We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, real and simple Italian”
Review of Trattoria Rana

Trattoria Rana
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Locale tipico con antipasti di salumi e formaggi nostrani e pesce di lago in carpione..Primi piatti con specialita polenta uncia e pizzocheri e pasta e gnocchi fatti in casa...Secondi piatti a base di brasati,coniglio e carni miste..Poi abbiamo il zincarlin come formaggio tipico della zona e dolci fatti in casa...Il tutto accompagnato da una stupenda vista sul lago...
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic, real and simple Italian”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went with a group of 4 Australians like us we met at hotel Villa Marie. The pizzocheri and rabbit were to die for. Simple, real authentic Italian. Everything is home made inc. the pasta inc. the buck wheat pasta for the pizzocheri. Eat here and see real authentic northern Italian food minus the cheap beer and ever present pizza margherita. Fabrizio and Roberto and their mum who run the teattotia are real artigiani. Mille grazie. John and Donna

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thejman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    117
    24
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Down home Italian cooking restaurant near hotel.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice trattoria very close to Hotel La Perla. Good and simple dishes. Pretty view from the terrace. Menu is simple but good. Cheap eats.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyFirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merate, Italia
1 review
“Stupenda vista, cibo ottimo! Beautiful view, excellent food!!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We found this restaurant accidentally and were surprised about quality of food and amazing view!
Dished home-made and products not only local, but grown in their garden!!!
We ate Pizzocheri as a first dish, then as a second we took roasted chicken. Main dishes were delicious, but not as a homemade Panna cotta!!!! Absolutely out of this planet!!!! If you ever gonna pass by Rana, it is MUST to try!
Rana become my favorite restaurant on Como lake!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inga26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Cuisine in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

While staying at Hotel La Perla this wonderful restaurant was suggested to us. Spectacular view of Lake Como in a charming setting. We went twice during our stay in Tremezzo and the owner treated us like guests. The food is very authentic and homemade, the wine is served in jugs and the ‘wine glass’ is really a cup, so Italian we loved it! This is where the locals go to gather and the lucky vacationers like us get to dine. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
187 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A great trattoria with honest, local food and ... what a view!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Trattoria Rana is located up the hills in Tremezzo and offers a fabulous view on Lake Como. It's a trattoria as there exist many in Italy: you would hesitate as tourist to enter, but that's the biggest mistake you can make. Try to get a table on the small balcony and just enjoy the nice, local food the trattoria offers.
We had a pasta al pesto and a local fish dish as starter. Both very tasteful dishes. My wife and both took the rabbit (coniglio) as main dish. We did not regret it: an excellent dish. As dessert we took a semi-freddo and a pana cotta. Once again: no big magic, but an honest, no-nonsense, tasteful Italian dolce.
The waiter is a nice chap who looks very well after you and tries to explain what you get on your plate. He even unvealed all ingredients his brother uses for the dishes. Like the good Italian tradition prescribes,we were even offered a liquor to finish our dinner.
No need to say that also the bill is honest: we paid €55 for our dinner.
Conclusion: if you're not looking for an exquisite dinner, but only want a good, decent meal in a local restaurant: do not hesitate, this is a good address!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik_Tervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Rana also viewed

Tremezzina, Lake Como
Tremezzina, Lake Como
 

Been to Trattoria Rana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing