We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Break from the Chains”
Review of Hotel Villa Marie

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Marie
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A Nice Break from the Chains”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Who: My wife and I (mid 30s)
When: May 9-12, 2013
Why "Very Good" Rating:

-Charming hotel; it's like stepping back in time as you climb the main marble staircase (no elevator; take note if you are carrying refrigerator size suitcases like we were). They also ask you to leave your key at the front desk (yes an actual key, no card here) each time you leave; but they won't yell at you if you forget, like I did :)
-Friendly Family Staff; so pleasant, accommodating and hard working
-Magnificent Room (see photos); stayed in the Red Room Suite, highly recommended. No balcony but four large windows (2 with full view of Lake; other 2 partial views)
-Outdoor Terrace; very nice place to have breakfast or a Aperol Spritz
-Delicious fruit filled croissants and various coffee options (espresso, latte, etc)
-Free wifi (although a bit spotty in our room; but worked great in lobby and outside terrace)
-Short walk (on some cobblestone and tight sidewalks) from Tremezzo port. Exit boat ramp and turn LEFT. Also, very short walk to other restaurants and a beautiful park on the lake.
-Last but not least, excellent VALUE for such a great property with amazing views

Ways Rating Could Have Improved:
-Although croissants & coffe were delicious; the overall breakfast spread was so-so. There are no hot entrees so be prepared if you come looking for that. Mainly European spread, meats, cheeses, boiled eggs and fruits.
-Hotel has beautiful balcony located on top of hotel. It is accessible via the steps but there is really nothing there. Some chairs or a table would make that a beautiful place to enjoy a glass of wine.
-Boosting WiFi signal for the Red Room Suite. But not a big deal, vacation should be a time to unplug anyway
-Just a suggestion here, but a shuttle service from the port would be a nice touch; as the walk with suitcases is a bit challenging.

One particular example of their commitment to guests took place on a not exactly pool weather day. I had decided to take advantage of some sun by the pool as did another couple and I noticed the owner quickly, placing cushions on all the chairs making it look more inviting. Nice touch. Now this may happen at other hotels but it was really something to see the owner himself carrying out the task.

Overall, VERY pleasant stay. It was so nice to take a break away from our normal habit of staying in the chain hotels (SPGs mainly) and stay somewhere where the owners have full investment in the property. They have worked very hard and are proud to have taken this property to its current 3-Star rating. I can see more stars in their future.

Tremezzo, is a great central location on Lake Como and I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Villa Marie if you are choosing this town.

Room Tip: The Red Room Suite is magnificent with two large windows overlooking the lake and a beautiful crysta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    97
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
49
220
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Villa Marie is a lovely warm family run hotel in a stunning location with picture postcard views. It is positioned just a short walk from the ferries which service all the other pretty towns. Also it is a nice walk to the 2 best Villas in Como which are Villa Carlotta and Villa del Balbianello. We stayed in the Annexe which was very spacious and comfortable and would happily book here again. The only negative is the free breakfast which lacks fresh fruit salad and toast and there is no cooked breakfast. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for one week, booked as a package deal through Thomson. This is a beautiful building and we received a warm welcome from the owners.
The accommodation is pretty basic and initially we were disappointed that we didn't have a lakeside room, but I think we were probably better positioned facing the gardens as there is a main road that runs pass the hotel which was busy at times. The garden facing room was very peaceful.
The breakfast can be enjoyed either indoors or on the terrace. Though very basic, there is enough variety for a good start to the day.
I must compliment the owners as they were always attentive to our needs and offered advice if requested. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
This Hotel is placed just a short stroll from the centre of Tremezzo and has wonderful views of the lake out towards Villa Balbianello. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel on our way from Norway to the french riviera driving in august 2012. Arrived late at night. Welcomed by friendly owners. Got a wonderful (old-fashioned) room with a small balcony (wonderful view both at night and day) and a big lovely bath. Had a glass of wine on the front terrace before we went to bed. Slept like babies :)

Woke up in the morning, went to the bathroom, opened the windows and wow, the view :)

Breakfast ok.

Great place :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We travelled with Thompson on a package deal. The hotel is in a great location. Near to ferry the terminal and the whole of the lake is accessible. They offer b & b with light lunches but not dinner which is fine as lots of good reasonably priced restaurants in walking distance. The couple who run this hotel are true professionals. Nothing is too much trouble and they have created a very warm and friendly atmosphere. It's a family affair and the children are often around. Breakfast is buffet style and there is a huge choice. They have a lovely terrace where you can take breakfast and its shaded. The pool and garden were immaculate with literally not a flower out of place! Coming back after eating in the evening Andreas was always there with the offer of drinks or coffee. This is a hotel that's relaxed and warm with a certain elegance and style though it hasn't been done over! As always the people and service are what make this hotel so special!

Room Tip: We had a standard room at the back. No view but quiet. The newish rooms by the pool looked quite goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We got he warmest welcome from proprietors Elisabetta and Andrea. We booked direct with them as the hotel sites were saying no availability. I contacted them by phone from the UK and arranged everything by email - simple and hassle-free.

The hotel is gorgeous - it used to be the summer house of a wealthy church priest and the old part of the house has been painstakingly refurbished. We chose the annex, for the AC but we didn't need it in September. These rooms are smart, modern and well equipped.

We had continental breakfast on the terrace every morning and there was a fine selection, with eggs made to order. Service is impeccable. They have a small bar for evenings that Andrea covers and gives you ideas of things to see and do. It's a real family place, sometimes the children are doing their homework in the dining room!

The hotel is in a fabulous location, with a small marina directly outside. A short walk to the ferry points and a good variety of restaurants. We did the scenic walk which takes you above the village to Mezzegra and into Lenno, truly stunning. Enno is where you catch the boat service to the Villa Balbianello, the most famous and photograhed villa on the lake.

We caught the bus from Como, it should have got th Hydrofoil, it would have been much quicker and more exciting!

There's loads to see and do - pack a big disc for your camera as you'll take loads of pictures. Be sure to go to the top of the tower and watch the sun go down with a glass of Prosecco!

We loved it and would heartily recommend it to you.

Stayed September 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here over Easter of last year. The hosts were very gracious, friendly, and welcoming. They opened the hotel for the season a day earlier to accommodate our booking, and set out a full breakfast buffet for us in the morning even though we were the only guests. The location was beautiful, and we weren't very bothered by the highway noise. It's a short walk from the ferry and bus stations. The building is beautiful - the only downside for us was the slightly uncomfortable, old bed, that didn't properly fit the wooden bed frame. If they upgraded the beds, we would definitely give it a 5. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marie

Property: Hotel Villa Marie
Address: Via Antica Regina 30, 22016 Tremezzina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nineteenth century villa in Tremezzo turned into a comfortable and charming family-run hotel, that offers warm drawing-rooms in liberty style with big windows and ancient frescoes, bedrooms with every comfort, garden with lake view swimming-pool, panoramic wi-fi terrace, bar, private parking and garage, boat-moorage on request. The Villa Marie is an delightful friendly hotel set in a enchanting schenary in the gulf of Venus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marie Hotel Tremezzo
Hotel Villa Marie Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing