We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fantastic find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Frescale Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Frescale Country House
Ranked #2 of 14 Tramonti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We just recently stayed at this B&B I must say it is quit a gem. Angelo and his family were amazing, they made us feel very comfortable, always. On coming home a bit late one night Angelo met us and offered us his home made wine ( very good ) and continued to spend a good hour with us . In the morning we had a fabulous breakfast made by his lovely daughter. One night we came back to eat dinner on our terrace and he cut fresh lilacs and put them on our table. The room was very clean and comfortable. The only thing not positive I have to say is...don't rely on your GPS to get you there...Ugh! We defiantly had the scenic tour finding his place. It is about 10-15 min from town on a very windy road but after day 2 we were used to it and would not have stayed anywhere else. Thank you very much for adding to our lovely vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy1363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Il Frescone is an amazing hotel. Just in the middle of a wonderful landscape, you can enjoy nature, silence and great italian food/drinks, at 10 minutes from the Costiera. A perfect place for going to the Costiera (Amalfi, Ravello, etc) during the day, and having a perfect rest during the night.
I strongly recommend you this place. You won't regret your choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamoRac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived in Figlino on Friday 25th to visit family in the area. We recieved a warm welcome on our arrival to Il Frescale, were showed our room and made arrangements for the next days breakfast.
We enjoyed along weekend on a bed and board basis, and can say that the breakfasts were delicious, ranging from chocolate croissants, to local parma ham, ricotta and fresh rolls ( topped of with a frothing cup of fresh Cappuccino). There was always fresh fruit and yoghurts available, a perfect fuel for the day ahead.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We wanted to be close to Pompey, Herculaneum and Villa Oplontis but far from the ugly sprawl encircling Naples. We found Il Frescale on TripAdvisor and are glad we did.

The property is set in a valley surrounded by rugged peaks, not at all what one imagines in Southern Italy, and more like the Dolomites in the North. The rooms are very pleasant, each with its terrace.

And then there is Angelo, whom we called Angelo Custodio--our Guardian Angel. We were the only guests because it was so early in the season. But he and his son cooked us a delicious, multi-course dinner every night, different wines every night and a different, home-made, after-dinner drink every night. Angelo's wife is a talented liquor creator; we had an apple brandy, a walnut brandy and a brandy made out of bay leaves.

And Angelo looked after us like a guardian angel. He packed up our leftover morning croissants so that we would have a snack during our all-day tours of the various ruins. He printed out directions so that we could get to Pompey and Herculaneum with the least likelihood of getting lost (we did anyway but that wasn't his fault). He suggested side trips that minimized driving.

Angelo is truly heaven sent to help the weary traveler.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bilbao
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Il Frescale is a great value and an excellent base to see the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii without getting stressed out by all the crowds. In ten minutes you can be in Ravello, not much further on to Amalfi. But when you have had it with the tour buses and insane scooters, you can retreat back up into the mountains to the total seclusion of Il Frescale.

The food is great, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the owners are welcoming and helpful. And the gardens and forests around make it feel like you are in another world.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

There isn't much more to add to all the positive and amazing reviews that Il Frescale has received on this site. We loved staying here and had an fabulous time with Angelo and his wife cooking up a storm. All food is freshly made from either their garden or the forest next to the B&B. We had home made pasta, wine, liquer and fresh herbs.

If you have a car and want to be outside of the craziness that is the Amalfi coast we would highly recommend this. It is a place to relax and enjoy good food and wine and green lush surroundings.

The B&B only has 4 bedrooms but has a great restaurant on the lower level which is open to all other visitors so even if you aren't staying at Il Frescale we would highly recommend a dinner here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

To our delight, Il Frascale was a perfect surprise to our group of three couples touring Italy. We came upon the Country House, which is nestled in the hills high above Amalfi, to the east of Ravello. The property of Il Frescale is a picture perfect location, dotted with herbaceous plant borders and flowers of every kind. The landscape was done in swaths of painterly strokes of color. Marilena greeted us warmly and showed us to our rooms which were most comfortable and immaculate. The house holds four suites with full baths, all with private entrances. There is an apartment above which sleeps ten, also, which would be wonderful for a large family. The newness of the country house appealed to us as well as the decorating flavor of Olde World Italy.

In addition to the top-rated accommodations, our senses were treated to excellent cuisine which was delicious and artfully presented. Our host, Angelo, made us feel welcomed, treating the ladies in our group to bunches of hand-tied lavender from his garden. The house contains a lovely dining room, complete with a picturesque pizza oven in the corner. The kitchen is orchestrated by Marilena and Angelo’s son, Alfonso, who prepares tantalizing dishes which our group rated the highest in all of our travels in Italy. The joy was that we did not expect to be treated to this degree of sophistication. We dined on delectable and extraordinary appetizers, soup with porcini and chick peas, wild boar with grilled vegetables, a fruit plate with gelato and berries, café, and assorted house liquors. The next morning, breakfast al fresco, continued the repast with meats, fruits, and home made cakes.

We wished we could have stayed for days, instead of the one night we allotted to this location. We could have hiked the nearby country roads and explored the vineyards and groves of Il Frescale. Well done, Angelo and Marilena! Thank you for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItaliaJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramonti
1.3 mi away
Puesta de Sol
Puesta de Sol
#1 of 2 in Tramonti
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Farm Holiday Mare e Monti
1.1 mi away
Farfalle e Gabbiani
Farfalle e Gabbiani
#1 of 14 in Tramonti
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
La Vie en Rose B&B
La Vie en Rose B&B
#13 of 167 in Salerno
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dimora Salernum
Dimora Salernum
#5 of 167 in Salerno
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ontani Hotel
Ontani Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tramonti
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Frescale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Frescale Country House

Property: Il Frescale Country House
Address: Via Fiscale SNC | Frazione Figline, 84010 Tramonti, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Tramonti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tramonti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the luxurious Tramonti valley, submerged in prosperous antique vineyards and Chestnuts fields, The Frescale has restructured a beautiful peasant's cottage and has equipped it with of all the comfort to, in order to offer its guests a vacation from the rush of everyday life and from the horde of the frenzied Vacationers. A vacation filled with fresh air and genuine flavor, dipped in the green coast. A few minutes from the sea, Ravello and Amalfi... The Frescale is ready to fulfill you desires of a satisfying, relaxing and beautiful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Frescale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Frescale Country House Tramonti, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing