit. He recommended a lovely fish restaurant in Lenno and various other places to see. Nothing was too much trouble for him - he was even able to provide me with Pritt Stick to use in my paper journal of our road trip.
I noted that there was a "midnight curfew". However, I can see why it is in force - Andrea & Elisabetta run this hotel on their own, and have young children - they have to have a break where they stop providing a service and go home to bed. Andrea is back in the hotel first thing in the morning to prepare breakfast! Besides, a midnight curfew isn't exactly a problem - Lake Como isn't particularly somewhere you can stay out clubbing until 3am.
I noted that there was a comment about road noise. We were in a lake view room, on the first floor next to the road, and there was no problems with road noise. The only thing we noticed was a siren, and you can be disturbed by sirens at home so not really an issue. It certainly isn't a "highway" - there is one lane in each direction, which is a windy road along the lake, certainly not a place for speed or a build up of lots of cars!
The hotel is in a fabulous location with lovely views across the lake to Bellagio. Menaggio and Lenno are both within a 10 minute drive, and the car & passenger ferries from Tremezzo offers transport links to Como, Bellagio, Varenna, Lenno etc.
Tremezzo is a lovely little town, with a selection of nice restaurants and amenities. Villa Carlotta is well worth a visit, and is just a short walk from the hotel.
Over our whole 2500 mile road trip, our 3 night stay in Hotel Villa Marie was definitely the most enjoyable part. We are now considering staying here for our Honeymoon. There is a beautiful roof terrace, private pool, excellent transport links and such a friendly service. Wifi is also available for a one off charge of €3 and is then usable for the duration of your stay, a bargain compared to most hotels. An absolute gem on the shores of Lake Como, highly recommended! We had a wonderful stay, and very much look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.7 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marie

Property: Hotel Villa Marie
Address: Via Antica Regina 30, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nineteenth century villa in Tremezzo turned into a comfortable and charming family-run hotel, that offers warm drawing-rooms in liberty style with big windows and ancient frescoes, bedrooms with every comfort, garden with lake view swimming-pool, panoramic wi-fi terrace, bar, private parking and garage, boat-moorage on request. The Villa Marie is an delightful friendly hotel set in a enchanting schenary in the gulf of Venus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marie Hotel Tremezzo
Hotel Villa Marie Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing