We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fresh seafood, fantastic service.”

Il Principe e La Civetta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $58
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: IL PRINCIPE E LA CIVETTA RESTAURANT IS A SMALL, ART RESTAURANT LOCATED IN VIETRI SUL MARE, FAMOUS IN THE WORLD FOR HIS ARTISTIC POTTERY, PERFECT FOR BUSINESS LUNCHES, DINNERS OR ROMANTIC DINNERS. WE PROUDLY SERVE CONTEMPORARY MEDITERRANEAN CUISINE, PASTA FROM LOCAL PRODUCER, ITALIAN FISH AND SEAFOOD, ITALIAN MEATS COMES FROM TUSCANY. CELLER HAS FINE SELECTION OF ITALIAN WINE customaize menus and gluten free
Sicily, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh seafood, fantastic service.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I visited with our daughter and enjoyed a delicious seafood lunch. The owner Antonio welcomed us and waited on our table making us feel right at home. We had the most delicious anchovy pesto pasta and two fantastic fresh fish dishes. For dessert we had a lemon custard with puff pastry that was outstanding. My husband said he would return just to have that again. We definitely would eat here again next time we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monika_7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    78
    13
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great find, great food.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant in Vietri. Antonio the owner is a great host and made us feel welcome and no query was a problem. I am vegetarian and during our 2 week stay in Vietri it was surprisingly hard to find a good variety of vegetarian meals. We ate here 3 times during our stay (it would have been more but we didn't discover the restaurant until our last week) and I had a different, and equally tasty, meal each time. The starters were particularly delicious. My husband had a variety of seafood based dishes abd thoroughly enjoyed them all. The only reason we have given 4 stars and not 5 for atmosphete was because the season was tailing off when we were there it was a little quiet, so we can't comment on how it would be in full season. We would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be going back when we are next in Vietri.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMcCrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What can I say about this restaurant - it's very nearly perfect. The seafood was the best I've had ever. The vegetarian option my wife got was just as good, if not better. The desserts are head-spinningly decadent. But what makes this restaurant so great is the service. The head chef, who is also the waiter, is so friendly and accomodating. He really makes you feel at home, even though you're a long way from home. Can't recommend this strongly enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidbschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best find of our honeymoon!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The best welcome, the nicest people and delightful, beautifully served food! A fabulous, unexpected find on our second day in Vietri Sul Mare. A choice of two set menus leaves you with full tummies AND full wallets; or the A La Carte is on offer with an array of many other delicious morsels of food to choose from, at just slightly more expense but worth every penny. (Try the Tempura Cod for starters..... DELICIOUS!). Antonio and his sister made us more welcome than we could ever have imagined, and she even so kindly drove us home on our first night there as the local taxi driver had clocked off for the night!! I've never been to a restaurant where the hosts have been more happy to look after us in any way they can - with food being made exactly to our tastes and as we wanted it. Incredibly big hearts, warm smiles and delicious food. We went back a further two times... and would have eaten there happily every night were we not out of Vietri on the other occasions and leaving after only a few days! A highly recommended stop for any tourist or local wanting a truly relaxing, enjoyable evening, in a lovely atmosphere with fabulous hosts. Thank you so much for looking after us!! We miss you and look forward to coming back soon I hope!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic find!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We came across this restaurant as we stood on the terrace of Vietri over looking the lower streets of the town, as it was off of the main drag we could have easily missed it.
We recieved a really warm welcome from Antonio (the proprietor) who then introduced us to Alessandro the chef, then between them they suggested the starters, main course, and deserts, I have to say it was the best meal we had in our entire stay on the Amalfi coast. It was so good we went again the next evening and we asked them to suggest a three course meal which was just as delicious as the day before,everything fresh and cooked from scratch. We only wish we had found it before our 2nd to last night! . Go and try it you won't be dissapointed! So thank you Antonio and Alessandro for a truely memorable experience. D & B Isi. London

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Croydonian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Principe e La Civetta also viewed

Vietri sul Mare, Amalfi Coast
Vietri sul Mare, Amalfi Coast
 
Vietri sul Mare, Amalfi Coast
Vietri sul Mare, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Principe e La Civetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing