We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal not just in Atrani, but in Italy”
Review of Ristorante Savo

Ristorante Savo
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Atrani
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Il piccolo Ristorante Savo si trova ad Atrani, antico borgo marinaro in costiera amalfitana, situato sotto i portici della spettacolare piazzetta ai piedi della Chiesa" Santa Maria del Birecto", a 50 metri dalla spiaggia.Dista da Amalfi 10 minuti a piedi, in macchina il parcheggio consigliato per grandezza e disponibilita di posti" Luna Rossa" si trova a 5 minuti per poi proseguire ancora 5 minuti a piedi . Il piccolo parcheggio adiacente alla piazzetta del ristrorante dista 2 minuti. Dista da Ravello 15 minuti, 35 minuti da Salerno e 40 minuti circa dall uscita autostradale di Castellammare.Dispone di una saletta interna e di tavoli esterni all' aperto in estate. Si consiglia la prenotazione per soddisfare al meglio le esigenze del cliente.La cucina spazia dalle memorie altomedioevali , contemporanea, ed a tratti creativa biologica moderata, preservando fermamente le tradizioni locali ,pane fatto in casa con lievito madre ,pescato fresco, prodotti dell' orto e delle vigne piu apprezzate con inserimento di carni delicate di livello superiore, formaggi dei Monti Lattari, e pasta di grano duro prodotta dai piu apprezzati maestri partenopei.La cucina e coordinata dallo chef patron Gerardo Savo e la pasticceria dal primogenito , Luca.La sala dalla moglie Carla e il secondogenito Elia ,sotto la supervisione del fratello Rosario
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've been to Italy many times, and am particular with restaurants. This was by far the best restaurant I've been to in Italy. I dined there on my first day in Atrani, and was so impressed that I went back every day for the remainder of my trip (some days for lunch, others for dinner).

It is a small, intimate venue with just a few outdoor tables in the lovely Piazza Umberto in Atrani (which may be the prettiest town in all of Italy). It is family-run, and the service is friendly and impeccable. Carla makes you feel like part of the family! The food is fresh, innovative, and just downright delicious. I tried the veal scallopini, gnocchi, chicken, and other dishes. On July 22, the feast of St. Mary Magdalene (the patron saint of Atrani), I asked for "o sarchiapone," (hollowed zucchini stuffed with cheese, veal, etc.) which is the traditional dish in Atrani for the feast day. It was not on the menu, but they were very happy to make it for me -- and it was just terrific. The desserts are divine, and wonderfully plated.

This is one of my favorite restaurants anywhere. I returned from my trip a few days ago, and have already begun recommending it to friends. If you are in Atrani, do not miss it. If you are in Amalfi, Ravello, or Positano, make a special trip to Atrani for this wonderful restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Daniele983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerardo s, Proprietario at Ristorante Savo, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello Daniel, we did what we deserve, a good person and worthy of appreciation, your kindness and your beautiful moments refinement gave to us players. Thank you for your choice, fondly by all of us.
Yours sincerely - Family Savo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 788 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Had fish and my friend had spaghetti. Both were excellent. Service was friendly and efficient. Pricier than other restaurants on the square but worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SugARplUm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerardo s, Proprietario at Ristorante Savo, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

friendly host, and was a real pleasure to have you with us, thank you for having appreciated our quality witnessing the valence
Sincerely
family Savo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in Atrani for a week and chose this restaurant for our first meal. It was such a great experience that we went back again for our last meal in Atrani. Eating twice in the same place is something we would not normally do when travelling, but here we made an exception.

In a two-week trip in Italy, this was one of the two best meals we had (the other was at Trattoria del Moro Aronne in Orvieto, and if I had to choose, it would probably be Savó that was the best).

So why was it so good? It's just a small restaurant on the square of a little town after all. But everything just seems to convey the passion that the owners (family) has for the food and the service: Fresh produce, innovative dishes, nice presentation, tables set with care, incredibly friendly service without being overpowering. It was simply lovely to be served by someone who so obviously wanted us to have a good experience. In the nicest possible way, we were treated like we were part of the family; when we came back a second time we were welcomed back as friends with little extra touches to make the evening one to remember.

Make sure you keep room for the desserts which were very very good (and very good value at 6 euros).

Our bill for three people came to 108 euros for the first meal (which included a 30-euro bottle of excellent local wine) and 68 euros for the second meal (2 large glasses of house wine). The restaurant accepts credit cards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheGumnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerardo s, Proprietario at Ristorante Savo, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile ospite, con attenzione ho letto la sua recensione... meravigliosa, scritta con cura conoscenza e professionalità. Le invio un plauso non ho altri modi per esprimere il mio gradimento.
Cordiali saluti
Famiglia Savo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We decided to try Savo on the recommendation of our hotel and we wanted to eat in Atrani rather than Amalfi one evening. This was definitely one of our best meals during our two week holiday in Italy. The service from Carla was first class and the food was absolutely delicious. You can instantly tell that this restaurant has a chef who really has a passion for food because the ingredients were unusual and well combined in the dishes we tried as well as being beautifully presented. This made such a change from the usual run of dishes served by some of the restaurants geared towards mass tourism. The free glass of Prosecco at the start was very welcome and again, in a location where you don't get much for free this made Savo stand out from the crowd. The only one point for improvement would be to be able to accept credit card. We wanted to come again but didn't have enough cash with us so we went to a place that was able to accept credit card. Highly recommended restaurant and they deserve to be very successful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vickstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stumbled along this lovely little place that is less travelled called Atrani just around the corner from the Luna Convento Hotel in Amalfi and lo and behold amongst a number of restaurants around the piazza we found Savo.
What a special little place. I wish I had the ladies name who served us as she was delightful and a very wonderful hostess. The food was spectacular and all served with flair. The best meal we had in Italy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Savo also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Atrani, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Savo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing