We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local gem”

Bar Gelateria Helvetia
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Tremezzina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Brunswick, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A local gem”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a really friendly bar and restaurant in the heart of Tremezzo right on the water. A great place to have an afternoon drink or dinner latter in the evening, or of you are like us...both.
Friendly service and an extensive menu that covered all the local bases.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    80
    30
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food - fabulous atmosphere”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Had a delicious meal here.- the trout was recommended by the manager and it was fab!!! Please ignore any reviews posted that the manager is like Basil Fawlty - we found him charming and he encouraged our attempts to speak with him in Italian - overall excellent food at a reasonable price

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolUK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I popped in for lunch one day, and we were so impressed with the service, the food and the price, we made it a priority to go back for a full evening meal.

The spinach and ricotta cannelloni is spot on, bruschetta is massive and very tasty (very fresh).

Bresaola with lemon and oil to start, followed by veal was my choice, and a great one. Lovely.

The owner is a nice guy, if you talk to him, he will talk to you, but remember he is running a business and he is working hard too, so may not be able to chat away all evening (as some previous reviewers seemed to want).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hospitality at it's best...”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We (two couples) visited this restaurant on our last evening, from the moment we walked in we knew it was going to be a good night. We were made to feel very, very welcome and felt very relaxed and comfortable within minutes. The food was very good as was the wine we would not hesitate to go back and would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Thank You Alfredo”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great food and good service. Great selection on the menu and great wines. Alfredo the owner and his father will take good care of you.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Gelateria Helvetia also viewed

Tremezzina, Lake Como
 
Tremezzina, Lake Como
 

Been to Bar Gelateria Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing