We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Tranquility and beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tranquility and beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel rest on the side of and seems to be built in to a cliff going down to the beach on the Amalfi coast. It is a short distance away from the town of Amalfi and the hotel provides a shuttle if you chose to go there. Dinner in the restaurant was good and the wait staff very attentive. We were there at the end of the season so it was very quiet there. I would think it is still fairly quiet through peak season because of its location but I don't know for sure. The room we had was very spacious and clean with a very nice private balcony. The view spectacular. The concierge were polite and very helpful. The continental breakfast provided was good and the outside seating was very pleasant. We spent two very nice nights here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndriaF559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    70
    45
    24
    18
See reviews for
68
175
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I booked this hotel for our 3 day trip to the Amalfi coast. First, the views are unreal - can't ask for more. The staff was friendly and helpful and there was a decent breakfast included.

The room was decent and clean (seemingly) with nice bathrooms.

However, both my fiancé and I experienced bites. We're not exactly sure if it's from the bed but we can say that with a reasonable amount of certainty.

We probably not go back because of our concerns around bugs but also, we were so busy doing stuff during the day, the cost seemed more than we required.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is really unique, I've never quite seen anything like it. What it lacks in 5* luxury it makes up for in sheer drama. It only has 30 or 40 rooms, and it looked like there is a real variation in room type. Although I didn't see any other rooms, I was told the standard rooms are spacious. Some have shared balconies, some have private balconies, so it would be worth checking with the management to make sure you get what you want. Our room was the Juliet and Romeo suite. It was a big room with a small private balcony. The furniture was a cross between something out of the Hobbit and Fred Flinstone though! If you can see past the bedroom furniture, it is a good room, though note it does not have a stand in shower, just a bath attachment.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel if you want a beach. The beach is big, loads of space, and there is a beach bar/cafe and a proper restaurant one floor up. The evening restaurant, bar and breakfast room is at the top of the hotel, with amazing views of the coast. The breakfast was fine, but not brilliant. We didn't eat in th restaurant in the evening so can't comment.

Room Tip: Speak the the hotel management and find out exactly what they have before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diaedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I spent three sunny days there and didn't feel the need to go out of the hotel. The private beach can be accessed using an elevator and there are towels and beds for the guests. But the best part was the room with a stunning view of the sea. So far the best hotel I've been in my life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed there in August and have to agree that it is NOT a 5 star hotel by any means! However that said the views are stunning and the hotel has a private beach which is very nice as best part of it. We did not eat once in the hotel based on the breakfast which was very poor for a hotel of this supposed level. Just the most basic of food. Staff are nice but many are very old, and you can see are just waiting for retirement, and slow with drinks and basics. The hotel is old, and needs refurbishment as is like a time warp. However we enjoyed it, and made do as our booking was last minute. The best part was the little beach restaurant next door! Summary a 3 star hotel in a five star location! Take the shuttle bus to Amalfi for your dinner! as unless you are 100 you will die of boredom in the hotel bar!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September 2013. The hotel is a converted fort and had a lot of interesting features. Nice swimming pool and private beach. Staff were friendly enough but the service was nothing to write home about. This may be a bit ageist but they were all quite old and all men and think if they hired some younger staff and also some female staff that would brighten up the atmosphere a bit.
Stunning views from all the rooms we had. Breakfast was good and served on a balcony overlooking the sea. We didn't eat at the restaurant. The decoration and furniture in the room was very old and some of wood on the bed frames was broken. I guess they may say it is antique but not to my taste anyway. There was a stale musty smell as though it needed a good airing after years of smoking indoors.
This is a 3 star hotel at the very most. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 65xp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this supposedly 5 star 'resort' for 2 nights. The location cannot be faulted. The staff are too old and have a hierarchy approach to service which results in a slow wait for food and drinks. Often we had to ask for our drinks 3-4 times before it came out all in their good time. It was not unusual to wait 10 minutes for a simple wine order. The food was terrible. Italy is renowned for its food, so my suggestion is to go on a shuttle bus to Amalfi itself and eat there for less and better. The wait staff were for the most part rude and inflexible. Maybe this comes with an intolerance to the public after doing a job for so long. The room was clean. Internet is only available in a few public places. It's definitely a 5 star view and location by it's a 1 star by definition of how to service their guests and having them want to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conca dei Marini
1.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Saraceno Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Property: Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
Address: Via Augustariccio, 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Saraceno Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel is located on the road from Amalfi to Positano, at 2 miles from Amalfi, on the most spectacular bay of the Amalfi Coast. All rooms with sea view, private beach, swimming pool, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Il Saraceno Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Grand Amalfi
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing