We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!!”
Review of Lloyd's Baia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here last week for 2 nights. The room was large and had a huge bathroom. Balcony with sea view. Perfect location. The private beach excellent with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from. Would definitely stay here again if visiting vietro in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davok64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
There are newer reviews for Lloyd's Baia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

There is open-air disco on the beach below the hotel. And music there is really LOUD until 3 or 4 in the A.M, saturday nights until 5 A.M.
They are selling this place with argument: every room has a view of the sea; our wiew was to very busy Port,( working all night) not exactly what we expected...
Location was good and the service in parking- area was wonderful. All other services where miserable, all from front desk to the restaurant.
Shortly: not worth of money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alias189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I give it a poor rating because of the open-air disco on the beach below the hotel. It blasts LOUD music until 3 or 4 in the A.M. Forget about sleeping unless you are heavily medicated. The hotel has no control over this, as it is a separate business. The disco is open Friday, Saturday & Sunday nights, but there is talk of it being open every night in the future. Other than that, the place is fine. If not for the disco, I would have given it 4 stars. As you can see from the photos, it's built on a cliffside, and every room has a view of the sea and a balcony or patio. From our room, we saw the beach & coastline on the right, and the busy commercial port of Salerno to the left. We found it fascinating to watch as hundreds of new cars were loaded onto Grimaldi Line ships, or containers were loaded onto other carriers so efficiently. There's a nice bar/terrace where you might sit and watch the sail boats and the sea, enjoying the sweetness of doing nothing (la dolce far niente), as they say. Adequate breakfast buffet, but the selection of food never changes. This is the only hotel I've encountered where the floors have negative numbers. The lobby is on the top level, and it's literally all downhill from there. Buttons in the elevators have negative numbers. Our room was on minus quatro (-4). It's a 5-minute walk to the town, which has some great restaurants. This would be a super place to stay if the disco wasn't so annoying.

Room Tip: The view is nicer on the side of the hotel nearest the town of Vietri and away from Salerno
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonehomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

You want 5 things in a hotel: cleanliness, rest, comfort, a helpful staff, and hot coffee. Lloyd's flunks all but the first. The place has a gorgeous setting, but many of the rooms overlook a working dock and, worst of all, it also operates a downmarket disco that operates from midnight to 4 am. You cannot escape the ear-splitting decibel levels. Not that one could sleep on the iron slabs posing as mattresses in the first place. Save you breath instead of complaining or asking questions--the staff is worthless. And how hard is it to put hot coffee in an urn? Beyond these folks. When I was a young man staying in grungy pensiones, my experience was more pleasant than my 5 nights here. If your tour has you staying here, demand a refund and book with a different company.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ossian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lobby is deceiving, as it looks a bit more higher end. The rooms are old school, like they robbed an Italian Grandma's garage sale and the age in showing in the chipping tiles but they are large for Europe and clean as well. Be very careful about "sea view" as standard rooms overlook a very busy shipping port with trucks driving in and out. Quite frankly, once we upgraded to a more expensive room with improved(actually amazing) view my biggest criticism is the staff. The wait staff seemed uninterested in the customers and the front staff did little to help educate us in what there was to do in the area, even when asked. We got a " take the bus outside". I pushed to get some idea of where to go in the town and all I got was a highlighter of a street with restaurants. As a result we wandered a bit aimlessly and it wasn't until the second day (of a two day trip) did we start to stumble into the quainter area of Salerno.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfan0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I spent five nights here with a tour group in April of 2013 and I found it lovely. The location on the edge of Vietri and near Salerno is wonderful. I could not believe how large my rooms was. My view out the balcony was the port of Salerno but still the Mediterranean is awesome to wake up to. The bed was a bit stiff but not too bad.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is well worth the price ... the rooms were large by eruo standards and clean. A littel dated but still very comfortable.

The view, well if you like looking at the Port of Salerno then you are in luck. Not a picture perfect view but still not all that bad.

The resturant for breakfast was very good and well appointed. Staff was cordial and friendly.

Would I stay here again... yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vietri sul Mare
0.9 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,020 reviews
0.6 mi away
Relais Paradiso
Relais Paradiso
#3 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vietri Coast
Hotel Vietri Coast
#7 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Lucertola
Hotel La Lucertola
#5 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Voce del Mare
Hotel Voce del Mare
#1 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd's Baia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd's Baia Hotel

Address: Via Enrico de Marinis 2 | Via Benedetto Croce snc, 84019, Vietri sul Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Vietri sul Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Price Range: $106 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lloyd's Baia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyd's Baia Hotel has a cliff-top location at Vietri Sul Mare, 3 km from the centre of Salerno. There is an outdoor pool and guests have free access to the private beach.Lloyd’s Baia's rooms are air conditioned and have satellite TV, most have a sea view. A continental buffet breakfast is served in the sunny dining room.At Hotel Lloyd’s Baia you will find an à la carte restaurant serving regional specialities. There is a comfortable lounge bar with internet access and a terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lloyd's Baia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds Baia Hotel
Best Western Vietri Sul Mare
Vietri Sul Mare Best Western
Lloyd's Baia Hotel Vietri Sul Mare, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing