We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Approaching Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

When it comes to hotels, it's generally true that "you get what you pay for." Our family's experience at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo was absolutely wonderful, worth every penny (I don't use that phrase often) of the $$$$ bill.
While nearly all of Lake Como is picturesque, the hotel's location provides gorgeous views of the lake itself as well as several beautiful towns including Bellagio. It's convenient to several nice restaurants & shops within 5-15 minute walk, as well as motorboat rental which I highly recommend as the best way to enjoy the water for a family.
I thoroughly enjoyed the high-end European buffet breakfast while my wife & kids slept. I cannot recommend their restaurant for dinner due to limited menu & being overpriced for quality. However, the bar experience was thoroughly enjoyable for my wife & me, while the children loved the garden where pizza is served daily.
The highlight of the Tremezzo was the service. Every member of the staff was courteous & helpful; would take several of them home with me if I could've!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrickmaguiremd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

To All, make sure you only go for the place, the great view, rooms, service, location, tradition and the like, but run away from the terrazza restaurant, rip off, over priced, probably shaped and sold for americans and japanese (sorry for them), but for this kind of price, overcooked fish, rigatoni from the box sold as maceroni, overcooked fish, salty sauce (I know it helps save poor taste), only service and view saves the lot.........just prefer the pizza around the corner and save the the show off not worth a penny.......unless the view is worth the bill.

Room Tip: stay there but don't eat there.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loloDLagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Grand Hotel Tremezzo is all that everyone says and MORE... This is a 5 star hotel and worth every penny. The hotel is simply beautiful, the grounds, pools, dining, etc..
It was such an exceptional experience because of the service we received!! Every single staff member treated us like family and they were so wonderful, friendly and kind.
Our two weeks in Italy.. this by far, was our favorite place to stay!
We will be coming back again and again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieclaire628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is perfection. Classic European charm. As we pulled up, I was a bit worried that it was so close to the road, but after taking the elevator up to the main floor, I forgot all about it. You are immediately whisked away into another world when you board the elevator up to the main portion of the property. The grounds and gardens are magnificent. The food is superb. Breakfast is served on the patio overlooking Lake Como which is absolutely breathtaking. The rooms are small based upon American standards, but large based upon European standards. Definitely be sure to get a room with a balcony overlooking the Lake. It feels like a scene out of a movie waking up, pushing open the grand doors and being kissed by the sun while gazing at the view. It is extraordinary. The location is quite, but that is much of the case outside of Bellagio in this area. We were able to walk along the water and visit some small shops and restaurants, but there is not much on this side of the lake. It is peaceful and quite. The floating pool is also a treat!

The ferry to Bellagio is quite close and the trip is about 15 minutes. It is just across the lake. Bellagio is where you will want to do much of your shopping (silk is the thing to buy here).

The service is exactly what you would expect from a first class hotel. Everyone was exceptionally attentive and focused on customer service.

I hope to someday be lucky enough to come back to this property.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake. It is completely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassyTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Lake Como is an attraction site to visit in Italy, and if you want to enjoy a relaxing atmosphere and the beauty of nature, this hotel will be definitely your choice. It is a luxurious hotel directly over the lake, with wonderful gardens and facilities. Me and my friend had decided to stay in the prestige room with the lake view for a couple of nights. The room was nice, decorated with care, although it was not as spacious as expected, and with a small balcony overlooking the lake and beautiful mountains. Bathroom was good size, with bathtub and marble floor and walls. Free high speed wifi was available and free of charge, and the service was excellent. Staff were friendly and breakfast was variable and wonderful in location. Overall, it was a wonderful hotel, despite its overprice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctorfatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I am the type of person who is quick to mention when things aren't "quite right" despite my (now) husbands very sweet and polite disposition. I do it in an articulate polite way of course. The only criticism I have of my time at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo is that it has spoiled me for any other holiday or hotel..... ever! It could not have been more amazing. And while, yes we were honeymooners, I saw the same care and attention paid to every other guest in that place. We will go back without a doubt, and even my incredibly well traveled husband said he's never been anywhere quite like it (in a good way), The reception staff, the spa staff, the maids, the beach bar staff, the garden staff, and the hilariously funny restaurant staff (if you dare just have a bit of a laugh with them and don't be so stuffy, they make it so fun!) We were there for 4 nights an were known by name by night 2. I slept like a baby in the beautifully comfortable bed! The fact that a famous footballer an his beautiful lady dined near us each night made me think "Well if it's good enough for them......"
It's not cheap, but if you are looking for a once in a lifetime trip, please do NOT overlook this place. One word to sum it up, bar, the best place I've ever stayed? Spectacular! I'd raher save up and do this oce every few years than go anywhere else in the world!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view room (not that the garden view isn't beautiful) but the sun shines on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CiaoBella1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Oh my, what a treat I have just had......Lunch at The Grand Hotel Tremezzo!. The Building was superb, the Staff were Excellant, The Location..was out of this world, and of course the Food..Wow !!.
We were only there for lunch but they let us leave our car in the car park whilst we poppped over to Bellagio on the Ferry..and were throughly helpful!!
All in All an experience to remember!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IkkunaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
472 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tremezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tremezzo

Address: Via Regina 8, 22016, Tremezzina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tremezzina
Price Range: $513 - $1,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Tremezzo 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be part of the next century of Lake Como tradition and take in the stunning lake views at the iconic Grand Hotel Tremezzo. This art nouveau landmark, which sits adjacent to Villa Carlotta's famed gardens, just marked its 100th anniversary. In celebration, it joined forces with Maestro Gualtiero Marchesi, an icon of the Italian culinary world; taste his haute cuisine on La Terrazza's lovely terrace or in one of its 5 upscale dining venues. Its unique lakeside positioning offers unparalleled views of Bellagio, the Riviera delle Azalee and the stunning Grigne mountains. With its 100 windows overlooking either the blue waters of the lake or the flowering greenery of the garden, the hotel offers 76 elegant rooms and 12 splendid suites. Don't miss to experience the ultra-luxe new Rooftop Suites with panoramic views from terraces and outdoor Jacuzzis - A "must stay" in Lake Como. Other delectable delights: the luxurious and panoramic T Spa, offering exclusive ESPA treatments, the super private T Spa Suite, three pools - including one that floats on the lake! - And a private beach, private tours in the hotel's period Venetian motor launch, and over 5 acres of lush secular park incorporating a panoramic path, a floodlit clay tennis court, fitness and sauna. Other signature features conjure up to the unique appeal of this family-owned property, benefiting of a strategic location that blends exclusivity and proximity: Milan with its boutiques and nightlife is only 1-hour driving distance. Boasting over a century of ageless allure and traditions, the Grand Hotel Tremezzo is today a vintage symbol of Italian hospitality and a place-to-be to enjoy the flavor of real vacation. Discover a world of temptations and the unique atmosphere you'll only find at Tremezzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Tremezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace
Grand Hotel Tremezzo Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing