We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best places we spent a vaction ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holidays Fico d'India
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 29, 2011

we spent 7nights at pino's place with his lovely family. the hotel is charming, the room was big, beautifull, convenient, with amazing sea view. the service was great pino was willing to help with everything, tonia in the restorant was charming and helpfull. more than a month has passed and we can't forget the superb vacation we had. ialmost forgot to mention the great breakfat and we ate also 4 dinnrs that were delicious. we will defenetly come back

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 612 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

Thanks, Pino, for all! Wonderful food, best rooms. Seven happyful days! Can say nothing more than other says.

Room Tip: Chose rooms with balcony, it its available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaborsini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Pino and his family are the loveliest people and the best hosts I've ever experienced. The hotel, with basic but comfortable amenities were paired with stunning views, like being in Paradise.

Breakfasts were pastries, yoghurt, coffee, fruit and I highly recommend eating dinner there. Pino's father is the chef and cooks up beautiful, stunning seafood and pasta dishes.

I will not consider staying anywhere else if I was in the Amalfi area.

And definitely have a car.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dobsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Its difficult to add to what all the reviews have said about this hotel, it deserves its reputation simply for the service - they really go the extra mile. One guest there asked where the bus-stop
was for Amalfi about 20 minutes away, he didn't just tell them where it was he took them all the way to their destination in his own car but this was the sort of thing they did several times every day. Whatever they could do to help they would.......
This is apart from the location and the views, the photos don't do justice to the breathtaking landscape. You can watch fishing boats, millionaires yachts, tankers, cruise ships and more travelling across the bay, or take a walk down to the bottom of the fjord where there are a few fishermans cottages and a little beach where you can swim, though its quite a climb back up the steps.
All the guests seemed so content and everybody ate at the hotel nearly every night in the restaurant. As my brother said you could easily spend a month relaxing there and taking little day trips to the many little towns and villages - including Amalfi and Positano, or some of the many breathtaking walks or boat trips to the islands of Capri or Ischia.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spudseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We spent 3 wonderful nights here, ate all 3 dinners at the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed every dinner! Thank you Pino, for the most friendly service. A genuine host who wants to make sure that his guests enjoy their Amalfi coast vacation, Pino provided valuable tips to discover the region, and always offered to drive us to the bus stop, even though it's just a 10 minute uphill walk that is no issue for active hikers.

Our spacious double room had a wonderful seaview and a balcony. Breakfast (fresh sliced fruits, joghurt, pastries, beyond usual breakfast items one gets in Italy) is served in the restaurant that has an amazing view of the sea.

All dishes we ordered for the dinners were very yummy - clams in white wine sauce with spaghetti, grilled prawns, grilled fish, home-made gnocchi, octopus, beef steak, mixed fried fish.... rounded up with a very deliciously fragrant home-made limoncello on the house.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alphacent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and loved it. Pino and his team (family) made our stay really special. The food was excellent, rooms comfy and view spectacular! A car helps as a way off the main Amalfi Road but you do need strong nerves to drive.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinfinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Pino has got to be one of the best hosts you are ever likely to find. He is charming and laid back but really cares about his guests and does everything he can to ensure you have a good stay. Our friends were celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary on our second day and when Pino discovered this he laid on a few very nice surprises.

Various members of Pino’s extended family work in or around the hotel, including the delightful Antonia, who looks after the restaurant at breakfast and dinner.

The hotel is right up in the hills near the hamlet of Furore. It’s very quiet at night and driving to it along the narrow twisting roads is challenging, whichever direction you approach from. There is a regular SITA bus from Amalfi (an experience in itself) but be aware that the last bus is at about 9pm from mid-September. We got caught out by the change in timetable but Pino very kindly came to the rescue and picked us up, something he seems always happy to do if you’re stuck or need to be somewhere at a particular time.

Our favourite places were Amalfi itself and Ravello in the hills behind it. The walk back down hundreds of steps from Ravello to Amalfi is fairly easy and very scenic – took us less than an hour starting from the steps near the entrance to Villa Cimbrone. Food and drink in the main square of Amalfi was quite expensive. We found a good place called Snack Bar La Piazzetta in the small square just behind the main one, where there is also a small supermarket. The bruschetta at La Piazzetta was very good and prices were more reasonable with no cover charge. A small, glass fronted bar (can’t remember the name) just before the tourist information centre was a good place for a beer with the locals. If you prefer natural features to tourist ones the Arco Naturale on Capri is quite dramatic, as is Herculaneum, which is much smaller and more “doable” in a few hours than the much larger Pompeii.

All in all Fico D’India is a wonderful oasis of calm at the end of a busy day on the Amalfi coast and has made us realize how much more pleasant it is to stay in a small, well-run family place than a large impersonal chain hotel.

Grazie mille Pino, Antonia and all the staff at Fico d'India.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tombrown59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furore
1.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
423 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,018 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
854 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidays Fico d'India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Fico d'India

Address: Via Aldo Moro 2, 84010, Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range: $92 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holidays Fico d'India 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR KITCHEN Typical Amalfi cuisine Menus to choose between 3/1 and 3/2 Pasta and homemade desserts always provided Fish Celiac menus, vegans and vegetarians, panoramic dining room, extensive wine list, waiter service. Breakfast: donuts, pies and homemade cakes, biscuits, sweet pastries, cereals and muesli, honey and jam, Nutella, fruit salad, yogurt, cold cuts, ham, toast, omelettes, boiled or scrambled eggs, juice, coffee espresso and cappuccino, different types of tea. THE HOTEL AND ITS SERVICES For ceremonies Gym, Jacuzzi Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel Scooter in hotel, boat trips, private parking, shuttle service, bar, garden. Rooms (recently refurbished): balcony with sea view, air conditioning, hair dryer, terry towels, bathroom with shower, double glazing, mini bar, free wi-fi, telephone, family rooms, rooms for disabled, LCD TV, TV Satellite. WE FOR CHILDREN Meat and vegetable broths vegetable passed Pastine Fresh milk High chairs at the table, cots and sides Room, 5 TV channels for children and Satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Holidays Fico d'India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidays Fico d`India / Prickly Pear Hotel Furore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing