We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Travel Decision We've Ever Made. Full Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serafina Agriturismo
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in September 2012. We viewed it as a way to keep frugal for a few days in our tour of the Amalfi Coast which was part of a larger trip to Italy. We left viewing it as the highlight of our entire stay. We left concluding that Domenic, the proprietor, is the richest man we've ever met in the sense that he lives the most enviable life. If you stay here, you get to live it too for a short time.

We are an early 30s couple, foodies, photographers, hikers, beach lovers & interested in learning about local culture, so that's what we're after when we're on vacation.

When we arrived we were met by Rosa, the proprietor's daughter. She speaks English so was immensely helpful to my husband & I who have only English and French. She had all kinds of books, pamphlets and tips for hiking trips and beach trips as well as visits to Ravello, Priano, Positano & Amalfi. If you stay in Furore, you are central to taking the Walk of the Gods (a MUST if you enjoy hiking or photography) visiting two amazing beaches and day trips to many of the towns along the coast.

The room would be best described as basic. Spotlessly clean & charming, roomier than many of our luxury hotels, rather spartan bathroom, INCREDIBLE view.

I can't type with enough enthusiasm to describe the food. When they ask you if you're going to return for dinner SAY YES. Everything you eat is from their farm. A course of antipasto that includes homemade cheese, proscuitto, 2 types of pickled vegetables and one night had anchovies with oil that I still dream about. A pasta course which for us usually had a tomato-based sauce that was unequalled our entire trip to Italy. A quick tour of their kitchen explains why as they show you where they store the tomatoes, press their own oil...everything is on site. Incredible. A main course that is usually ham or pork based (although they'll make accommodations ahead of time for special dietary requirements) One night we had BBQ mozzarella with olives and ham wrapped in lemon leaves. From the grove. Outside. It was amazing. Followed by limoncello or fennel liqueur that Domenic makes himself.

The hospitality of this family is just incredible. Their home is beautiful. Furore is off the beaten path & beautiful. It is a trip you will never forget and a price that will leave you bewildered with its value.

It is an expensive taxi from Positano. You would be better to plan your travel around the local bus and not just "wing it" hoping to catch a cab. Having said that, it costs a fortune to stay in crowded, kitschy Positano, so it's worth it to stay in Furore instead. As with everywhere on the Amalfi Coast, there is lots of walking and there are lots of stairs. Bring good shoes and go with a base level of fitness; you will have more fun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BridgetE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 193 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

The weather was utterly disgusting whilst we visited the almalfi coast but we were very fortunate to have found this gem.

Rosa, Domenico and their family made us feel so welcome and were very clearly proud of what they had acheived. On arrival, they showed us photos of previous guests from around the world that had stayed with them and also wrote glowing reviews. Their pride is entirely deserved.

The rooms are not luxurious but have everything you need. Do not come here if you are looking for superficial luxury, there are plenty of 5* posey hotels along the coast.

What made it though was the amazing food, all grown on their farmand tasted like nothing I'd ever eaten at home, the stunning view across their farm and the warmth of our hosts. We stayed up on the first night drinking their homemade limoncello, chatting to rosa and Domenico.

We didn't particular warm to the pretentiousness (or the weather!) of the Almafi Coast but this beautiful food, generous hospitality and charming farm made our trip to Italy,

Thanks very much

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiandswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This small agriturismo stuck at the end of a windy road on the Amalfi Coast near Furore is a delight. It is right among the hillside grape vines and is right on a main walking path that will take you down to the coast or up into the hills for more hiking. The owners are ever so obliging. There is plenty to eat at dinner and breakfast; the pasta dishes are wonderful. They make all their own food and I think the meats are from their own stock. Depending on what's in season, there may be repeats if you you stay for 3 or 4 days. The farm is a bit "off the track" and the road is very windy so that may not appeal to all, but if you can navigate a car on the Amalfi Coast you'll be rewarded with a farm stay that has a wonderful view down the hillside and out over the sea. The rooms are clean and tidy, each with a balcony. the owners have plenty of maps and information to help with your visit to the Amalfi. Serafina also makes a good place to stay if you plant to visit Pompeii, an easy one day trip going over the top rather than around the coastal road. The farm is situated half way along the coast so it's well placed to travel out to the various small towns. This is a working farm; there is plenty to photograph. There is local bus transport, but it falls short by about a kilometer from the farm. A car is best. I highly recommend Serafina.

Room Tip: Plan to arrive with a car; the roads are extremely curvy/narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doreenandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

After staying few days at the beautiful (and expensive) city of Amalfi, we decided to spend our next days of vacations at a farm (that we discovered on a Lonely planet guide). Our 3 days stay at Serafina was the most memorable days of our 2 weeks vacations in Italy. We were welcome like family by Domenico, Giuseppina and their two amazing and lovely daughters Rosa and Elena. Their traditional farming ways, their delicious homemade food and mostly hosting us with simplicity and such good heart, made our 3 days so inspiring, that we are still speaking about it ! The surroundings of the farm are perfect for walkers and nature lovers. Do not miss the walk to Positano via the Sentiero degli Dei. The beach is at 45 minutes walk through farmland and occasional sheep. If you are looking for a very authentic experience, you are not going to be deceived ! This is jewel that hopefully will not disappear to soon..(Ciao Rosa & Elena..Saluti ai vostri genitori ..Raimonda & Moïse)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rai_and_Moise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We were the only guests here the night we stayed in November. what a visit it was. Greeted by a very enthusiastic Rosa we were launched head first into a comprehensive tour of the house and farm, taking in the wine, oil, tomatoes, cheese and various animals around the place.
it was olive picking season so the family was out stripping the trees, later they all arrived back and divided their time between chatting to us and getting on with processing the olives.
Rosa prepared and cooked for us an amazing belly bursting meal, we had the farms wine too. Everything was home produce and so tasty cooked on the wood oven next to us.
the room with ensuite was spaceous enough, clean and thankfully lacking a TV. Bonus, it had a lovely scenic balcony.
do go and stay here, give yourself a few days to soak this family run treat in!
70eur for room and brekkie, 50eur for dinner for 2 with wine. Experience was priceless.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimoceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights at Serafina. We had such an incredible experience, we only wish we could have stayed longer. It is run by a family -- Domenico, Giuseppina and their two daughters, Rosa and Elena, and we felt like family by the time we left. Domenico was so passionate about the farm and what they produce, and he proudly showed us around when we arrived.

I had been studying Italian, but it was still fairly basic, but Rosa's English was very good and she was extremely helpful. Domenico also spoke English fairly well, but as soon as I spoke Italian to him, he continued to speak to me only in Italian. He was so patient and truly helped me gain my confidence when speaking.

Serafina is nestled in the mountains above the sea. The view is spectacular. The rooms were clean and basic, and like so many other reviewers mentioned, the food was delicious. Everything was simply prepared so that the home-grown and home-produced ingredients were the stars. Their farm produces so many different things, and we savored everything at our evening meal. I had to stop typing and run to the kitchen, make myself some toast, and spread some of their yummy lemon jam on it. Ummmm. Now I feel as if I'm back there (definitely take some home with you). At the end of dinner, Domenico would bring out three bottles -- limoncello, limoncrema, and a wonderful fennel liquor. I really miss those dinners.

We didn't have a car, but upon our arrival Domenico was kind enough to pick us up at the bus stop in Furore. The next day we hiked down the mountain to sea and spent a wonderful day swimming in the Mediterranean and relaxing on the beach. When we left, they even arranged for a private car to drive us to Salerno so we didn't have to stress about the bus connections. The driver was friendly, spoke English, and it was very reasonable. We both thought it was worth the extra expense.

They all work so very hard, from the moment they get up with all the farm chores and taking care of all the guests into the evening. They helped us understand the relationship of love between the land, food and family, and the incredible harvest that it brings. We don't have words to express how grateful we were to have the privilege to stay there and share their life for a few days. We miss you all and hope to be back soon. Love, Suzanne and Robert

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaolin1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found this destination on lonely planet and researched it on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We arrived from Naples taking a train to Salerno, then the Amalfi coast bus to Amalfi and switching to the Furore bus. Rosa, the oldest daughter and English-speaking spokesperson for the family told us her father would come and meet us in Furore.This was a relief as it was 9 pm and a fairly remote area. Domenico came and was very friendly. When we arrived we were ushered into the dining room and introduced to several other guests. We had a jug of wine and retired for the night. The room was clean and comfortable. The view from our balcony of the sea and the mountains was spectacular. We ate all of our meals here. The breakfasts were not our typical North American style, but they were very good. They consisted of homemade jam (the pear was our favourite) and cakes (which we smelled the night before) and bread. The dinners were excellent. It is like being invited to someone's home. They cook and serve you the treasures from their farm. Truly buonissimo! Rosa helps navigate you to the town of Amalfi daily and the only drawback to this location is the transportation. If you have a car and nerves of steel, great. If not, you are basically leaving for the 10 am bus out and the 6pm bus back. We really enjoyed the hospitality of this family, the breathtaking views, the wonderful food and the amazing Amalfi coast. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Furore hotels
0.9 mi away
Holidays Fico d'India
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#3 of 5 in Furore
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Locanda del Fiordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Agriturismo Sant'Alfonso
0.3 mi away
Le Marelle
Le Marelle
#2 of 21 in Furore
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casa del Melograno
La Casa del Melograno
#5 of 21 in Furore
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serafina Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serafina Agriturismo

Address: Via Picola 3 | Loc. Vigne, 84010, Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range: $95 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cordial and familiar atmosphere is the business card of Serafina farmhouse. You will find to receive you Domenico, the wife Giuseppina and the two daughters. They live all in Furore (Amalfi Coast) in the beautiful small farm transformed in farm holidays cured in the particular minimums. Every room with bath and shower, balcony, air-condition and fridge. The products: Lemons, red and with grapes, goats and cow cheese and typical tomatoes "a piennolo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Serafina Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing