We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and service in need of a serious redo. Not recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Bazzoni early afternoon for a three-nights stay. The reception was very cold, even icy. No smile, no welcome, just straight-faced business; I had the impression that we were intruding on the reception's day. We were somewhat rudely given our room key, and then told that we had to carry our bags up a short flight of stairs to get to the one-and-only elevator for that entire part of the hotel. After lugging our bags up the stairs, we waited about ten minutes for the elevator which operated as if it needed serious repair. Most of the time, throughout the remainder of our stay, we preferred to go up and down three flights of stairs to and from our room rather than wait for the elevator.

The room itself was not only ordinary, but looked very tired. Nonetheless, the entire room was clean and the beds were OK. The washroom was dreadfully wanting of more modern equipment and service items. No vanity; no facial tissue; a hair dryer which barely worked; the shower, because of its location in the tub, was literally dangerous to use.

It was a bit noisy because of the traffic which continued well after midnight, but eventually subsided.

The only saving graces were the balcony which gave us a very nice view of lake Como, and the hotel's location which was practically across the street from the boat station to go to Bellagio (a highly recommended visit, but wear good walking shoes with cushioned soles as most sidewalks and stairs are made of cemented protruding stones).

Breakfast (included) was plentiful and very good. The dinner menu showed nothing of interest to us, so we ate at nearby restaurants.

The entire hotel has a definite tired look and is in serious need of repairs and redecorations - the reception area, the lobby, the elevator, the hallways and the rooms. And the service personnel, particularly the reception, needs training and should take smiling lessons.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ren_N91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 638 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in the Hotel Bazzoni for 4 nights in September. The hotel provides magnificent views of Lake Como [you would have to experience to appreciate], provided of course you have a room which overlooks the lake. However be warned front rooms are subject to noise from early morning as traffic passes immediately in front of the hotel.
Breakfast & evening meals were buffet style and about adequate. The decor is very retro [some might say fatigued] but funnily attractive. The lift is a bit rickety and certainly requires modernisation. Our room was very basic but had the lake view made up for this.
Other than the lake view, another great plus is that the hotel is located [100mts] directly beside where the Ferry/Hydrofoil/ Catamaran landing stage is located and is also close to the bus stop.
In summary this hotel is certainly 3*** only but provides a great location for exploring Lake Como. If you want opulence and grandeur then stay up the road in the 5 *****Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TOPS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We travelled with Ingham's on a last minute break and stayed at the Bazzoni enf of July/early August 2012. Absolutely fabulous, brillliant food (not everyone needs or wants a fully cooked English breakfast - after all this is Italy) especially the varied starters in the evening and the pasta meals were great. Our lakeside room was spacious, with a recently modernised and well appointed shower. There were comfortable beds, efficient cleaners and friendly staff throughout. When I mentioned that a light bulb had gone the repair man was on his way within 5 minutes! The all inclusive drinks were of reasonable quality, especially the lager. This was a real value for money deal in a great location. The outdoor seating area was very inviting,All our outings, booked through Inghams were great, particularly the trip via Swiss mountain railways past glaciers to St Moritz.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here with my wife on a Travel Department holiday for one week in mid- October. We also stayed here on a similar holiday several years ago, and returned as we enjoy the spectacular lake and mountain scenery from our lakeview room, but that`s about as good as it gets at Hotel Bazzoni. Nothing has improved for the better since our previous visit..Our bedroom was quite compact, and serviced daily by the maids, who didn`t attend a lot to dusting or cleaning the floor. The buffet meals were adequate, but apart from the small selection of hot food, everything was so predictable and boring. l dont believe the desserts varied at all from evening to evening. The dining-room staff however, we found to be helpful and attentive, which was more that could be said for the receptionists, especially the male who either was a trainee, or just plain aloof, and generally didn`t wish to be disturbed when assistance was sought. The main road is very busy, and noise levels high from about 5am onwards. Soundproofing is not evident in any of the rooms. Closing the window shutters is a waste of time. Also great care must be taken crossing the road at the front of the Hotel, as the Italian motorists don`t really recognise zebra-crossings! On a final positive note, the convenience to bus stops and boat landing stage was excellent, but something needs to be done to rescue this tired and shabby Hotel.

Room Tip: Great views from front facing rooms, but be prepared for traffic noise. Rear rooms are much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is set in the perfect location views across the lake from our bedroom windows were spectacular, the ferry is just across the road and plenty of dining places stretched along the sounding area.
The staff extremely helpfull, food good with a nice selection available for every meal, in buffet style, i
We soon learnt what times to take our meals as some tourists were very assertive (pushy) and would not que, that sorted it was an enjoyable experience.
Whilst the hotels furnishings were a little tired, it did not take away from the charm of this old building.The bedrooms quite large with a small shower were adequate and nice and clean.
Did not hear anyone with a complaint all through the holiday with " Just You".
One of the guests had a special birthday while we were there, the chefs and waiters came out with a large cake and sang to this lady it certainly made her holiday.
I would recomend this hotel as a three star.

Room Tip: preferably overlooking Lake Como the view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amusedDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a week's holiday here in July. The location should be ideal - looking out on the lake and surrounding mountains but as the hotel is separated from these wonderful sights by the main road there is the constant roar of traffic. Sitting out for a coffee/drink in the afternoon is deafening. Staff didn't smile as a rule so I just didn't approach them for anything (which might have been the plan). Rooms very basic and beds had basic mattresses. Air con couldn't be reduced below mid 20 degrees which meant moving bed closer each night to air con vent to have a hope of sleeping. Thankfully we were out most days and only back in evenings. Dinner was a lottery - some courses ok some not. Found the pool eventually at the back of the hotel on the roof terrace of an extension. Ran from it. Not clean., not comfortable and all sorts of flies buzzing around. All in all won't be back and wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazza1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Managed to find a superb value for money deal with Inghams with a one weeks stay at the Hotel Bazzoni in Tremezzo Lago di Como, Italy.
Upon such an offer I Google'd said hotel and discovered a trip advisor page with many 'un-favourable' reviews. Reading between the lines of such views such as; 'how tired the hotel looked from the outside' (don't care, on the inside looking out I thought), I thankfully chose NOT to read too much into these and took my wife for our 27th Wedding Anniversary there.
I could write pages and pages of how good our one weeks visit was and just how fantastic the hotel and all staff were too.

I will mention that the room I had was fantastic and lake views simply stunning, across to Bellagio. Location just about the ultimate location upon the entire lake! Tremezzo is lovely and has two ferry terminals, one right outside the hotel. Bus stops right outside the hotel also and tickets available from the little butchers shop next door and at such cheap prices to most destinations around the lake. Want to go further afield? Travel to Como and at the lakeside terminal the train station is less than 20 yards. We went to Milan from here just 1 hour on the train, with the Duomo, the most stunning cathedral you are ever likely to see. Travel to Menaggio just four miles west and pick up connecting buses at the station to Lugano alongside the lake into Switzerland.
What can I say about the food: Every morning a stunning array of hot and cold breakfast choice. 4 long tables of it to be precise. I you don't find something you love your not normal. Evening meals are just excellent and all in a superb huge dining area with stunning views of the lake to three sides.
Now, let me put my picky trip advisor hat on and look to pick holes:
Well, the music entertainment was not to our taste. Early Piano style jazz. Look close at some of the internal decor' and you could say it needs a little work however it was the end of the season when we went and this is all currently being done 'bit by bit' by the new owners.
Value for money this 3 star hotel affords 5 star value. All we can say is that we loved it, the staff and the location were superb, we could not thank Inghams (their rep Ghislaine) and the hotel staff (be that reception, chefs, waiting staff and house maids) enough for making such a wonderful holiday for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 501Johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,095 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
849 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac

Address: Via Regina Lenno 26, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range: $99 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bazzoni Et Du Lac Hotel
Hotel Bazzoni Et Du Lac Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing