We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing building”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is really unique, I've never quite seen anything like it. What it lacks in 5* luxury it makes up for in sheer drama. It only has 30 or 40 rooms, and it looked like there is a real variation in room type. Although I didn't see any other rooms, I was told the standard rooms are spacious. Some have shared balconies, some have private balconies, so it would be worth checking with the management to make sure you get what you want. Our room was the Juliet and Romeo suite. It was a big room with a small private balcony. The furniture was a cross between something out of the Hobbit and Fred Flinstone though! If you can see past the bedroom furniture, it is a good room, though note it does not have a stand in shower, just a bath attachment.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel if you want a beach. The beach is big, loads of space, and there is a beach bar/cafe and a proper restaurant one floor up. The evening restaurant, bar and breakfast room is at the top of the hotel, with amazing views of the coast. The breakfast was fine, but not brilliant. We didn't eat in th restaurant in the evening so can't comment.

Room Tip: Speak the the hotel management and find out exactly what they have before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diaedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    79
    50
    31
    23
See reviews for
86
198
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I spent three sunny days there and didn't feel the need to go out of the hotel. The private beach can be accessed using an elevator and there are towels and beds for the guests. But the best part was the room with a stunning view of the sea. So far the best hotel I've been in my life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed there in August and have to agree that it is NOT a 5 star hotel by any means! However that said the views are stunning and the hotel has a private beach which is very nice as best part of it. We did not eat once in the hotel based on the breakfast which was very poor for a hotel of this supposed level. Just the most basic of food. Staff are nice but many are very old, and you can see are just waiting for retirement, and slow with drinks and basics. The hotel is old, and needs refurbishment as is like a time warp. However we enjoyed it, and made do as our booking was last minute. The best part was the little beach restaurant next door! Summary a 3 star hotel in a five star location! Take the shuttle bus to Amalfi for your dinner! as unless you are 100 you will die of boredom in the hotel bar!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marypdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September 2013. The hotel is a converted fort and had a lot of interesting features. Nice swimming pool and private beach. Staff were friendly enough but the service was nothing to write home about. This may be a bit ageist but they were all quite old and all men and think if they hired some younger staff and also some female staff that would brighten up the atmosphere a bit.
Stunning views from all the rooms we had. Breakfast was good and served on a balcony overlooking the sea. We didn't eat at the restaurant. The decoration and furniture in the room was very old and some of wood on the bed frames was broken. I guess they may say it is antique but not to my taste anyway. There was a stale musty smell as though it needed a good airing after years of smoking indoors.
This is a 3 star hotel at the very most. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 65xp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this supposedly 5 star 'resort' for 2 nights. The location cannot be faulted. The staff are too old and have a hierarchy approach to service which results in a slow wait for food and drinks. Often we had to ask for our drinks 3-4 times before it came out all in their good time. It was not unusual to wait 10 minutes for a simple wine order. The food was terrible. Italy is renowned for its food, so my suggestion is to go on a shuttle bus to Amalfi itself and eat there for less and better. The wait staff were for the most part rude and inflexible. Maybe this comes with an intolerance to the public after doing a job for so long. The room was clean. Internet is only available in a few public places. It's definitely a 5 star view and location by it's a 1 star by definition of how to service their guests and having them want to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May 2013. The staff was very friendly and our room was clean. The hotel is built into the side of the mountain and offers tremendous views. There is a shuttle bus that runs hourly to transport guests to and from the town of Amalfi. Parking is an issue because of the location but the staff will arrange for the shuttle bus to transport guests back and forth. I would recommend this hotel and encourage people to stop and spend some time in Amalfi as it is a truly beautiful town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricciardi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in July and could not wait to leave. If we had planned to stay longer we would have requested our money back and gone elsewhere. This should not be rated a 5star hotel. Our room was ant infested. They were falling on us in the bathroom and I could not sleep well because of them. The hotel is old and they were coming out of the walls and pipe holes so the staff could not get rid of them. The room was poorly furnished with mismatched shabby and broken furnishings, the pool area was extremely poor with no services and a bathroom that was so dirty and dark one did not want to go in there. The views are spectacular and the food and service was good, location is good but this is overshadowed by the expense of such a disappointing room. Stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Check for ants before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conca dei Marini
1.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
#2 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Saraceno Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Property: Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Saraceno Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel is located on the road from Amalfi to Positano, at 2 miles from Amalfi, on the most spectacular bay of the Amalfi Coast. All rooms with sea view, private beach, swimming pool, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Il Saraceno Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Grand Amalfi
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing