We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alfa Hotel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Bluntisham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

we were supposed to be staying at Alpha beach! where to start staff very rude dont reallywant to know you. food is disgusting and is reused in different sauces fo about three days. Bfast resturant closes at 10am you cant get any drinks till 11, bearing in mind it was 3 in the shade. Lunch is brought out in wheel barrows! and was cold, says air con is free!! no 7 euros a day and it doesnt even work. grounds are dirty swimming pool all they do is chuck tubs of chlorine in every night. there was no entertainment at all. the bar man at night put his music on and if you asked for something else he would say no. you werent allowed butter only with bfast. hotel rooms werent cleaning teeming witth ants. i would reccomend never ever go to this hotel its a disgrace and i will be reporting it along with all the other people that went DISGUSTING!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manos A, Owner at Alfa Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Alfa Hotel is a family run hotel and has been successfully working in the hotel industry for over 30 years, with many guests returning year after year. Alfa Hotel welcomes all reviews, and takes ‘constructive’ criticism in a positive manner, but feel a response to this review is necessary.
We, at Alfa Hotel take health and hygiene procedures in our F&B outlets very seriously and follow very strict guidelines as far as the quality of our food offered to our guests and ‘beg to differ’ with the claims made by the above guest. Also, food is brought out from the kitchen to the lunchtime buffet in sealed containers on catering trolleys, not wheelbarrows.
As stated in our hotel description, hot buffet breakfast is served from 7am until 10am and the restaurant stays open until 11am serving continental breakfast and drinks.
Alfa Hotel have dedicated housekeeping staff who do a great job with the general cleaning of the hotel and the guest rooms. Guests are encouraged to report any problem with their room to reception where action will be taken to correct it.
The quality of the water in our pool is checked daily and the correct combination of chemicals are added each evening to provide our guests with a clean, germ free swimming pool the following day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    2
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed there about 1 week. The hotel is quite nice. Very nice and helpful staff. Food was very tasty, different menu every day. Our room was basic (but we didn't care about it) and It was clean every day. Free air conditioner. A nice swimming pool. If you are a guest in The Alfa Hotel, you can use the facilities from The Alfa Beach Hotel except restaurant and bar. The hotel is very close to the beach. The beach is a very stony. We didn't know but the beaches in Greece belong to the government and you must pay for use it (about 3 euro/person). From the hotel is public transport to Rhodes town and Lindos a few times a day. The hotel is located in a quiet and a calm area. I like quiet places like this, but I was told that is a lot of bars and pubs in Faliraki - you can get there by bus or taxi. It is possible to hire a bike and a car. The Alfa Hotel is a good place for holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sakti6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a good hotel, we stayed for one week all inclusive, the hotel is mainly German speaking with all staff speaking german as first language but they do get to know that your english after a couple of days so no real problem. The rooms are small and basic but cleaned every day with new towels and bed linen, shower and bathroom also clean and tidy, no shower gel or shampoos are supplied. Need to bring your own towel for the pool or beach use. Fridge in room but could not get it to work (didn't need it anyway), tv in room but only BBC world news & and a couple of other english speaking news channels only, all other channels in German. Struggled with power sockets as only one we could find was for the TV so a bit awkward to charge gadgets like cameras & ipods etc.. The food was very nice all served on a buffet with good selection of hot & cold food, lunch is served out side near the pool so very informal. The bar is outside with a good selection of cocktails & spirits, one local beer (lager) good selection of soft drinks, with tea & coffee also avalible. The pool area is good with decking around edge of pool, could have done with the grass being cut as it was 4 or 5 inches in places and looked a bit messy. This hotel is the sister hotel to the Alpha Beach Hotel which is directly opposite which is great as you can use their facilities including a mini market & tennis court which we used a couple of times, bike hire is avalible from Alpha Beach also. The bus service to Rhodes Town & Lindos (and many other places) is directly outside the door of this hotel, also the free bus to the water park picks up from here as well. Kolymbia itself is very quiet with just hotels and one main street with some shops and bars but nothing to noisy or obnoxious. We spent an evening watching the tennis at Wimbledon in Memories sports bar where they made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bournewinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

If you expect to have a relaxing holiday at this hotel, security staff and bar staff were very unfriendly and intimidating, bar staff threw the food towards the kids, windows of dining room are opened up wide first thing in the morning allowing flies and other insects to crawl all over the food, flies in the milk jugs.
When I complained to the manager I got the old shrugged shoulders, the hotel is the sister hotel to a much more modern one next door ( your travel agent won't tell you this)it is very much the poor relation.
Rhodes is my favourite Greek Island, I love the Greek people, but this hotel is run by Athens Greeks BEWARE of the difference, I had to hire a car and travel down the Island to another village where we rented an apartment for the final 8 days of my holidays, this turned out to be a fab move and we dined out most nights, had we continued to stay in the Alfa I am convinced we would have got food poisoning, I complained to Thomas Cook on our return, they were not interested.

  • Liked — Leaving to go out
  • Disliked — awful food hygiene, Flies crawling on buffet whilst staff just watched, unfriendly barstaff.
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolimbia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolimbia hotels
0.3 mi away
Kolymbia Sun
Kolymbia Sun
#16 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
#14 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#12 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#6 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#22 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Hotel

Property: Alfa Hotel
Address: Verolinou & Athinon Str., Kolimbia 851 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alfa Hotel is situated in the resort of Kolymbia which is on the east coast of Rhodes. The beach is around 200 meters away and a short stroll will take you to the resort center where you will find a variety of shops bars and restaurants. Alfa Hotel is set in mature child friendly gardens and has a lovely outdoor pool, including a children's pool. There is a pool bar offering refreshments all day and decking with sun loungers.All rooms have their own balcony, private bathroom (Junior and Superior Suites have two bathrooms) with shower and hairdryer. Rooms have flat screen tv with international satellite channels and a cooler fridge.A bus stop is located right outside the hotel which provides regular bus service to Lindos, Rhodes Town and other villages and beaches. A twice daily 'glass bottom boat' service docks at the beach 200m away which takes you on a tour of beaches and coves only accessible by sea.Highchairs, kettles, baby listeners, socket covers and baby baths are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Alfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa (Rhodes) Hotel Kolimbia
Alfa Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing