We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Le Terrazze(Conca dei Marini)
$187
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Doria(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
$133
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beata Solitudo(Agerola)(Great Value!)
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holidays Fico d'India(Furore)(Great Value!)
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pergola Hotel(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bacco(Furore)(Great Value!)
$121
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel(Conca dei Marini)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Conca Azzurra(Conca dei Marini)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belvedere(Conca dei Marini)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
410
22
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
22
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolheated floorsformer monasteryamalfi coastheaven on earthsunset terracesteam roomour honeymoonmoment you arrivecomplimentary shuttlehead chefblown awayon demandexecutive cheflittle touchesonce in a lifetimevery special place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 436 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The reviews are correct. This is a real 5 star hotel. Everything was done flawlessly. The grounds are sensational, the rooms beautifully furnished, the restaurant excellent and the spa extremely well done. If you're looking to stay in the region, this is the final word in hotels.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a balcony, that would be lovely, but otherwise there did not seem much to separate the other rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 557Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I spent four incredible nights at this spectacularly located restored monastery perched above the Amalfi coast. If you have the opportunity to initally arrive by water, as I did from Capri, the effect is absolutely breathtaking. Inside, owner Bianca Sharma has obviously left no stone unturned, and the results of her labor of love are on full display. Antiques from the monastic period are interspersed with whimsical contemporary pieces, the whole providing a haven of peace and serenity that one fills privileged to be part of. The views from every window I gazed from, spellbound, are simply to die for. The cascading gardens and tiled paths down to the infinity pool, the double swing for guests....I can still see them in my mind's eye.

Although my Superior room was small by American standards, faithful to the nun's cell it once was, I never felt cramped or inconvenienced. It was fully functional with a welcome rain forest shower and ample storage space for a large suitcase, ideal for one person. The outdoor pool was sufficiently heated for a dreamy swim even in April, a rarity in most Italian resorts. My stay overlapped with previous reviewer Emma T, and we both remarked how quiet the atmosphere was, even though the hotel was fully booked. I also took full advantage of the spa services, which offer the exquisite Santa Maria Novella product line from Florence.

The staff was extremely knowledgeable and courteous, and the shuttle bus to and from Amalfi now runs from 8am to midnight, so there is no need to have a car if you stay here. Stay here? I could LIVE here. Bravo to all involved!

Room Tip: All rooms have extraordinary views, but I would request a Superior room if traveling alone, something larger if traveling as a couple. My Superior room had a rain forest shower, but no bathtub, if that is important to you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gariemTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It's very hard to describe this beautiful hotel to truly justify its elegance! If you are looking for a warm and peaceful retreat set in a magical location then it's a must!

Yes it's on the top end of most people's budget but you get what you pay for and this hotel is no exception. We stayed in the Superior double room with sea view and although some would say its on the small side we found it cosy and delightful. The bathroom was lovely with huge tub that looked over fab views of the sea and cliffs. The rooms come with all the mod cons, no adapters needed as uk,us and eu sockets are fixed and an I phone speaker charger! Beautiful bath salts and fresh lavender in your wardrobes, beds turned down with freshly made cookies and fresh water each night all make for wonderful finishing touches even the box of local pasta was a lovely good bye!

The staff are so friendly and accommodating and the free on demand shuttle into Almalfi is great as I wouldn't recommend walking on the bendy roads!

We treated ourselves to the couples spa day which was just the best, we were pampered from head to toe. A lovely light lunch was brought down to us to enjoy which in its self was great the asparagus soup was so tasty and the veal salad was the best! This was all on the private terrace, this was a day we will never forget.

Although the monastero is very big it is very quite with only 20 rooms we felt like the only people there yet it was full, I guess. This is another reason why it's so special.

We will defiantly visit the Santa Rosa again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orsion, Proprietario at Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Miss Emma,
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at the Monastero Santa Rosa. We are so happy to find out how satisfied our guests have been. Especially appreciated is the way you have noted many of the items we feel are quite unique to our hotel, which have been considered with discriminating guests like you in mind when designing the property. Thank you for noticing and commenting on these features. We hope you are able to visit again soon.
Kindly,

Miss Bianca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Wow what a place! Hotel is new, yet you feel the history of the Monastary. Layout was done with exquisite taste. The service was exceptional. The views were incredible. Food was excellent. Spa is great and free to use. Pool is one of a kind amazing, and best part is that there are barely any other people present. This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I'm a very picky traveler. It's worth every penny and more.
We originally wanted to stay in Positano, but I'm soo glad we did not. I had headaches after visiting Positano..way too crowded to enjoy! This location is perfect. Qiuet, private. It's in between all the towns you would want to visit, such as Amalfi, Ravello, Positano. Driving takes time where ever you go because there is only one road to all the towns and it's very narrow.
I highly recommend renting a boat for all day up until late evening to visit Capri. The concierge at the hotel arranged it for us. We were brought to town of Amalfi where the boat was waiting. On the way, the skipper took us to different swimming spots, grottos and my favorite restaurant/beach club La Conca Del Sogno, which is only reachable by boat.

Room Tip: standard rooms run a little small but are still comfortable
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katya125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

very nice hotel but far away from the sea and it is difficult to reach the cities of the coast amalfitana.i gardens of the hotel are beautiful, the rooms are not very large for the price paid.The restaurant only has gourmet choices, some more traditional alternatives would have been nice.Not enough information in room about hotel facilities. Room small for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zuzana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orsion, Responsabile reception at Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for your review and for your suggestions concerning the restaurant menu. These will surely help us to meet more so our Guests preferred choices. With reference to the size of the rooms it must be said that the Monastero Santa Rosa is, as the name suggests, a 17th century monastery converted into a hotel. The interior spaces reflect the original architecture and rooms have been restored from which would have been the Nun’s cells. Furthermore during the booking process measures of the rooms are posted on our website as well as on all the various sales channels.
Monastero Santa Rosa is a 10 minute drive from the center of Amalfi and its beaches, due to guests requirements, we have now extended our free shuttle service from 8am to 12pm.
We hope in our reply we demonstrate that it is our intention to continuously improve our services and that guest satisfaction is our priority.

We thank you once again for your valued comments and can assure that these will be taken into consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Pompeo Amendola
Front Office Manager
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews