We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in a great location!”
Review of Lutania Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lutania Beach
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent 1 week in the Lutania Beach hotel and had a really lovely time. We arrived when lunch had finished but knowing we were arriving they kept some lunch for us on our arrival which was very kind. The two ladies on reception were very welcoming & knowledgeable about the area and recommended places to visit.

The hotel decor was nice and clean and rooms were good and spacious. We had a sea view close to the pool which was nice.

The food was average/good - breakfast was hit & miss. We were the only english couple in the hotel and the breakfast spread reflected this. There were eggs and frankfurters which we lived on!
Lunch - good. Fresh greek salad and meet and fish options, spaghetti and other pasta dishes. This was served by the bar around the pool area.
Dinner - good. There were always lots of options to choose from - hot pasta dishes, meats and salads. Food was always fresh.

The pool area was fantastic. There were plenty of sun-beds around the pool and lots of space. The pool was lovely - a bit chilly! There was a great breeze from the sea coming over which was refreshing.

The hotel is set right onto the beach with steps from the pool area right down to the beach. The beach was ok - very busy as it's shared by lots of big hotels. We spent most of our sun bathing time by the pool. The beach offers lots of water sports. The location of the hotel is great. It's in the town Kolimbia which offers bars, restaurants and shops. Also, bays to catch a boat trip. We had a boat trip from Captain Nikos. That's a lovely chilled boat trip that takes you to a few bays to swim around and then have lunch on the boat. The hotel will recommend him.

The entertainment team weren't great! There was Aqua dance in the mornings, and a kids disco at night. The entertainment didn't bother us but if you're looking for busy and lavish entertainment then you'll be disappointed.

The all inclusive drinks are great - a wide range of cocktails and other alcoholic drinks. The bar man is a bit moody - the atmosphere certainly isn't lively. But if you're looking for that, it's a short walk to some bars.

For a chilled holiday with decent all inclusive food in a good location - it's perfect.

Room Tip: If you go for a sea view room - make sure you're on the 1st floor rather than ground floor - a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    78
    53
    22
    22
See reviews for
90
108
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Lutania Beach hotel.
The hotel is situated practically on the beach. It is Kolimbia beach - approx 2km of pebble and sandy beach. At one end there is a mountain(you can climb it and have a nice view of the area).
In the other part there is a small tavern and a small port where you can go in cruises.
The children can also swim in the sea, there is approx 10m of 0.5-1m depth and there wasn't any wind when we were there. You can have sunbeds(3euros/each) or stay on your towel. Apart from swimming you can do para sailing, canoeing, sky jet etc
Because the hotel beach is illuminated at night you can also swim in the sea.
When we stayed in the hotel there were a lot of Italians, Germans, Polish, Romanians.
Animation was not much but we were not interested in it - only two young Italians who were entertaining the kids at night.
The room was ok and we had a wonderful view to the mountain. Air conditioning was working, there was a 14inch TV(with channels like BBC, TVRI, some german channels etc).
Food was ok(8 on a scale from 1-worst to 10-best) - fish, meats, vegetables.
The personnel(especially Voula from reception) helped us a lot including with car rental at a very good price.
In front of the hotel there is a bus station(you can go to Rhodos - approx 45minutes, Lindos or other beaches like Tsambika or Prasonissi). Two supermarkets are nearby, either you go left or right. If you go right and you pass the supermarket you'll reach in max 15minutes by walking from the hotel the central street of Kolimbia(a lot of shops and bars).
The pool has a depth of 0.5-1.5m.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room close to the pool. If you want to sleep in the afternoon maybe you'll have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snakebyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went to Lutania Beach for 10 days. Weather was Gorgeous and the hotel...apart from the ants in the bathroom...it was amazing and picturesque! Right on the Beach..Lovely verander to sunbathe on with the wind off the beach perfect on a roasting hot day. Pool is a good size and very clean and the beach is amazing. So clear and perfect for a 10 euro snorkel from the shop down the road. Fish gather around you as you swim, you can see right to the bottom, amazing! (3Euros for the sunbeds on the beach)

The reception staff are lovely (Elena) and will help you with anything you want or are thinking of doing whilst staying in Greece. They can pretty much arrange your excursions for you to anywhere on anything, rent a car or bike for you, or simply stop you for a chat to see how your doing! Lovely people!

The only fault with this hotel is the atmosphere. We were the only English at the hotel which didn't really bother us until we tried to converse with other holiday goers when we got there.... Saying 'Morning' or 'How are you today?'.....Just got ignored!...Nothing back! No smile No nothing! Miserable atmosphere!
Breakfast, lunch or tea no-one speaks! Entertainment consisted of Bingo and a bit of dancing which didn't quite match up to the 4star status of the hotel. Kids activities were ok! But there's only so much Aqua Dancing music you can listen too everyday while relaxing on your sun lounger! ha

The foods not bad. Salad is all fresh and lovely, nice seafood and feta. Some nights were a bit hit and miss but generally not too bad! Lovely Fresh Fruit! Beer on tap and wine...Wines not too nice tho! All soft drinks and bottle water you have to buy which is fair! (however, wear your florescent yellow band. Or there will be trouble!! See below)

Beware of the Gruffalo behind the bar at the hotel! If Greece had a Olympic miserable team, he'd be captain! God help you if your all inclusive wristband comes off! Don't even think about putting any food in your mouth! Doesn't matter if you've been there for 8 days already and attended breakfast, diner and tea, don't do it! Mine came off after 8 days (hows a plastic band meant to stay on i don't know and I hate it because it gives a tan line too!) I got shouted at and made to feel like a thief for getting an ice cream! We were then ignored by all waiters and bar staff during our stay.The same thing happened later that night too! And they called reception to check we were AI. We also witnessed an Italian man bring his food from the inside dining area to the outside.The restaurant tables were seemingly full. He sat down at a table to eat his meal with his partner and because the (totally empty) tables were classed as tables for the bar, he was TOLD to go inside. The Gruffalo had all the tact of a sledgehammer and customer service a la The Grinch. It was absolutely roasting inside the restaurant. Why not just let him be? All of a sudden two waiters are asking him to move, the Barman is shouting and the poor fella looked embarrassed. He asked to see the manager and was taken away from the table. It was like a scene from Goodfellas. He returned shortly and did not finish his meal. There was just no need for this IMO. Couldn't believe how petty and rude they were.

Don't think any of the waiters have heard of customer service at all.

We spend most nights at the cocktail bars 10 minutes walk from the hotel where its all going on. If the lads are wanting a bit of footy while there away, you'll find it here.
4 Euros and you get any cocktail with the parrot and sparkler and the big piece of watermelon hanging out your glass! The cocktail everyone wants on holiday!! (Tip..wait till your sparkler goes out before trying to drink!) 3euros for a pint and half of Cold Mythos Beer. And that's not bad as far as beer goes! When your finished for the night, stroll back to your hotel with the best 2 Euro Gyros Kebab you ever had in your life! Memories Bar!

If I went back to Rhodes I wouldn't stay here again. Rhodes is gorgeous. Love Rhodes Old Town. The Hotel tho was simply a Gorgeous Boring/Unwelcoming Hotel! Shame!

Room Tip: I don't really think you can get a bad room to be honest! Even if you get a garden view....they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolimbia hotels

Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just got back after spending 12 days at Lutania beach. Really nice experience: a sea view room (highly recommended, the sea is so close), an AI option (quality food and reasonable selection of free drinks), friendly staff (it started with Elena's smile at the reception), clean rooms, no stupid loud "animation", just some bearable Agadoo kind of stuff for small kids (from 9 pm to 10 pm), some national dance and music performed by really professional artists (once or twice during our stay), mostly quiet crowd (Brits, Czechs, Germans, Italians, Lithuanians, Russians,...), nice patio for summing up the day over a glass (or two) of your favorite drink, the town within 7 min. of walking. Will seriously consider coming again.

G&A, Lithuania

Room Tip: Definitely, go for sea view rooms: 102 - 112, 202 - 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfredas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Was made to feel very welcome from start to finish and the staff are very helpful. The complex is very spacious and views to die for .our room was fantastic and modern and super clean .there is a very good variety of food which is presented to a high standard .cant fault this hotel and will be returning next year for another detox .you will not be disappointed with this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lockstockandbarrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We chose Lutania Beach with my family for one more time and the impressions was again fantastic!!!

The major comments in bullet points are the following:

- Room with direct sea view is the best choice

- Food was as always delicious

- Staff was very friendly and polite

- We did not understand how quickly we were back again in the airport in order to come back to Athens

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

That refers directly to the staff who clearly don't want to be there particularly the bar- man we nick-named grumpy who was Playing hide and seek with us every time we wanted a drink! As for the food - four star quality in reality we think 2 stars must have fallen off the board in the wind ! Which was really strong at times so hold on to your lilos! More chance of finding lord Lucan than the entertainers- of which there were 2 "full time" who thought that throwing a ball into the water and walking away constituted a fun half hour of water sports and polo! The highlight of the entire weeks entertainment program was "bingo" and I kid u not a game of .....musical chairs. A huge revamp is required for this faded hotel which has seen better days although they are trying hard to keep it well maintained. We only ever do one day trip away and this year did two and went out to the nearby town in the evening which speaks volumes. By the time 6pm came we were awash with cheapy wine and allowed to get a "proper drink" -which was limited to a few poorly made cocktails and gin and vodka. One good thing -apart from coming home - what doesnt kill u makes u stronger. Instead of throwing me of the nearby cliff for booking such a sub- standard holiday my partner has a great sense of humour and laughed us through the entire week of awfulness!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotpaws73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolimbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#12 of 34 in Kolimbia
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#7 of 34 in Kolimbia
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Irene Palace Beach Resort
Irene Palace Beach Resort
#14 of 34 in Kolimbia
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
Kolymbia Bay Art Hotel
#16 of 34 in Kolimbia
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Anavadia
Hotel Anavadia
#20 of 34 in Kolimbia
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutania Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutania Beach

Property: Lutania Beach
Address: Kolimbia 85103, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lutania Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lutania Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutania Beach Kolimbia
Lutania Beach Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing