We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ROMANTIC, AFFORDABLE DREAM on THE AMALFI COAST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Locanda del Fiordo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A ROMANTIC, AFFORDABLE DREAM on THE AMALFI COAST”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Locanda del Fiordo is a little gem of a hotel with rooms carved in the rocks and breathtaking views from the terraces. The decor is very typical of the area, and involves a lot of local ceramics (like in the nice outdoor tables) and pastel colors. Some of the rooms have even indoor and outdoor jacuzzis plus saunas, like the one I was in, "Suite Marisa", a large room with an outstanding terrace where , upon request (but with no extra cost) they bring you the morning breakfast, featuring also home made cakes... The hosts, Luigi and Eliana Milo, are simply WONDERFUL: hard working, young, always kind and helpful. Locanda del Fiordo is located near Furore Fjord, an ancient fishing village where long time ago famous actress Anna Magnani purchased a house when she was in love with Roberto Rossellini. They have private parking (which is truly a blessing on the Amalfi Coast) , private solarium and private access to the sea (another blessing on the Amalfi Coast, where beaches are scarce and therefore crowded). My favorite beach lunch is made up of their delicious "panino con caprese" a sandwich prepared with the best "fiordilatte" (a local fresh cheese, similar to mozzarella) from Agerola, good extra virgin olive oil, home grown tomatoes and basil. A couple of evenings l had dinner at their restaurant, watching one of the most beautiful panoramas of the world while eating a delicious fish cooked "all'acqua pazza" (a very light sauce made with cherry tomatoes). Last but not least.... Locanda del FIordo is what I call "affordable luxury": counting that you're on the Amalfi Coast (where hotels are truly expensive) here you can live the dream without draining your wallet. I was there in mid May (which is still considered low season) when suites go for 150€, breakfast included.

Room Tip: Suite Marisa is my favorite... It's got a large terrace (with huge jacuzzi) and you can still he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frebreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Locanda del Fiordo, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We really would lie to thank you for the beautiful, nice, kind and detailed description about our Hotel Locanda del Fiordo.
Words like this one are very important for us because they give us more enrgy in order to let us work better and better to guarantee a beautiful holiday to our guests.
We are very happy that yoy enjoyed your stay in the Amalfi Coast and also that the suite offered satisfied all your expectations.
Thanks a lot for the compliments addressed to the owners and to all the staff: we do our job with passion so we always smile and give help to our guests in a natural and spontaneous way.
You'll be always welcome in our "House" and we hope to see you soon to spend more time together.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    135
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
75
382
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is built on an almost vertical rock wall, with lovely little terraces for all the rooms spread over / in the wall. The stairs go all the way down to the sun deck, which is fantastic, and then on to the sea where you can go in for a swim.
Since all the rooms are below street level, you have very little hassle from the busy narrow street that runs along the whole coast (with buses claxoning on every corner!). Parking is almost impossible on the coast road, but the hotel has free parking.
We felt very welcome and at home in this hotel - the staff is more genuine than in most hotels we have visited.

Room Tip: room prices seem to be based on better views and terraces. Since some rooms are in the wall, they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wessel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Locanda del Fiordo, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
It's a big pleasure reading your review about out hotel Locanda del Fiordo and to understand that you spent a nice time in the Amalfi Coast.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the room, the services offered and the kindness of the staff.
It's really a joy for us to know that you felt like at home.
We would like to host you again for a new stay holiday and we take the occasion to wish you all the best.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stopped for lunch at this beautifully located restaurant. Upon futher exploration we discover several secluded rooms nestled into the mountside below the restaurant, accessed by this charming stone stairway. Each room appears to have a private patio with an awesome coastal view. The food and service were great and we will be booking to stay there upon our next visit to the Amalfi Coast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MartyDraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Locanda del Fiordo, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for viwsiting our Locanda del Fiordo for your lunch and for writing your king opinion. We are happy to know that you you enjoyed your time in the Amalfi Coast and that you could appreciate our rooms. We are very glad to know that you're goig to book for your next holiday in the Amalfi Coast and will will wait for you with big pleasure.
Take care and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Best of the Locanda is its location: it's embedded in the rocks of the Amalfitan coast overlooking one of the world's best scenaries and nice and deep blue waters. All rooms except one (please see below) have sea-view from room or from terrace. Due to its location the lobby/restaurant is on the top and all rooms are down stairs by the sea. For this reason I suggest Locanda for fitted people since any move is a bit tough. I won't reccomed it for families with young childred or eldery persons. Breakfast was good but nothing special. I haven't tried the restaurant. Owner is very kind. First night we had the "Gina" room which is absolutely low standard: smalla and without windows. For this reason we moved the second night to "Manuela" which is at 4* level with jacuzzi inside the bedroom and a window with unforgettable view.

Room Tip: Avoid room named Gina and if possible choose Manuela.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manlio72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Locanda del Fiordo, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It's a big pleasure reading your opinion about our Hotel Locanda del Fiordo and we are very happy to know that you spent a nice time in the Amalfi Coast. Of course the scenary is one of the most beautiful of the Cost!
We also appreciate your compliment about the hotel, the rooms and the staff.
We look forward from hosting you again for a new holiday in Italy.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

La Locanda del Fiordo has a perfect location with bright blue and billowy sea down at your feet and with marvelous sight to Amalfi coast. Although all movement to rooms are down stairs through terraces in front of room's doors, you feel very private and good there, for example, during the sunrise among wild plants as well as boxes with beautiful flowers. Room and bathroom was clean, good equipped, only shower needs some refreshment. Stairs down to layer of see as well.
Staff of hotel was very kind, responsive, helpful and we felt almost as family there. We wish to return some day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ineseff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Locanda del Fiordo, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel Locanda del Fiordo for your stay in the Amalfi Coast and for writing a such beautiful opinion.
It's a big pleasure for us learing that you spent a nice time here in Furore and that could relax yourself in the beautiful landscape offered by this place.
We also appreciate your compliments about the rooms, the staff and the cleanless.
Come back to visit us when possible: it will be a big pleasure to host you again and take care about you.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our family of four stayed here three nights including Christmas Eve and Boxing Day. The hotel was good value, but the real bonus was the after-stay service. Our teenage children left their very expensive brand new goretex jackets in the wardrobe of the room and did not realise their mistake until we were in Rome. It was impossible to retrieve the jackets before we left Italy, but the owners of the hotel kindly mailed the jackets back to us in Australia, trusting us to make payment for postage after they arrived. THAT IS SERVICE!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Locanda del Fiordo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks a lot for your beautiful review about our Hotel Locanda del Fiordo and for choosing our Hotel for your stay in the Amalfi Coast.
We are very happy to know that you spent a nice time here and that you appreciated the room, the food and the professionalism of the staff.
It has been a big pleasure for us to host you and we really hope to see you soon for a new holiday.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel La Locanda del Fiordo is located at the very brink of rocks. We spent there New Year night and slept with the sound of waves. Room was big enough for us 4, breakfast not bad. We liked views - it's AMAZING! Staff - helpful, guy ordered a free pick-up car from nearest restaurant and helped with our luggage also (it's not so easy to carry it on all this stairs:))
The only minus for me - there is no tea or coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank oskhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Locanda del Fiordo, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for spending New Year's Night here at the Locanda del Fiordo. We are pleased you have spent a nice stay here on the Amalfi Coast.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furore
0.5 mi away
Holidays Fico d'India
0.9 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#3 of 5 in Furore
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
830 reviews
2.8 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
2.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Fiordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Fiordo

Property: La Locanda del Fiordo
Address: Via Trasita 9, 84010, Furore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Furore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Furore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda del Fiordo 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda del Fiordo (Fjord Inn) is situated in one of the most suggestive and moving corner of the Amalfi coast, the fjord of Furore, characterised by a wild and untouched nature. Overlooking the deep blue sea and surrounded by the scents of the terraces cultivated with lemon and olive trees, the warm colors of bougainvilleas and the fresh sea breeze, the Locanda del Fiordo is the ideal place for e relaxing holiday. Professionalism, comfort, relax and good food at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Locanda del Fiordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing