We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Desperately in need of refurbishment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Desperately in need of refurbishment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September 2013. The hotel is a converted fort and had a lot of interesting features. Nice swimming pool and private beach. Staff were friendly enough but the service was nothing to write home about. This may be a bit ageist but they were all quite old and all men and think if they hired some younger staff and also some female staff that would brighten up the atmosphere a bit.
Stunning views from all the rooms we had. Breakfast was good and served on a balcony overlooking the sea. We didn't eat at the restaurant. The decoration and furniture in the room was very old and some of wood on the bed frames was broken. I guess they may say it is antique but not to my taste anyway. There was a stale musty smell as though it needed a good airing after years of smoking indoors.
This is a 3 star hotel at the very most. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 65xp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    76
    46
    27
    21
See reviews for
81
189
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this supposedly 5 star 'resort' for 2 nights. The location cannot be faulted. The staff are too old and have a hierarchy approach to service which results in a slow wait for food and drinks. Often we had to ask for our drinks 3-4 times before it came out all in their good time. It was not unusual to wait 10 minutes for a simple wine order. The food was terrible. Italy is renowned for its food, so my suggestion is to go on a shuttle bus to Amalfi itself and eat there for less and better. The wait staff were for the most part rude and inflexible. Maybe this comes with an intolerance to the public after doing a job for so long. The room was clean. Internet is only available in a few public places. It's definitely a 5 star view and location by it's a 1 star by definition of how to service their guests and having them want to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May 2013. The staff was very friendly and our room was clean. The hotel is built into the side of the mountain and offers tremendous views. There is a shuttle bus that runs hourly to transport guests to and from the town of Amalfi. Parking is an issue because of the location but the staff will arrange for the shuttle bus to transport guests back and forth. I would recommend this hotel and encourage people to stop and spend some time in Amalfi as it is a truly beautiful town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricciardi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in July and could not wait to leave. If we had planned to stay longer we would have requested our money back and gone elsewhere. This should not be rated a 5star hotel. Our room was ant infested. They were falling on us in the bathroom and I could not sleep well because of them. The hotel is old and they were coming out of the walls and pipe holes so the staff could not get rid of them. The room was poorly furnished with mismatched shabby and broken furnishings, the pool area was extremely poor with no services and a bathroom that was so dirty and dark one did not want to go in there. The views are spectacular and the food and service was good, location is good but this is overshadowed by the expense of such a disappointing room. Stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Check for ants before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week-long beach vacation. We had two deluxe rooms that had absolutely spectacular views of the water and the small village to the West of the hotel. I have to say, the staff does a fantastic job of maintaining the landscaping on the property, which is incredibly beautiful. It is not by any means an extremely opulent hotel, but it is worth the five stars it has from nice design, friendly service and outstanding views from every location.

Now that I have introduced you to the hotel... let me be specific...

For a hotel in Italy, the rooms are very comfortable, specifically the beds, which are not too soft and not too firm, just perfect! The floors (and bathroom) walls are tiled wonderfully, the rooms are adorned with lovely antique furniture, and the cleaning staff is TOP NOTCH. I cannot stress how amazing the cleaning staff is. They mop the floors thoroughly every day, change the sheets, and provide a very tasteful turndown in the evening. The comfort level in the rooms made staying very, very easy.

Now the beach. Take an elevator down to the sea level and step out of a cave onto a massive stretch of beach with most of the seats reserved for the guests at the Saraceno. Just see one of the staff members, tell them your room and they will provide you with as many chairs as you need. Talking to locals in the town of Amalfi, when I told them the hotel that I was staying at, they always remarked at how that is the best beach on the Amalfi coast and that they would go there with their families. Being on this beach is an phenomenal experience.

Breakfast is small, but very nice, and I think it's included, but if not, it's worth it to get. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about events and attractions in the area, so if you just ask the people at the front desk, they can help with almost anything. The shuttle driver, Giovanni, is the best! Super fun and friendly, definitely helps make the experience.

The only small difficulty is since the hotel is built into the mountain, cell phone service is scarce and wifi is free, but only available in the lobby. But honestly, the setting is so perfect, I don't know why anybody would want to use the internet on their vacation here rather than just relax and enjoy themselves.

All and all this is a great hotel and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the Amalfi Coast for any amount of time. The hardest part of staying at this hotel is leaving at the end!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter Island, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with a three other couples. We were extremely disappointed. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the view. The hotel is completely outdated. There is no air conditioning any where in the hotel except for your room. The room was clean but everything was old. The thread count on the sheets were -0-. There was no wi fi service in the hotel although they claim there is in the public areas. The food and drinks were completely overpriced. The pool was so outdated and hard to access. I counted 100 steps to get to the pool once you get off the extremely small elevator to get there. There is no Sundry shop incase you wanted to get some incidental you may have forgotten or a pack of cigarettes. No room service. I was shocked this is rated a 5 star hotel. We stayed at four other hotels during our stay in Italy and I would have to say this was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. Our friends had one but we did not
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We loved the Il Saraceno. It was beautiful and situated right on the water. The staff were really helpful and new their stuff. The setting was absolutely incredible - flowers, pristine pool, the beach was rocky but beautiful sunbeds and staff.
One suggestion - if you arrive by train in Salerno, take the short walk to the ferry and arrive by boat to Amalfi. Scenery is breathtaking, and the taxi/van from Amalfi is a lot less expensive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigAnne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conca dei Marini
1.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
1.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Saraceno Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Property: Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Saraceno Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel is located on the road from Amalfi to Positano, at 2 miles from Amalfi, on the most spectacular bay of the Amalfi Coast. All rooms with sea view, private beach, swimming pool, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Saraceno Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Grand Amalfi
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing