We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet comfortable 6-night retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holidays Fico d'India
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet comfortable 6-night retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is the place to stay on the Amalfi Coast if you prefer good value, a quiet retreat from the busy tourist towns, don’t mind driving the hairpin roads (or walking to catch the bus), and love Limoncello (best ever and made by Pino's mamma with home-grown lemons). We loved the terraces, family garden; the patio was a great place to take in views, have conversation and a drink. Room and property has lovely views and is a short walk away from a gorgeous (600 step) stone path to the sea. Had a comfortable bed, though shower was the tiniest we've ever seen and had to wait forever for warm water. I thought the continental breakfast choices were acceptable, spouse did not. We were not impressed with local seafood specialties, especially the octopus and squid dishes. Wife got sick after first meal (suspected food poisoning, possibly from marinated anchovies?) while she was convinced it was the Totani e Patate. However, pharmacist at nearby Pharmacia made it all better. My most memorable and enjoyable meal was the Spaghetti Aglio e Olio ordered "off-menu" on our last night. Restaurant hostess, Antonia, was very pleasant and service oriented. As others noted, Pino was indeed a great host! He was very friendly, made me smile ever time he called me "Michele", generously shared his mamma's limoncello recipe (the local lemons make it special), and was genuinely concerned about making our stay on the Amalfi Coast comfortable and memorable. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this B&B to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    63
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
102
352
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Pino is very friendly, alwais present, beautiful place, big bedroom, at breackfast better croissant we eat in our life and a delicious "torta caprese". Sun, sea, moon expectaculars !!! Natural masterpiece !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gino_franciosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Honestly, this one of the best stays ever. Pino is just the most amazing host and I couldn't agree more that it's simply the best stay I've ever had. It was definitely like being in paradise with the views in the morning being stunning sea views and the location just perfectly situated between Amalfi & Positano.

Pino's food was fabulous with the fresh seafood best to none (oh the octopus) and pasta/lasagne spot on. The tomatoes on the first day were so good, really what you expected of Italy. Avoid the risotto though, not so good. I would also recommend that the sachets of olive oil and vinegar be replaced with bottles, a bit tacky.

The room was good and basic, no frills but works. The shower was a bit small and lots of gizmos to keep your entertained. TV had lots of channels you wouldn't watch, many didn't work.

Overall, this is the best stay I've ever had and would highly recommend. I would definitely return and I miss Pino to this day - Pino is the sort of guy who should be in hospitality for all the right reasons. Right on Pino Fantastico :)

Room Tip: Make sure you get the sea view - I think most are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londres_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nuestra estadia de 3 noches en Fico d’ India ha sido excelente. Todo muy bien.El comedor restaurant donde se desayuna es espectacular, y el desayuno italiano muy bueno. Como lo indican todos los que han estado en este Albergo, todo estaba muy prolijo y muy limpio. El lugar es muy bello, las vistas muy hermosas.
La Costa Malfitana muy recommendable e imperdible, los caminos muy panoramicos, a cada curva un Nuevo panorama del mar o de la Montana, Amalfi, Ravello, Positano, todas maravillosas.
Pino es el anfitrion perfecto, muy amable y colaborador. Nos hizo sentir como en casa. Gracias Pino, ci vediamo la prossima volta. Recomendamos sinceramente este lugar.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

we spent 7nights at pino's place with his lovely family. the hotel is charming, the room was big, beautifull, convenient, with amazing sea view. the service was great pino was willing to help with everything, tonia in the restorant was charming and helpfull. more than a month has passed and we can't forget the superb vacation we had. ialmost forgot to mention the great breakfat and we ate also 4 dinnrs that were delicious. we will defenetly come back

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Thanks, Pino, for all! Wonderful food, best rooms. Seven happyful days! Can say nothing more than other says.

Room Tip: Chose rooms with balcony, it its available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaborsini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Pino and his family are the loveliest people and the best hosts I've ever experienced. The hotel, with basic but comfortable amenities were paired with stunning views, like being in Paradise.

Breakfasts were pastries, yoghurt, coffee, fruit and I highly recommend eating dinner there. Pino's father is the chef and cooks up beautiful, stunning seafood and pasta dishes.

I will not consider staying anywhere else if I was in the Amalfi area.

And definitely have a car.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furore
1.1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.0 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
1.8 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
#2 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidays Fico d'India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Fico d'India

Property: Holidays Fico d'India
Address: Via Aldo Moro, 2, 84010, Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holidays Fico d'India 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR KITCHEN Typical Amalfi cuisine Menus to choose between 3/1 and 3/2 Pasta and homemade desserts always provided Fish Celiac menus, vegans and vegetarians, panoramic dining room, extensive wine list, waiter service. Breakfast: donuts, pies and homemade cakes, biscuits, sweet pastries, cereals and muesli, honey and jam, Nutella, fruit salad, yogurt, cold cuts, ham, toast, omelettes, boiled or scrambled eggs, juice, coffee espresso and cappuccino, different types of tea. THE HOTEL AND ITS SERVICES For ceremonies Gym, Jacuzzi Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel Scooter in hotel, boat trips, private parking, shuttle service, bar, garden. Rooms (recently refurbished): balcony with sea view, air conditioning, hair dryer, terry towels, bathroom with shower, double glazing, mini bar, free wi-fi, telephone, family rooms, rooms for disabled, LCD TV, TV Satellite. WE FOR CHILDREN Meat and vegetable broths vegetable passed Pastine Fresh milk High chairs at the table, cots and sides Room, 5 TV channels for children and Satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holidays Fico d'India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Fico d`India / Prickly Pear Hotel Furore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing