We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Azalea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Azalea
Ranked #4 of 4 Tremezzina B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
627 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We dined here during our recent holiday in Tremezzo. The restaurant provides a very comfortable setting on the lake front. The food was extremely tasty but the wine was pricier than other restaurants close by. The staff were very helpful and provided a great service and there was a good atmosphere the evening we dined there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahOB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but did dine at the restaurant one evening whnile staying elsewhere in Tremezzo. The restaurant is one of several on the lakefront road, and we chose this one because it is glass enclosed and we could stay out of the rain! Food was fine..good service, p;ricing was in line with other Tremezzo restaurants, but they do add a 2 euro cop;erto (cover charge) pp which is a rip-off in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salesproSanDiego_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Azalea for 5 nights in August 2012. We were on a bit of a tight budget, and booked a room here as it was one of the cheapest we could find round the mid-lake area. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised! Although not luxury, the hotel had absolutely everything we needed. Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was great. The location is ideal - very close to the ferry stop to access other towns on the lake, also right next to the bus stop. Getting everywhere we wanted (and back) was very easy. Just a stroll down the road is a beautiful park with access to the lake for swimming, having no pool at the hotel was not a problem at all. The staff were always friendly and helpful. We ate one evening meal at the hotel restaurant, on the balcony over the lake. What an ideal setting!! And the food was absolutely amazing - that WAS luxury, but at a reasonable price. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Azalea again, and if you're looking for value for money this is definitely the place for you! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights the begininng of Sept. Very nice people. Room was fine. Breakfast was great hot chocolate, have, salami, cheese plus egg and all kinds of juice. Nice smaller town to stay in. They are right on the water

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but ate at the restaurant and it was stupendous.
The staff was very friendly, the food was absolutely was delicious and the price was excellent for the quality.
We had spinach gnocci for an appetizer and it was very creamy, fresh made and delicious. I had the fresh catch of the day grilled which was light, perfectly seasoned and excellent. My husband had local rabbit which he rated as the best rabbit he has eaten (he often orders rabbit when eating out). We were staying at the Grand Hotel in Tremezzo and this restaurant was the best meal during our entire stay.
Would definitely recommend eating here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsmks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Listen, check out my near 30 reviews and you'll see that I am very stingy with my 5 star ratings. Also, know that you don't need to be eating at French Laundry for a place to be deserving of 5 stars. There are plenty of places like Azalea that warrant the highest rating because their food is good, the prices are good and people are humble and kind. This was our favorite lunch during our 2 week stay in Italy, and, this was our last lunch in Italy, so, by the time I ate here, I had already experienced 13 other lunches in many parts of the country. The settting by the water is excellent, but, candidly, on Lake Como, there are many places offering you similar views. The thing that made this 5 stars for us was the Chicken (pollo) salad they had available on the menu - it was a very welcome change for us because we just hadn't seen something like this on the menu in other places. Also, the pizza (I think it was the Azalea) was very well prepared. The german beer they had was sa-wheat and the prices were on the money as was the service. The simple oil and red wine vinegar dressing for the salad, although basic, made it taste so damn great that i've been replicating it at home now. We walked outta there in an hour and spent less than 20 E and were more than satisfied. It's just outside Hotel Tremezzo and a place I would highly recommend. Remember, they have 2 outdoor seating areas - the one we sat at was on the other side of the street, right on the water. Please enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wong561hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for a weekend on a budget and it was great for what we needed. Great location and friendly staff. The rooms aren't much to write home about, very basic and not very modern but they were cheap for the area and that was what we were after for that trip!

The restaurant downstairs is fantastic. Best pizza I have tried on the lake, would highly recommend eating here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremezzina
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
#6 of 8 in Tremezzina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azalea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azalea

Property: Hotel Azalea
Address: Via Portici San Pietro 1, 22019 Tremezzina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Tremezzina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tremezzina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azalea 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Azalea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azalea Tremezzina, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing