We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lancsgran”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My sister-in -law and I have just got back from this hotel 19th June 2013. It is rated as a 4* but we think it 3*+. Hotel very clean, pool cleaned and pool area every day, food average, not a lot of choice, staff very friendly especially the bar staff Rossa who worked during the day and Antoinios & Apostolos who worked the bar in the evenings. The Animation Team, Moiz & the girls are lovely and they also work very hard. Each and every one of the staff work hard to help make you have an enjoyable stay. One word of warning, take a beach towel as they are not provided and also you have to pay for bottled water. You can only have soft drinks, wine or beer during the day other drinks are not served until 5pm.The beach is advertised on Olympic as within striking distance, no such thing,it is a good 15mins walk, we tried to walk it but we are in our 70's and gave up. There is a shuttle bus from the hotel but then one is clock watching, nicer to just stroll in your own leisure. If you do go book a superior room, much nicer than standard. A nice place to just relax but not in my mind a 4* I am use to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lancsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 818 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed at the Golden Odyssey for last few days of May into June 2013. This was a cheap last minute family holiday. The general feel was it was great but a little 'sleepy' still as so early on in the season. A little bit of a shame that things weren't up and running or all the facilities working. If open then it should be at full throttle. Only complaint would be the lack of tea / coffee available with machines often breaking down and the lack of diet drinks. Would not be put off for visiting again though.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cornishmaid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just spent a week there with family age ranges 30yrs - 76yrs. Lovely cared for grounds. Staff friendly & hard working. Entertainment staff wonderful. Rooms basic, clean & are cleaned & towels changed every day by cheefull ladies. Only in the rooms to sleep or change out of swim wear. Found the fridge in the room useful but the tv reception in our room was no good, but my son managed to get BBC world service in his room, we were never in to watch the tv so that was no problem.
Never had a problem getting a sun bed at anytime of the day. Some new sun beds were put out whilst we were there.
Food was ok, we enjoyed it. Plenty of choice as they have to cater for quite a few different nationalities & you can have as much as you like. Restaurant staff are very helpful. Children enjoyed having ice cream at the pool from the bar, which also had tea/coffees/soft drinks, snacks ect available during the day.
Entertainment staff very good & funny. Women enjoyed watching the men play water polo at 3.30 in the afternoons! One afternoon the local scuba diving club gave people the chance to have a go in the pool before they booked a lesson in the sea at the local beach.
We found we could walk into the town in about 15 mins & get a taxi back for 5 euros if it was dark at night as the paths in some parts were quite rough or you had to walk on the road.

Shuttle bus provided to /from the beach is free & takes 5 mins to get there. If you use a sun lounger at the beach you will be charged 4 euros by the owner of them. Younger members of the group hired quad bikes & went along to different beaches.
Hired a car to go to Rhodes old town, 30 euros, had a lovely lunch there, but the restaurant staff will make you up a packed lunch if you request it the day before. We found it nice to have the odd meal out as there is so much choice & the bars were lively.
Took a boat trip round the different bays for the day with lunch on board. Fantastic day. Lovely company on board. Didn't matter we couldn't speak each others language.Saw the beach where the film Guns of Naverone was filmed, known locally as the Anthony Quinn beach.

Enjoyed relaxing on the terraces in the evening by the bar. Bar staff lovely, enjoyed the cocktails, the entertainment staff kept the children amused from around 7.30 with face painting to about 9pm with dancing to songs like put your left arm in ect. There is a pool table & pin ball machines on the terrace by the bar. Met some lovely people from other countries..
We found the whole holiday nice & relaxing. Although we had no children in our party, the children there seem to have lots of fun, especially in the pool & seemed very happy. In fact they added to our holiday by being so entertaining. We will always remember Tyler from Manchester playing water polo with all the men & giving as good as he got even though he was no more than 11 yrs of age & most of them were Russian! And the young twin boys from Russia trying to follow all the dance moves even though they couldn't understand a word. Priceless. I could go on but you get my drift.
I think you get out of this holiday what you put into it. We were worried by what we had read on trip advisor about this hotel after booking it as a last minute deal to celebrate mum's 76th birthday. It is a 3 star hotel, clean & comfortable & parents let their children wander around, so safe as well, situated in a quiet area on the edge of the town, but close enough for you to get anywhere, bus stop outsde the hotel. We would consider going there again.


.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just wanted to say that before we came on this holiday we read all of the negative reviews and didnt know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised when we got here and even now, on our 6th day of our holiday I am very happy to give a positive review which this hotel and everyone who works here, so much deserves.
First things first.
Hotel.
Spotlessly clean. Squeeky clean I should say! Rooms get cleaned every day by very cheerful ladies, bed sheets are VERY white and crisp, bathroom is spotless. Room has got fridge, tv, lovely patio/ balcony. Beds are comfortable and pillow is nice and soft. Rooms are freshly painted. Cant comment on air con as we havent used one yet - we sleep with open patio doors. Much better, in our view. Yes, room is on a basic side, but after a day you dont even notice it. Hotel is a stable 3 stars plus.
Food.
Well, we came with a vegetarian and we were worried that she may be going hungry. As we discovered, food was plentiful and delicious. Every day we had at least 4 types of salads, 3 or 4 types of hot food and plenty of deserts, which we fell in love with! Need to say our vegetarian did not go hungry at all and neither did we.
Drinks.
Orange squash, cola, lemonade, fanta, water, teas, coffee etc - completely standard choice. Every single hotel serves the same. No worse no better than any other places I visited.
Alcohol drinks whats available - oyzo, gin, rum, vodka, brandies, draught beer, wine. I personally prefered cocktails - Rhodes special was the best on my list :).
Staff.
Great! Everyone is so cheerful and friendly and polite!!
People.
Very international! Russians, English, French, Germans, Italians. English and Russian are the most heard I should say.
Swimming pool and sun loungers.
Very clean, large enough, good kids play area. Good depth - going from shallow to very deep. Yes, some of the sun loungers need replacing and some of them have been replaced already since our arrival. So you can see hotel management is working on it.
Security and safety.
Safe as houses. We had no need in booking a safe - our passports stayed at reception and all other documents, credit cards and cash were laying around and nothing has gone AWOL. Very safe on hotel territory and outside. Locals are very friendly and helpful.
Swimming pool hasnt got life guard, and we didnt see the need in one anyway. Just make sure kids have swimming bands on.
Location.
Around 10 mins walk to the town and about 15 to the beach. Hotel is located in the middle of olive tree farms and facing the mountains. After all the busyness of Faliraki and Rhodes and even Kolymbia it feels like heaven to be away from it all but close enough if you need a hectic night out.
Taxis.
5 euro to and from the Kolymbia and the beach.
Beach.
Nearest - ok. Trambika is the best one.
Car hire - 30 euros per day (we had white vw polo which we hired from the place if you come out of the hotel turn right and its right on the opposite side of Eucaliptus road as soon as you reach it).
Worth mentioning that we had a 75 y.o. lady with us and she enjoyed it too. Hotel grounds are very flat (and very well kept!), bath was low enough for her to use. She was happy as well.
So please dont listen to bad reviews, some people just love to complain. Yes, its not a hotel of luxury but hotel of full comfort and safety, good hearty food and friendliness. We are very happy. We paid 300 pounds per person on some deal and we have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Having just returned May 25th 2013 from two weeks holiday at this hotel we are very happy with our experiance,we used the hotel sept 2011 and since then we found upon our return that they seem to be doing alot more to improve the hotel since then i.e all rooms have been freshly decorated and the grounds improved upon lighting etc.We arrived on the first day of opening and although it was extremly quiet this didnot effect us in any way infact some points i.e empty pool and personal service was a bonus.The rest of the hotel was closed so we were all housed in main building the rooms were airy well maintained and very clean.Maid service was excellant and fresh towels every day.There was no entertainment (again we loved this fact) so the evenings in the bar were excellant,helped emmensly by the friendly staff.Special mention to Rosa an asset to the hotel.The food was greatly improved as they have new chefs but obviously remember your in greece so if fish and chips and fryups your thing maybe its not for you!!.The choice of drinks was good,the bar,reception and pool areas were all clean and welcoming.We found all the staff we came into contact with were friendly, helpful and seem to genuinly enjoy there jobs.Will definatly be returning again.The walk to kolymbia is a pleasant one and we found quicker ways this time so did it in 20 mins every time and we booked alot of trips with olympic rep and as always these were exceptional days out.Returned home relaxed refreshed and counting down to next olympic holiday.

Room Tip: Book the superior garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We paid 400 per person for June 2011 , this is not a lot of money and you do get what you have paid for, room is nice just air con ain't the best and sockets do look exposed. The loo is a out of bounds for the loo paper although you do get use to the common practice of locals ,

Restaurant an dinner area do lack the desired food I am use to, although you can find something to eat if your fussy just go out for your meals an avoid this part of the hotel. The pool is reasonable size not really good for children . Most sun beds needs replacing, and you be lucky to find a good one.

Location is a bit in the unknown they have shops 20 minute walk away which are alright but not excellent and beach is roughly 30 min walk the shuttle bus can be used to get to the beach but need more regular transfers to and from. The bus stop outside the hotel is the best facility which takes you into rodos and Lindos for cheap saving you a lot of money on trips do it yourself go explore so much fun. Staff do wrk hard but can only work with what facilities they do have

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank david_higham67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel back in September but I thought it was important to write the review even if it's 6 months later. We booked the 'smart deal' through Olympic holidays where the hotel is only revealed to you upon arrival. We would never repeat the same mistake again but it had to be experienced once. The hotel is definitely not 4*, it is more like 2,5*. There are no ameneties like shower gels or shampoos. The rooms are extremely basic. The food is terrible! It is far away from the beach (about 30mins walk, called Kolymbia) and the beach is awful anyway, so we used to get a bus to another beach (Tsampika) which was beautiful. The all-inclusive didn't seem to be that inclusive because there were certain times when one could have the certain type of alcohol. The entertainment was cheesy and boring. The same thing every night!! On the plus side, the bar boys were lovely: Adonis and Apostolis so we were able to enjoy ourselves and managed to have a lovely time. Also, if you go at the end of September, don't expect much of the night life there as most of the guests are elderly. Oh, and the air-con gets turned off on 1st of October, despite the fact that it's +30 degrees outside!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the pool so that you woudn't hear noises from the 'entertainment'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JusteG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolimbia hotels
0.5 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anavadia
Hotel Anavadia
#18 of 34 in Kolimbia
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marianna Palace Hotel
Marianna Palace Hotel
#23 of 34 in Kolimbia
358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Irene Palace Beach Resort
Irene Palace Beach Resort
#15 of 34 in Kolimbia
751 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kolymbia Sun
Kolymbia Sun
#16 of 34 in Kolimbia
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Odyssey Kolimbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Odyssey Kolimbia

Address: Kolimbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: $75 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Odyssey Kolimbia 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Otel and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Golden Odyssey Kolimbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia Hotel Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Hotel Kolimbia
Kolimbia Golden Odyssey Hotel
Golden Odyssey Rhodos
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing