We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
dordon near Tamworth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break holiday”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Really nice holiday hotel. Lovely views from our room. Hotel room was clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were amazed about how many languages the reception lady knew. As our holiday was all inclusive we didn't have to worry about anything. The catering staff were very hard working. Entertainment staff were very friendly and funny. They got everyone involved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    200
    149
    85
    71
See reviews for
194
299
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Returned this week having spent a very enjoyable and totally relaxing week at the Golden Odyssey. We travelled with Olympic holidays and having read several negative reviews before travelling were unsure what to expect , I have to say we were pleasantly surprised .The transfer from the airport was very smooth and ignore first impressions that the hotel is remote and quite small,the hotel is a short 20 min walk from the town centre and beaches ,along 2 pleasant tree lined roads ,they are more like country tracks but are used by coaches and form part of the overall experience . I totally agree with KansBristol that amenities staff and rooms are exceptionally good ,the staff cannot do enough for you and the grounds are extensive and well maintained with lots of seating areas , the pool is clean with lots of sunbeds. The Animation entertainment team work exceptionally hard and make time to get to know all guests ,working tirelessly to involve children and adults alike ,although I would have liked the children's evening entertainment to finish earlier and more adult entertainment ,shows didn't begin until 10pm and we got a little fed up of waiting for it to begin. We found the food more than adequate ,breakfast included a variety of cereals,fruit,meats and cheeses,breads,cakes ,eggs-scrambled, boiled and fried ,salads ,coffee,tea fruit juice and strangely chips! Breakfast ends at 10 and coffee ,cakes and pastries are available in the bar area from 11 along with soft drinks , alcohol and iced water.12.30-2pm lunch is served at the pool area ,set out like a taverna with a selection of salads,usually 2 meat options ,fish ,pasta, veg and yes , chips, fruit and ice cream. Coffee and cake again at the bar from 3 pm ,along with ice cream. Then dinner, catered for all nationalities , offering a good selection ,we never felt hungry and sampled everything on offer,I have to say it was delicious! We enquired about early breakfast when going on an excursion and were able to go in 10 mins earlier and were offered a packed lunch which was lovely and quite unexpected!.its fair to say venturing into the main town is best done early in the morning or later in the day as it begins to cool down , it's a good idea to take bottled water as it does get very hot and takes a few days to get used to,but we found exploring the different beaches and visiting the shops and taverna's very pleasant . We were never hassled to buy anything and prices were less than in Lindos. At night Kolimbia is busy but not overcrowded ,we loved the atmosphere and felt safe walking around the town and back to the hotel .Excursions are not cheap but are good value ,expect to pay upward of 40 Euros ,but you do get to explore much of the island in comfort ,the boat trip to Lindos gives you a 2 hr trip along the coastline ,Lindos is very quaint but also very busy,you are constantly hassled to use the beach bars and Lindos taxi's(donkeys).We gave up trying to look in the shops as they were so overcrowded ,but the Acrpolis is fantastic and worth the exhausting trek up neverending steps! We preferred Kolimbia as it was a much slower pace and busy but not over developed. Overall we had a fabulous time and would have liked 10 days rather than 7 ,we only found the restaurant and pool toilets on the last day so a list of facilities on arrival would be good.We would probably rate the hotel as 3*plus rather than 4* but if your looking for a relaxing holiday this is certainly the place to come .

Room Tip: All rooms have garden views , rooms overlooking the bar are noisier at night due to entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the golden odyssey after originally being booked in the koala hotel, on arrival to the koala we were told there was not a room for us, we contacted our olympic rep who was very helpful and disgusted by the koala, within 10 mins he had a taxi pickin us up and taking us to golden odyssey which may I add is a palace compared to the koala, we stayed here the rest of our stay.. good points...staff are fab, all reception, bar staff, even the girl in the hotel shop cant do enough for you and are so friendly. The rooms are lovely with a fridge they are cleaned daily the views are out of this world and all have air con. There is entertainment every night (caberet, fire show, karaoke) and a kids disco each night at around 8. The meals are always hot and we never hadto queue. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel where you can travel to lindos and rhodes town on a air conditioned bus for 4 euros which is a total bargain as a taxi will cost you 38. Bad points....food is the same every day and I felt like I may go home looking like a chip. I would say its more full board and not all inclusive as there was no snacks avail between meals, spirits you could only get from 6pm and coffee machine was turned off from 9am til 11.30am so nowhere to actually get a drink unless you wanted to hike into main strip....main strip with a few bars, tavernas, shops etc is a good 30 min walk from the hotel and in 45 degree heat walking down dusty dirt tracks seems like a life time and you end up soaked with sweat when you actually get there! Also the evening entertainment starts at ten which i thought was abit late as the heat during the day drains it from you and we didnt see any of it which i would of liked too..Lots of international people in golden odyssey which I have no problem with but dont expect any 'thanks' or 'politeness' from most of the other guests and most look down their nose at you being british! Another thing I must stress is that our olympic rep neil was fab, totally sorted out our stressful arrival and came over to us a few times for a chat when we were at the hotel bar to see if we were happy and if we needed anythin and jus for a general chit chat!! Overall I had a great holiday and with a few minor changes this could deffo be a 4 star at the moment id say a 3 but would recommend....; )

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kandsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is far from a 4 star resort... or 3+ as we where informed by the rep on arrival. Kolymbia itself is very nice, however the hotel is not within walking distance to a beach and the free bus service isn't the most accommodating. The food is bland, and also cold as they do not provide the staff/service to cater for the amount of guests, sometimes queuing for 15 minutes. This is not all inclusive drinks, the bar has scheduled opening throughout the day and closes at 11pm.
The hotel staff are pleasant enough, although our Olympic rep was quite arrogant and all he wanted to do was sell day trips... not interested remotely in any questions we may have.
There is good entertainment for children and the pool are is quite nice.
We were quite disappointed overall with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frostygirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolimbia hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well we're do I start.....considering this was a 4* hotel, it did not live up to the expected hype. It was by far the most budget hotel I've ever stayed in and will not be attending again. I attended with my girlfriend for a last minute break.
Apart from the old man on reception and entertainments team , the rest of the staff were so rude and unfriendly. They would literally turn their noses up at you when you ordered a drink. You have to pay for drinks ordered after 11, and the free drinks are so horrible to drink. They are so called local spirits, more like the cheapest spirits they could find.
This is not a very English hotel ether, the hotel is mostly German or Russians so there are not many people smiling, be prepared to que for lunch everyday at they only serve from a small cafe.
We ate out most days, as the food was so poor, the area of kolimbia is pretty nice a few decent bars and restaurants.

All in all 2 out of 10

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughesfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I visited the Golden Odyssey in June 2013 for a week with 9 of my friends. Before going we were a little hesitant as we had of course read previous negative reviews of the hotel and were unsure what to expect. However, I cannot stress enough to anyone thinking of visiting that the negativity should be ignored completely! We're all still dying to go back we had such a great time.
The rooms were basic but comfortable and were religiously cleaned every day. There was never a problem with rooms being too warm as the air conditioning worked perfectly. The food was lovely and the waiting staff were very friendly. The pool was always spotless and there were plenty of sun loungers for everyone. There was never a need to get up early to reserve loungers there was always enough to go around. During the day there was water polo and table tennis amongst other activities for all ages - not just the kids! The entertainment at night was always a laugh and again targeted all ages. The reception staff were very helpful with our queries and were always there if ever you required assistance. It was a short walk to kolimbia and also not far from faliraki either if one felt like visiting the bars/clubs of the area, only a cheap taxi ride away. There is also a small shop in the hotel that sold basic essentials you may need which came in handy when we didn't feel like venturing to kolimbia. The cocktails were divine and the friendly bar staff, Apostollos, Atonio and Michael were always a highlight of the night with their friendly banter and welcoming attitude. The holiday was definitely one to remember and we'd all recommend the hotel to friends and family! We'd all go back in a heartbeat and we hope to visit again some time in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday at Golden Odyssey, it was a great holiday and booked for a bargain price! We went for 7 days all inclusive for around £400, there was 3 of us aged 19-21. The hotel was clean and welcoming, I have read many comments of people saying it was basic which is true, however most hotels in Greece/ Rhodes are basic! The staff were hard working and very friendly. There was a great atmosphere in the evenings and during the day entertainment was available for anyone who wanted to participate in water polo, water aerobics, darts, ping pong and more! Entertainment was provided every evening, there was also pool tables, air hockey and a few arcade games. Outings in the evening to bars in Falaraki and Kolimbia were offered as well.The food was buffet style and was quite similar, however for the price we paid it was better than expected, and the waitresses and waiters provided excellent service. The pool area was clean and there were plenty of sun beds and chairs available both in and out of the sun. We went on a boat trip to Symi which was a beautiful island where we had a tour of the island and lunch provided for 50 euros. The bedroom was spacious, with a clean bathroom where fresh towels were provided each day. The room included a double bed and two singles, a tv, a fridge and other basic essentials. We walked to the nearby Kolimbia on several occasions, visiting the shops and the beach, and on our final night ended up in a bar called Statues which had attentive bar staff and it provided us with some great entertainment with a youthful atmosphere. The location of the hotel was ideal, not in the center of it all but not a long walk if you wanted to experience more hustle and bustle. The Receptionists were patient and helpful and the bar staff, Antonio, Apostollo and Michael were welcoming, attentive, friendly and entertaining! We would definitely return and were very lucky to have got the holiday for that price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anavadia
Hotel Anavadia
#26 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Marianna Palace
Marianna Palace
#19 of 33 in Kolimbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#29 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#13 of 15 in Kallithea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.7 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#6 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Odyssey Kolimbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Odyssey Kolimbia

Property: Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Address: Kolimbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Odyssey Kolimbia 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Odyssey Kolimbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia Hotel Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Hotel Kolimbia
Kolimbia Golden Odyssey Hotel
Golden Odyssey Rhodos
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing