We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed at best”
Review of Hotel Raito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Raito
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent & we found it inconsistent at best. Reception staff do not seem knowledgable about the area & their English is poor. They recommend making reservations at hotel restaurant but doing so clearly isn't needed. Restaurant service was terrible but bar service was okay. Hotel does a lot of private party/wedding stuff so if you are looking for quiet, you may not get it here. Physical setting is perhaps the nicest in the area and the views are great but it is offset by the poor service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had a week at this 5 star hotel in June 2011 - to reiterate other reviews - stunning setting and the hotel is in quite a remote area near to Vietri centre. The food is excellent (if not a little pricey!) and the cocktail bar is amazing! We used it as a good base to explore the Amalfi coast and you definitely need a hire car - a small one as the roads are narrow/windy and a bit hairy at times!. The hotel has regular shuttle buses into Vietri (as you can't really walk to it) which is well worth a visit and the restaurants are not so expensive - but good quality all the same.

We found the service at the hotel excellent and the rooms are very nice and modern - our room had a lovely patio with stunning views over the coastline. The pool area is lovely but a little small so got quite busy.

Overall a lovely hotel and a good base to see the beautiful Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a patio overlooking the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DenandMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Spent 7 nights here on a tour of the Amalfi coast. Our rooms on a special floor had Euro-modern decor and a beautiful balcony and bathroom. Unfortunately, the shower flooded out the bathroom every time we used it. Told the front desk and the maid mopped things up and provided fresh towels twice a day, but it was a real pain. Our room also had no fan either in the room or the bathroom and we couldn't regulate the heat, so we slept with our patio door open. Our friends on either side of us had constant air blowing and needed extra blankets to keep from freezing in their rooms.
The daily breakfasts weren't the best I've had in Europe, but there was quite a variety. Our 2 dinners at the hotel were probably the worst of the trip, but the wait staff was very accomodating. The bartenders at the lobby bar were excellent, especially Domenico. Getting an American style martini in Europe is a real problem, but his was spot on.
The shuttle service to Vietri, about a mile away, was very handy and it was great to have computers in the lobby and access to wifi, although there was a charge for that. Perhaps the most annoying problem was that the front desk staff didn't know much about Vietri and when presented with the list of restaurants from the Trip Advisor site, they only knew of 2 of them. They also had no maps of the town at the hotel and no one ever appeared at the concierge desk.
I know there seem to be a lot of complaints here, but despite them, we really did enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Poor prive value. Service polite but not flexibel. 22 degrees is to cold to have the breakfast outside. Food just average but for italy extremely expensive worst place during our last three italian trips i.e. Out of approx. 35 hotels

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oliverernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our family with 3 teenagers stayed at the Hotel Raito for 5 nights in June 2011, and our overwhelming memory of our experience is the number of weddings which occurred during our stay. The restaurant was off-limits to us for lunch or dinner because there was literally one--if not two--weddings per day/night. The staff was as nice and helpful as they could be, but they were understandably distracted by the wedding preparations and guests. It seemed that the wedding guests were not even hotel guests as each morning the breakfast area was full of a tour. We quickly learned to check the tour schedule for their breakfast time and planned our breakfast accordingly.
That being said, we enjoyed Vietri sul Mare as the anchor of our Amalfi coast experience. We decided on on this location because several members of our family suffer from motion sickness, and we did not want to have to negotiate the crazy roads every time we went exploring. We were able to visit Pompeii, Herculaneum, and part of the Amalfi drive from here (we had a car). Vietri sul Mare had several decent restaurants, and there was a hotel shuttle which made this very easy. However, if any of the staff tells you "it is a short walk to town", do NOT believe it! It may not take you that long to walk down to town, but you take your life in your hands to attempt it (as we did).
We ended up getting 2 rooms, and booked a junior suite for our 3 teens in the old wing, and a deluxe double for ourselves in the new wing. We were rather far apart (the old rooms are upstairs from the reception desk and the new rooms are outside and down an elevator from reception) but that did not bother us. The junior suite--though a bit expensive--was a great decision because it was roomy enough for the three kids, it came with free entry to the spa (for the girls), and it had a huge gorgeous deck. The deck alone was worth the price. Since we could not eat dinner in the restaurant (!) we got into the habit of having a nice restaurant meal at lunchtime, and having a family picnic on our deck in the evenings. Several nights we had front row seats to the fireworks over the water--probably courtesy of the wedding-du-jour! Our room, on the other hand, had a tiny balcony, and was very quiet & private--which is just the way we like it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jmremsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great place to enjoy the Amalfi coast without giving up the brilliant and original city life of Salerno. It's a spot from where you can live a truly local experience with comforts of a 5 star hotel in a wonderful position.

Room Tip: get a sea view!! better if with garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyllidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Cold welcomming, room not very clean, small shower

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guymichaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vietri sul Mare
0.4 mi away
Relais Paradiso
Relais Paradiso
#3 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,288 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.4 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
4.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raito

Address: Via Nuova Raito 9, 84019, Vietri sul Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Vietri sul Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Price Range: $60 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raito 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recent and precious renovation has turned the famed Hotel Raito, in Vietri sul Mare into a closely guarded secret getaway, the crown jewel of the Amalfi Coast. This extraordinary five star hotel displays a suggestive landscape where Earth, Sea and Sky seem to meet exalting its marvelous position which sets in the mountain-site descending on the amazing Salerno bay. Superb landscapes and a central location give the hotel the most desirable destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Raito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raito Hotel Vietri Sul Mare
Hotel Raito Vietri Sul Mare, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing