We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you don't want to do much!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lydia Maris Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Having done numerous internet searches on Rhodes, I stumbled across the website for the Lydia Maris. The hotel is ~20 years old, but had been totally refurbished for summer 2006. In advance, we knew that Kolymbia is a very 'German' resort, but upon checking some German hotel review sites, the Lydia Maris got rave reviews. The website pictures were gorgeous, and we decided to book (myself, wife and child) for 2 weeks.

My first comment to all of the above - take it all with the pinch of salt. Looking back at the website and photos, I have to admit all of those things exist at the hotel, but the photographer and webdesigner did an excellent job. The pool is smaller in reality. For a hotel with a 450 bed total capacity, I counted about 80-90 sunbed spaces around the pool. The upshot is (cliche coming), you have to be an early riser to secure your sunbed of choice.

The rooms are modest and clean, but don't expect UK/USA 4* here - this is Greek 4* !!

The hotel is an All Inclusive establishment. We opted for Ultra All Inclusive. In retrospect, I probably wouldn't have bothered. It allows you free access to your mini-bar (AI people pay), and some perks on things like room service (which we never took).

There are several key areas to the hotel. The covered outside dining area is next to the pool and has a buffet section next to it. This serves as the breakfast area for hot buffet, cereals, pankakes, meats etc. At 10am (on the nose) all is removed, and just some bread rolls and meats remain, so don't be late.
The area also serves as the lunch area (12.30 - 2.00) and the dining area for Monday's Greek night. Here, Greek food is served and for one of the two Mondays we were there, a traditional band and dancers performed (until the hotel owner got up and indulged himself in a song or three).

All other nights, dinner is served in the main dining room. This is very nicely decorated, if a little cramped.

For all meals I would sit back and let the first rush of people get their food. The kitchen brings out more later and since there isn't a line of people you get hot food (took us a few days to find the right timings, but 1.30 pm lunch and 8.15 pm dinner seemed to work).

The food is pretty tasty, if repetitive and with a few too many chips. Beer, wines and soft drinks are on 'self service' offer for most of the day, and the pool bar is open from 10am - 1am.

The pool itself has 3 areas. A child's paddling pool, with jacuzzi next to it. A larger pool, with water ranging from waist to shoulder level, and smaller pool (again at waist height). This gave a lot of areas for the kids (and there are a lot - this is a family hotel) to play.

Evenings become a little repetitive. We aren't into games on the stage, but there were a few of them. So a seat by the pool bar was the choice.

The Animation Team consisted of two people. Again, rather limiting for a hotel of this size. Whilst there are 'activities' throughout the day, there isn't much for the kids. Usually 30 mins of volleyball in the middle of the afternoon and some painting. Also, a 30 minute 'minidisco' each night at 9.15pm. If you are hoping to drop the kids and chill out, you will be disappointed. They really do a good job under the circumstances, but are under resourced.

Kolymbia itself is 20-25 minutes from Rhodes and 15 mins from Lindos. We hired a car for 3 days and explored both. There are plenty of car hire places in Kolymbia (which is really only two streets!). 3 days for a compact car came to around 95EUR. We spoke with someone who took the bus to Rhodes. It took 90 minutes and was a hot and sweaty experience!

In comparison to the other hotels we saw in Kolymbia, the Lydia Maris is probably the better of them. The pool is good and sheltered (if sometimes windy). The AI deal is an all day offering.

We aren't the type of people to go back to places over and over, but I would recommend this hotel - just don't expect the luxury that it's website promotes!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank Smudger_by_the_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 521 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2006

Taxi from the airport costs between 25-28 Euros. Coming back make sure you book your taxi at least 12 hours before departure as we, and others leaving had some problems getting a taxi to return to the airport.
Accomodation in a junior suite is spacious and kept fairly clean (but don't look under the beds, or too closely in the bathroom).
The pool is kept clean, but we had a few days where the water was really cloudy - we think this was because they put too much chemical in it, and our kids all complained of burning eyes. They often dont put the chemicals in until 9am, so it may be that there isnt enough time for them to disperse.
The food is really nice and varied - we go to Greece every year 4* plus A/I and this food was the best so far.
Don't bother paying extra for Ultra All Inclusive, the only extra you actually get is a free mini bar which is stocked with 3 beers, 2 coke, 2 fanta and 5 tonic water/club soda every 2 days. The late brakfast you are promised is access to cheese and spam until 11.30 - obviously left out for flies etc to have a go at first! The restaurant closes at 9.30pm prompt (so the advertised ultra A/I late dinner is not available), as does the lobby bar, so the only bar open after 9.30 is the pool bar, and it gets pretty crowded and a bit rowdy. There is only ever 2 bar men to serve all the guests (approx 450 according to the bar staff!). You are supposed to be able to drink until 1am, the lights get turned out around midnight and depending on what mood the bar staff are in the bar closed between midnight - 12.30.
The hotel advertises 'international and local alcoholic drinks & cocktails'. There are no international drinks as we know them, e.g. brands such as baileys, tia maria etc. When asked the manager said that whiskey, brandy, vodka etc. are international drinks! They are of course all the cheap greek made brands. Normally this wouldnt bother us, but we were expecting something else, so be aware. Also, the cocktails are pretty horrible, they don't use fresh orange in any of them, they use cordial, for a 4+* hotel this is pretty poor.
The hotel prides itself on guests being able to drink out of proper glasses around the pool - not plastic glasses. We travelled in a group of 7 with 3 children aged 10, 11,13 - the amount of broken glass on the floor was a real worry. Be very careful if you are taking small children.
On the subject of children - there is virtually no entertainment in this hotel for them. The animation team is in fact an animation duo - there being only 2 of them. They try their best and are really nice people, but there are no shows or anything. If we went as a couple with our 2 children it would be very boring in the evening. We went out a few nights to ZORBAS bar who have Karaoke etc (and pure orange juice!). Note: the PERGAMOS disco attached to the hotel does not allow children in below the age of 16.
This is a German hotel, but is full of Eastern Europeans, who are not as freindly as Germans,. Be prepared for lots of tatoos and attitude (and thats just the ladies).
Overall, a OK holiday, but we would'nt go back.

16  Thank riggersbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emillownoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Smaragdeidechse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiamaris, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Lydia Maris Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Большинство жилых построек трехэтажные. На наш взгляд, самым оптимальным является второй этаж. Нужно...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank artem58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Carmen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiamaris, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Lydia Maris Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Alessia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.2 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
409 reviews
27.4 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#12 of 34 in Kolimbia
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Irene Palace Beach Resort
Irene Palace Beach Resort
#15 of 34 in Kolimbia
750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
#9 of 34 in Kolimbia
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydia Maris Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydia Maris Resort & Spa

Address: Vienn Str, Kolimbia 851 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
#8 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: $95 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lydia Maris Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beautiful island of Rhodes on the east side in a green environment at a distance of 24 km from the medieval castle of the Knights in Old Town and Harbor of St. Paul of Lindos and only five km. from the spectacular coast of Virgin Tsampika beach , and Afandou Golf you can find our hotel Lydia Maris in Afandou - Kolymbia place. This resort is set in very idyllic green surroundings of 24.000 square meters of blossom gardens with plenty of plants and very colorfully flowers such as roses, jasmine, bougainvilleas, night flower etc. Emphasis on personal service, attention to detail, relaxation, satisfaction and culinary delights have become synonymous with our hotel. After years of experience from 1989 was completely renovated in 2006 providing high aesthetics, luxury and even more amenities and services to our customers. The complex consists of 205 rooms and features a main building with 16 bungalows , 550 beds, pool with Jacuzzi, children's pool , restaurants , bars , spa, fitn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lydia Maris Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydia Maris Hotel Kolimbia
Lydia Maris Kolimbia
Lydia Maris Resort & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing