We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting, great service- you won't need to leave the hotel to enjoy the Amalfi coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding party. The entire staff was extremely accomodating and friendly. I was quite impressed that every room has a beautiful sea view and how the hotel has everything from a full scale restaurant, to a pool to a beach. From the road the hotel is unassuming but the elevator goes down the cliff at least 10 floors to sea level- or you can take the winding staircases through little gardens. I liked the place so much that I am already mentally planning my next vacation there so I can go back. My room had a little balcony and it looked like most did. There is all original art work and a lot of antique furniture (although some of the bedding seems a bit dated). My experience here was charming. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusiBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 384 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very charming hotel.
It does'nt look as much from the road SS163, but as you enter the hotel, you find a superb hotel built on the rockside from the road to the edge of the Mediterranian sea. All the rooms have seaview. There is a sea-water pool and an elevator to the beach.
The only sound in the rooms are the waves from the sea deep down. The location is perfect away from the noise of the city of Amalfi, but only 5 min's drive in the complimentary / free hotel-shuttle to the city several times every day.
The staff is friendly and competent and the rooms are well functioning and super clean.
The restaurant is with excellent food, wine, staff and view.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, choose a "Superior room". The WiFi is only working in the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay as our first station in Italy in our honey moon. We came from Jordan. We stayed there 4 nights.
The location and views are superb. It was a relaxing calm location. I recommend it for moneymooners.
And by the way the weather was perfect.
Service was great and people there are very helpful.
The room and bathroom were clean.
Before we arrive there, we didnt thought that Amalfi is that away from Napoli.. but when we arrive and see the hotel view, we were amazed and forgot the long journey.
There is a free shuttle bus that can be used to go to Amalfi down town and get back.. but you have to stick with their time schedule... no left back to hotel after 8:00
In general.... we enjoyed our stay a lot... amazing location

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yousefshishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We Stayed two nights on our way to Sicily and loved the ambiance of this historic fort. Our experience with staff was very different, we found them to be very helpful and accommodating. We are not Italian or Italian American, nor do we speak Italian but we try and that I think may make a difference. Our dinners were very good, our servers were friendly and polite. We had a Deluxe Room and loved the fabulous ocean view from our balcony.

I personally found the breakfast just about right, we like to have a light breakfast, so we can sample the local fare for lunch.

Room Tip: Go ahead and upgrade your room, it is well worth it, you know you want to. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furmommy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It took us some effort to select a hotel for our August one week trip. Although it was difficult to find good value for money we selected this place. We were recommended to take Superior room but it would cost us 20% more in proportion to the whole package (including airfare). So we decided to stick with the standard room.

Overall we liked the place very much - it is very historical, calm and food is very tasty.
We got standard room 505 that was first from the lift and actually was the lowest and on the ground floor. There was no balcony but there was shared terrace for the whole floor. There were plastic tables and chairs – and we finally moved one set close to our room.
Rooms itself was big with completely renovated huge bathroom. Also it has old small TV (not a flat one) and minibar. Furniture was minimal and it was very old, dashed and ready to fall apart.
There was no view from the room and it was fully covered by the trees.
The room was cleaned every day and there were no concerns what so ever.
Overall: good but not 5* hotel room
Beach: it was a challenge to find the path to the beach for first time. The beach is good but quite challenge to get in and out of water. There are two parts: one on the left with jack-stones and right one that was covered with concrete. It seems that you get the place depending the type of room you have selected. There is another public beach Next to jack stone beach. People are brought there by zodiacs every morning. You are really get unlucky if you get your place near to it. It is very noisy and usually fully packed. The hotel is supposed to have private beach but in reality it is not the case. People from the public one feel free to come to hotel’s beach, fish with the steel hook in the shallow water, make noise with the kids. Hotel’s beach boys do not do good job maintaining the peace for hotel’s guests. When we mentioned this to them it was not taken well but we finally got relocated to the concrete one. That was really calm and relaxing.
Dining: Breakfast - buffet - for the whole week the selection was completely the same. It was quite boring. Couple of times we checked the lunch and dinner at the hotel. The food was good but overpriced. We really liked Risorgimento (we left our review here) that is 5 min sail from the hotel. Usually we asked beach boys to call for zodiac. It got us to/from the restaurant.
The hotel provides shuttle to Amalfi. The latest departures from Amalfi is 8 pm. It is not convenient. You can get a taxi for 25Eur which is rip off. There is a public bus that leaves every hour in the evening for 3 EUR per person. Shuttle is only for 8 people so you may want to come a bit earlier to reserve the seat. The key from the room is quite heavy and we forgot to leave it at the reception. We asked bus driver to give our keys back to the reception. When we came back late evening there was no key on the reception and nobody did really bother about it. Finally it was found in the shuttle.

Overall service is good but definitely 5* standard.

WiFi – free of charge. If you don’t use it for short period of time the system automatically logs you out and doesn’t let you log in. WiFi didn’t work in our room and stable signal was at the reception and evening dining area. Anyway not up to Skype standards.

We loved the place and area. Hotel is good. Price/value barely made it. We may return some time.

Room Tip: Take the room the balcony higher up so you have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

First the positives, The hotel is probably in one of the best locations on the Amalfi coast, the beach although a pain to walk on and i do mean literally, is one of the few that you will find along the Amalfi coast. There is a lift that takes you down which isn't explained to you, it's one of those annoying things that if the hotel gave out an information pack would help immensely. The views are without doubt stunning and even in October the sea was warm enough to swim in, I do live in England though so am use to slightly colder weather. The gardens and terraces are lovely and although we didn't use the pool preferring to swim in the sea it is very nice.

The negatives, well where to begin. I would say from arrival on our first day the staff are surly to say the least unless you happen to be Italian or Italian American and could speak the language, I know we Brits are lazy when it comes to speaking other peoples languages but it was our holiday and you do expect to made welcome. The room we were allocated was tired, not enough wardrobe and drawer space, no safe, two single beds pushed together, most uncomfortable when you keep rolling into your husband in the night, no satellite TV and only a 14" portable at that. The breakfast is crap no two ways about it, from the reconstituted orange juice which tastes disgusting to the complete lack of choice with the only hot choice being lukewarm scrambled egg (yuk). The water for the tea was never hot and even though I always asked for milk with mine, always had to ask the surly waiter if he could get me some, nothing like service with a smile. The dinner in the restaurant is mediocre at best and expensive for what it is, lacks atmosphere and is always empty. If you want good restaurants try Ciccio just a few minutes away by car, who incidentally will pick you up from the hotel free of charge and take you back when you have finished. the other really good one is in Amalfi town which is called da Gemma, gorgeous food and service.

We travel extensively in the Far East and always stay five star and by comparison this is an average four star at best.

Even with all the above we did have a truly wonderful holiday, Amalfi and the surrounding areas are beautiful.

The mini bus that takes you into Amalfi town centre needs to run all day and later into the night as a taxi is 25 euros, what a rip off.

Steve and Lorraine UK.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 314 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LorraineSteve14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

we spent an amazing week at this hotel. its location is so amazing, more beautiful than any photo taken.. the view from the room was breath-taking, and so every view-point at this unique hotel. walk around the ancient hotel itself - you'll find that every floor is different and has its charm, every stairway discovers a different and gorgeous view of the area. it's a bit distant from the center of amalfi but we loved it! no problem if you got a car, and also the hotel has free shuttle there almost every hour. the staff was so nice, proffesional. always smiling and willing to help - perfect! breakfast was good, especially the terrace which is served at, it's the best place to start your morning.. if you're a couple, at any age, i think it's the perfect hotel at this area. oh, and the private-beach is great, the sea-water pool is amazing and also has a stunning view.

Room Tip: take the superior rooms, which all have a beautiful sea-view balcony, worth the extra money..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enav b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conca dei Marini
0.1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
422 reviews
4.8 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
916 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,018 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
687 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Saraceno Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Conca dei Marini
Price Range: $235 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Saraceno Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel is located on the road from Amalfi to Positano, at 2 miles from Amalfi, on the most spectacular bay of the Amalfi Coast. All rooms with sea view, private beach, swimming pool, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Il Saraceno Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Grand Amalfi
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing